Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars74
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2014
I found this book to be a harrowing yet enthralling account of D day. As someone who had a family member take part in that momentous occasion but who refused to talk about it brought home to me what they went through. Well written and the transcripts from the ordinary Tommie fascinated me. It is a book well worth remembering about the sacrifice of all those young men.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2007
Better known to many as D-Day, the 6th June 1944 is perhaps one of the most important days in world history, as it is considered by many to have been the start, of the end, of the Second World War! The landing of over 150,000 troops and their equipment on that dull June day, acted as a springboard for the allied advance into Europe and the liberation of several countries and thousands of their citizens from Nazi occupation.

For many veterans alive today, the events at that period are still as strong in their minds now, as they were 60 years ago, however as the years pass, their memories fade and sadly, fewer survivors remain to tell the tales of what really happened on the lead up to D-Day, during the invasion itself and the subsequent "moping up" battles.

This truly fascinating book is fully illustrated with many excellent previously unpublished photographs, it is packed to the hilt with detailed, factual and graphic accounts of events as they happened and are told by those who were actually there at the time! Sadly, many of these brave men and women are no longer alive today, however their gripping tales of what they witnessed then, have been recorded in this splendid volume for everyone to read today (over half a century later) and in the future.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
An excellent book. The fact that the many accounts of the events of that historic day come from the people who were actually there, all the different services and ranks, give a real feeling of what it must have been like at that time. We owe them so much. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Having just finished reading this e-book ,I found the real stories as each man related his version and actions which he went through,and also of the heroic men. From the three services all very enlightening as this book really shows the fear, anxiety, and frustration of what war really means, and also the hardships . pain and suffering to which these brave hero's each and every one of them went through. and so when i had finished reading it, and of their individual stories too. it left me feeling sad for the men who never came home, and yet pleased for the men who did. the book educates the reader of the horrors of what war really means ,a true insight as it happened then, all those years ago,.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
An excellent book full of first hand accounts for
all three military services (men and women) American and merchant marine. Highly recommended as a basis for further study of this momentous period of history.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
This is a book that should be a subject in schools in preference to the usual American trash that is often used to record this day in our history
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I enjoyed this account of the proceedings. It is put together in a very logical format by detailing what happened on each beach and by all the other auxiliary services. I would like to have also read about the French contribution from the resistance side to put it all in context. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
I thought this was a book full of stories which made you think you were there no bull just no nonsense every day happenings.I would advise any one to read it
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
It was simply a collection of experiences by men and women throughout D-Day. Some brief and to the point, some descriptive and moving. Not too many mention the death and mayhem all around that day of days, the spirit of all that day was immense and will never be experienced again on this planet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
each account brought home the vast lost of life suffered both by the military and the civillian population. As I read the individual stories I felt that I was part of the invasion.This book is a must for anyone studing WW2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)