Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written by an author who earned 3 DSOs during that Battle., 29 May 2006
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Battle of the Atlantic (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
A long time ago, someone gave me a copy of this book (previously published in 1961) and it became one of the first books I ever read about War at Sea. I remember it as being "very" exciting. Now that I have read it again, it is interesting to see how some people and events have remained exactly as I had remembered them whereas others had not.

At one time, Captain Donald MacIntyre was a pilot in the Fleet Air Arm. During WW2, however, he commanded 3 different Escort Destroyers at one time or another during the battle of the Atlantic. He was awarded the DSO and two bars and the DSC. In terms of success against the U-Boat, this man was second only to the great Walker RN - who achieved the rare distinction of 4 DSOs. On retiring from the Navy in 1954, Donald MacIntyre became a widely read and much respected naval historian with a number of successful books to his credit.

This is one of those books and I am pleased to see it republished - if only because it will give all those people who were never able to find a copy, an opportunity to read this amazing story at long last.

The Battle of the Atlantic is a paper-back book measuring 196 mm x 130 mm and containing 208 pages plus a collection of 47 glossy black and white photographs found together after page 96.

It is a well written classic of naval warfare by one who was there. At first glance, it may not look like a "5" star book, but it certainly has more than 5 star content. With contributions taken from the log-books of such people as Walker and Gretton on the one side and from the combat-reports of such adversaries as Prien, Kretschmer and Schepke on the other, this account is as full, vivid and accurate as they get.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well written book, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of the Atlantic (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
This is an excellent potted history of the world's greatest ocean conflict. Written by the most successful Royal Naval captain, after the famous Frederic John Walker, it gives an insight to the weapons used, difficulties faced and the silent war waged by scientists and code breakers on both sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well researched and put together - necessarily - a bit too factually brutal and impersonal for some, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bag of assorted nuts and banana and an orange for christmas ... if you are lucky - yes I can remember food rationing after the war it wasn't a good experience even then. How could anyone write about this viciously dirty war in any other way, given - we just cannot afford to forget it as we did after the first world war. This superbly well collated book serves that purpose for us we can forgive but never never forget that most of that time we were only weeks away from starvation.

How would we survive now we couldn't feed 30 millions in the first war - or 40 millions in the second today it's 70 millions and rising I guarantee we would be eating one another within a week. Did the thieving lowlife scumbags hidden away in westminster ever consider this scenario those geofascist bastards sell us out every day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clear account by a master of his trade., 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of the Atlantic (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
A clear synopsis of the longest campaign of WW2 from someone who played a distinguished role. Donald Macintyre scored his most important successes before the new weaponry all came together in 1943. His removal from the battle of three of Donitz's top U-Boat Captains was achieved in March 1941 long before the improved 10-centimetric radar, HF/DF and the Hedgehog mortar, all came together in 1943. He gives proper credit to the importance of HF/DF, whereas two books in my possession make no reference to HF/DF at all!

It is well worth reading this clear account by the first of our Captains who was master of his trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still fresh, 24 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: The Battle of the Atlantic (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
I didn't buy this from Amazon, I chose it as a school prize 40+ years ago. Still, I have re-read it a couple of times and continue to be impressed. The style of writing is easy and unpretentious. The depiction of the campaign in phases and the role of technical developments in reversing the fortunes of the two sides is very clear and well reasoned. So it should be, the author was there, in the thick of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise essential reading, 23 Dec 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of the Atlantic (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
For anyone interested in subs and the U-boat war you could do worse than read this book before any other. It is a concise and detailed account of the battle between the German U-boats and the Allied shipping that was the lifeline of Britain during the war. Using accounts of survivors and historians he tells the overall story and the developments that effected the battles, then goes into detail in describing several of the major convoy actions in a way that really makes you feel for the people involved. An excellent book with some great information, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book for Father's day, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of the Atlantic (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
My children didn't know what to get their dad so I ordered this for Father's day - my husbanbd has so many books it was difficult to find one that would be suitable but this was just right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battle of the Atlantic (Pen & Sword Military Classics)
The Battle of the Atlantic (Pen & Sword Military Classics) by Donald Macintyre (Paperback - 1 Mar 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews