Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique regiment
I was privileged to meet Claude. In his book, which is superbly illustrated by Alan Richards, Claude tells the story of this unique regiment in a clear style which allows the reader to understand how the GPR developed and the valuable work it did, during and after WW2. An excellent tribute.
Published on 24 Oct 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Airborne, yes!
The Germans invented the gliders as an efficient weapon in the first phase of World War II, but Winston Churchill soon saw the potential in gliders and ordered a force of 5000 troops established. This book tells the story of how it was accomplished. It contains everything you would like to know - and a little more! - about the regiment and its participation in all the...
Published on 14 July 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique regiment, 24 Oct 2003
By A Customer
I was privileged to meet Claude. In his book, which is superbly illustrated by Alan Richards, Claude tells the story of this unique regiment in a clear style which allows the reader to understand how the GPR developed and the valuable work it did, during and after WW2. An excellent tribute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glider Pilot Regiment, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Glider Pilot Regiment (Paperback)
I flew gliders during the war with the RAF Element of the Glider Pilot Regiment and I thought that the book fairly summed up what the Regiment did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Personal Interest (Late Father was in the GPR), 29 July 2010
This review is from: History of the Glider Pilot Regiment (Paperback)
This book brought home the tremendous contribution that
these brave men of the GPR did for this country

I am proud to say my late father was in this regiment
and this book prompted me to seek out his service record

We have unfortunately lost my fathers flight service record
as maybe we could have added further to the history of the regiment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Airborne, yes!, 14 July 2009
This review is from: History of the Glider Pilot Regiment (Paperback)
The Germans invented the gliders as an efficient weapon in the first phase of World War II, but Winston Churchill soon saw the potential in gliders and ordered a force of 5000 troops established. This book tells the story of how it was accomplished. It contains everything you would like to know - and a little more! - about the regiment and its participation in all the operations during the war and its story untill 1956 when it was disbanded. I would have liked some information about the gliders: The Horsa, Hadrian (The american Waco) and the Hamilcar, but for this information you will have to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The History of the Glider Pilot Regiment: An Official History Sir John Hackett, 16 Aug 2014
By 
C. Baker "carouk" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought as a gift - recipient well pleased and has had his nose stuck in it all morning! Father was a Sgt Glider Pilot at Operation Market Garden - landed his plane but was later wounded during battle - taken to hospital and a Prisoner of War. (Now waiting for new stocks of "Glider Pilots at Arnhem" in which his name is printed.)
Thank you for safe delivery of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GPR, 16 Dec 2009
Covers the subject very well, informative and interesting. I had little knowledge of the Glider Pilot Regiment befor reading this history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Glider Pilot Regiment (Paperback)
Good prsentation of the history of the regiment, but to much on the operational side ti my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History of the Glider Pilot Regiment
History of the Glider Pilot Regiment by Claude Smith (Paperback - 17 Jan 2008)
£10.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews