Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and compelling, 9 July 2007
By 
D. Liles (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3 Commando Brigade in the Falklands: No Picnic (Pen & Sword Military) (Hardcover)
One of the best narratives of the land war I have read from the man who lead the commando brigade. This is an excellent book that not only gives you the story of the retaking of the Falklands but also provides an insight into the thinking and rationale behind the way the war was fought with all the worries and concerns the commander has to bear. A rivetting read and really hard to put down, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Picnic indeed, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Julian Thompson does an excellent job in telling the story of the Falklands War. He also allows you to follow his line of thinking and explains the reasons for taking the decisions he took in the run-up to the conflict and during the conflict itself.
A friend of mine once called the Falklands Conflict a close thing. This is not an impression one gathers in this book. However, the author points to several incidences where the various parties involved failed to communicate properly between each other thereby unnecessarily complicating his job.
The author uses a good deal of military jargon, which comes naturally to him, but which the reader may find difficult now and then if one doesn't have the military background. There is a detailed glossary at the beginning of the book, which helps. All told this book is highly recommended. Apart from that, I found it a real page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Picnic But Still A Good Read, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Julian Thompson, commanding officer of 3 Commando Brigade in the 1982 Falklands campaign, is perhaps the most authoritative chronicler of the ground component of the 1982 amphibious action to reclaim the Falkland Islands from Argentine military occupation. In 3 Commando Brigade in the Falklands: No Picnic Thompson delivers a lucid and detailed account of the step-by-step troop movements and logistical support that ultimately resulted in British troops marching victoriously into the island's capital, Port Stanley, something that was almost universally considered an impossibility by those in the know when the decision was made to launch the campaign. It describes highly technical aspects of military operations in language that, with a little effort, should make sense to the average reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would thoroughly recommend this book. Great read .
Couldnt put it down. Although I was aware of most of the content, it just confirmed in more detail. Great to see some familiar names in the book and what part they played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly was No picnic, 3 Jun 2013
Having just returned from the Falklands at the same time of year as the war was fought, I now realise how tough it must have been.

A well written and very informative book which set the scene perfectly for my journey there. It also brings to life the pressures of command, trying to please political masters and those sitting thousands of miles away whilst dealing with the realities of warfare.

Even if you are not going to the Falklands, this book is well worth a read to find out exactly what was happening and how the Falklands were liberated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Picnic, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very interesting look at the Falkland problem, it highlighted a lot of the lack of equipment we had and the professionalism of our British soldiers. My main criticism was at times it was hard to follow which unit was doing what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and thought provoking, 21 April 2008
By 
I. R. Manton (Northampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3 Commando Brigade in the Falklands: No Picnic (Pen & Sword Military) (Hardcover)
The Falklands War was the first I had any experience of through the world of TV. This book though is the first time I have read anything about it.

It touches on the great levels of effort individuals went through to ensure the Falklands were returned into British hands. It also mirrors to some degree the current issues surrounding the quantity and quality of equipment our Armed Forces have to work with in the current day as well.

The book is well written although sometimes you feel as though you need some inside Military knowledge to ensure you are up to speed. As a minor gripe the author could have broken up a couple of the chapters to enable the book to flow better for the reader. However don't let this put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

3 Commando Brigade in the Falklands: No Picnic (Pen & Sword Military)
3 Commando Brigade in the Falklands: No Picnic (Pen & Sword Military) by Julian Thompson (Hardcover - 19 April 2007)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews