Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mabey back on form - great joy!
After the somewhat vague meanderings of Nature Cure, Richard Mabey pulls of a brilliant book that is both a pleasure to read and a real education without ever feeling heavy. The use of language is once again a triumph in evoking the feel and splendour of our beech woodlands. My only real gripes are that whilst the book is a much better and structured read the ending does...
Published on 20 April 2008 by C. R. Cheesman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Very pleasant
Published 1 month ago by missgarnet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mabey back on form - great joy!, 20 April 2008
By 
C. R. Cheesman (Abergavenny, Gwent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the somewhat vague meanderings of Nature Cure, Richard Mabey pulls of a brilliant book that is both a pleasure to read and a real education without ever feeling heavy. The use of language is once again a triumph in evoking the feel and splendour of our beech woodlands. My only real gripes are that whilst the book is a much better and structured read the ending does seem to come about rather suddenly and that my favourite rural author, H. J. Massingham, is dismissed as 'romantic'. Well there's nothing wrong with being romantic and you have to place your mindset at the time when Massingham was writing. But we digress. All in all a thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worthy of beeches, 22 May 2012
By 
Amanda Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beechcombings: The narratives of trees (Paperback)
I had heard about Mabey for years as a prince among nature writers, and finally got around to reading some of his books. If like me you are obsessed by trees, especially beeches, then this will make your heart sing.

Beechcombings is stuffed with fascinating facts about how beeches grow, live and die, their uses and diseases, the friendships they have nurtured and the landscapes they have enhanced. Half historian, half poet, Mabey has produced a book to carry with you on woodland walks, and to return to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A work of art, insightful and honest. A deeply grounding work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
Green Climber (Dartmoor, England) - See all my reviews
brilliant quality of writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beechcombings: The narratives of trees (Paperback)
Very pleasant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beechcombings: The narratives of trees (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beechcombings, 5 July 2009
By 
Jbooth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beechcombings: The narratives of trees (Paperback)
What a great book the beauty of the wildwood versus the influence made by man on our landscape the beautful trees created by coppicing and pollarding, the management of our wild places in history, the sadness of the landsape and habitat that is being destroyed discussed in great detail, Richard Maybe also writes in the BBC wildlife magazine I always read his article with great interest, this book is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beechcombings: The narratives of trees
Beechcombings: The narratives of trees by Richard Mabey (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2008)
Used & New from: £7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews