Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excitement on almost every page., 12 Oct 2004
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
Edward Young was the wartime commander of HMS Storm - a British S Type Submarine. Speaking as one who has studied and even visited one of that vessel's many sister ships (HMS Stubborn - deliberately sunk off Malta in 1946 as an Asdic target), I know a little (albeit very little) of the excitement these ships are able to generate. This book vividly brings to life the work and experiences of those who took part in WW2 in such craft and it is the very combination of that war, that type of submarine and the daily events of routine, danger, deprivation and even fun, which is something at which we who enjoy the freedom for which they fought can only marvel.

This is a well written book which tells a story. Though centred on the wartime life of the author, it is not a book which is just about him and his boat (submarines are boats, not ships). It is about the people and the events which he encountered along the way and theirs is a story which forms part of the huge jigsaw which was World War Two. Such a contribution was a vital part of the overall war effort and is made all the more interesting by the way in which it is told.

At over 300 pages of well written dialogue with the addition of just the right amount of photographic plates and maps, this book represents real value for money and reads better than any novel.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WWII submarine patrolling, 4 Dec 2012
By 
John Middleton (Brisbane, QLD, AUST) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
WWII threw up a lot of interesting characters, forcing some people to go to war who would never have expected to otherwise. Vasily Grossman in Soviet Russia was probably the most unlikely, but Edward Young, Penguin publisher turned submarine captain, is also a contender for the title. He was the first reservist to end up a submarine captain, and while perhaps not the finest sub captain of WWII, he has given us all a great story in One of Our Submarines. He covers the process from junior officer to captain, and includes the loss of HMS Umpire, as one of a handful of survivors of an accident on a training cruise.

Interestingly, his story covers the bulk of the war, from the frozen North Sea off Norway to the Med, and then the Japanese War out of Ceylon, and finally Perth. That's just about all the theatres of war you could drive a submarine in.

Young is upfront about his mechanical shortcomings, and you can feel his frustration with some initial poor shooting with his torpedoes: he is an ordinary man doing a hard job that needs doing. He also holds up a mirror to Britain's dawning realisation that her Navy - so long her pride - was being outstripped, easily so, by the growing USN both in quantity and quality.

This is a superb little memoir of WWII submarining, when you submerged by day but for a periscope, and surfaced by night in the safety of darkness - its completely different to submarine operations today, when you can stay underwater for months on end. As a little piece of history, this is an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enthusiatic account of a British submariner., 30 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Edward Young was anxious to join a navigation class whilst at the R.N.V.R. training establishment. As a result he "volunteered" for duty in submarines. This book follows him from these early days in 1940 through to his position as a commander of a submarine. His adventures take him from the Arctic circle, and the freezing waters of the North Cape, to the Mediterranean and on to fight the Japanese from a base in Australia. A first hand account of life aboard a British submarine which includes many contemporary notes along with some photographs, maps and drawings which complement the text. A thoroughly enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight and difficult to put down, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Don (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
I came looking for this book because it was recommended to my girlfriend by a lovely old boy who'd served under the author. Otherwise I wouldn't have been drawn to it, as submarines are I feel rather terrifying and the stuff of nightmares. This is however a wonderful account of one of our submarine commanders in World War 2, the submarines and the very brave crews. From training, patrols in the North Sea, Arctic, the Med' and the Far East. I found it a great insight into the lives of submariners from that period, giving me even more respect for them. It gives enough detail that you can understand what's going on without it going over the average person's head, the text flows very well and I found it very difficult to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Submarines - a positive experience!, 18 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
Exciting (and dangerous) stuff - well written in a flowing style. It wasn't all torpedoes. They had as much success using surface guns. Detailed maps in the book were useful but an atlas to locate the general part of the world they were in would help anyone with as poor a knowledge of world geography as me. One or two men weren't selected for submarine service (unsurprisingly) as they were considered temperamentally unsuited - although the training seemed fairly rudimentary compared with that for mini-submarines and human torpedoes or chariots (see 'Above Us the Waves'). We're given some good technical detail and helpful drawings. Altogether a very good and gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid British story of tradition, bravery simply told, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
No over stated Bull**** a great British story simply told that relays the reality of submarine warfare and indeed warfare in general,long long periods of utter boredom and routine interspersed with short period of absolute terror which in this case brings out the finest traditions of the Royal Navy dating back to Cochrane and Nelson. A great addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars part of our history, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
This was good reading I felt I was there with our brave men,we were very lucky to have the best radar system of that time,food rationing could have led us to give in,yes I would recommend my friends to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating submariner's memoir, 9 July 2009
By 
M. J. Leong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
The memoirs of a submarine officer from his initial training in the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve to his tour as a captain in the Malacca Straits in 1944. Unlike other better known theatres of war, the world of the submariners' has been shrouded. This book brings the silent service to life. First written in 1952, this 2004 re-print is still one of the few first-hand experiences of World War 2 submariners'. As such, it is still on the list of essential reading for young officers' joining the Royal Navy's officer training college at Dartmouth.
Written in a clear and light-hearted prose, it will entertain and illuminate the reader. World War 2 submarines appear to be primitive today but this book reveals the complex technical machinery it truly is. Readers will also pause at the number of the authour's colleague who make the ultimate sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of our Submarines, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
Absolutely fascinating account of the submarine service in WWII. One of the first "grown-up" books that I read back in the 1950s (my later father had a copy), and the memory of it remained with me - now I have my very own copy, and I have relished reading it all over again. Excellent service from the vendor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Submarine books around, 6 Mar 2014
By 
JBV "JBV^_^" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) (Paperback)
I've owned a copy of this book since the late '70s. My current copy (a 1953 penguin first printing) was showing it age rather badly and needed replacing before it fell apart.

Funnily enough, the author of this book designed both the orange and white stripped cover and the penguin logo used on the old copy.

This is a fantastic insight into life on a wartime submarine. From the first time he stepped aboard one, to when, as captain of his own sub, he returned to England at wars end, Edward Young DSC, doesn't hide the problems he encountered, nor does he try to "big up" his role in the war. He didn't take part in any famous battle, nor did he sink thousands of tons of enemy ships. That doesn't mean he wasted his time. He landed spies on enemy islands, sank small coastal ships and (in the far east) junks and supplied food and other supplies to Malta when that island was under siege.

Unlike a work of fiction, this isn't continuous action, but features quite a bit of "hurry up and wait." But neither is it boring. I expect anyone who's served in the military will recognise the way things progress - 90% waiting for action, 10% far too much action.

If you're interested in WW2 naval operations, then this is a unique insight into how they affected a single man and the submarines he served on. Either way. this is an excellent book, and deserves a place on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics)
One of Our Submarines (Pen & Sword Military Classics) by Edward Young (Paperback - 30 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: 4.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews