Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful guide for your tour!
The names of Ypres and Passchendaele need little introduction to the military historian Great War enthusiast and many family historians as the events there around 90 years ago left a mark on Flanders soil and in British history that can never be deleted.

It is a known fact that an ever increasing number of researchers, enthusiasts and casual trippers visit...
Published on 19 Aug 2006 by Michael David Booker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good booklet. Just remember to take a Sat Nav ...
Good booklet. Just remember to take a Sat Nav that is up to date and also some good local maps. A compass is also worth while for the serious Battlefield visitor
Published 7 days ago by Woodland Worker


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and most helpful, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We thought it was a well composed book of useful information. It is a must if you are going to the battlefields
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Major and Mrs Holt's Guide to Ypres and Passchendaele, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for anyone visiting Ypres and the surrounding areas. Everyone should visit, at least once. To listen to the Last Post at The Menin Gate is a very moving experience and to walk around Tyne Cot Cemetery is very thought provoking. I am so proud of our well behaved school children who continually visit in great numbers. I wish we would show our heroes the same respect in the UK as they are shown in Belgium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow such a good find. I think it will be essential for touring around the battle fields, as no other guide gives you such depth of knowledge in clear concise language with easy to read maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holt's Pocket Battlefield Guide to Ypres and Passchendaele: 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas Attack); 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele): 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas ... 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele) 4th Ypres (The Lys) (Paperback)
Good general guide - especially the summary descriptions of the main battles of The Great War. Also good on places to see. Only downside is misleading/out of date information about eating out in Ypres. Contrary to the glowing descriptions in the book, we found it difficult to find a good quality meal in the town. The eateries in the Grote Market are all glorified burger bars selling very expensive and dull food. As for wonderful Belgian 'frites' - prepare yourself for the stodgy oven-cooked variety.

However as regards battlefields and the war - an essential guide book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the short trip, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holt's Pocket Battlefield Guide to Ypres and Passchendaele: 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas Attack); 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele): 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas ... 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele) 4th Ypres (The Lys) (Paperback)
My grandfather was shot near Ypres in WW1, I took my mother (she'd never been) for a two day trip and the guide was most useful. Could have used another two days to get the best from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holt's Pocket Battlefield Guide to Ypres and Passchendaele: 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas Attack); 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele): 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas ... 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele) 4th Ypres (The Lys) (Paperback)
Delighted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Selective, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holt's Pocket Battlefield Guide to Ypres and Passchendaele: 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas Attack); 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele): 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas ... 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele) 4th Ypres (The Lys) (Paperback)
I bought this book thinking that it would comprehensively cover this area unfortunately it only covers selected areas. The cemetery where over 2000 men are remebered, and where my relative is buried, is not even mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sad trip to a sad place, 24 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holt's Pocket Battlefield Guide to Ypres and Passchendaele: 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas Attack); 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele): 1st Ypres; 2nd Ypres (Gas ... 3rd Ypres (Passchendaele) 4th Ypres (The Lys) (Paperback)
Bought this guide to visit places where my grandfather fought, Ypres and the rest. Read the notes for the most interesting visit. Sadly the friend I was going with passed away suddenly. Had to cancel this year, but will try again later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews