Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outbound Flight revealed for the first time
One of the best books I've read on Star Wars. Timothy Zahn was my second favourite Star Wars book writer before this but he is now my favourite author after reading this book. After all the speculation and everything that the mysterious Outbound Flight project has been talked about, this book is a fitting account of how Outbound Flight got the green light and then...
Published on 18 Feb. 2006 by biz

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, but the trip is worth it
With Outbound Flight, Timothy Zahn completes his two-book series examining an expedition into unknown space during the time of the Republic in the Star Wars universe. He also gives us the first meeting of Grand Admiral Thrawn (one of first book-only creations for the Star Wars universe) and gives us a demonstration of how he became one of Emperor Palpatine's...
Published on 28 Feb. 2006 by David Roy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outbound Flight revealed for the first time, 18 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Star Wars Outbound Flight (Hardcover)
One of the best books I've read on Star Wars. Timothy Zahn was my second favourite Star Wars book writer before this but he is now my favourite author after reading this book. After all the speculation and everything that the mysterious Outbound Flight project has been talked about, this book is a fitting account of how Outbound Flight got the green light and then how it's downfall happened. You will see Thrawn (and the whole Chiss species) in a completely different light and learn how he came to serve under the Emperor and why he did so. The Yuzzan Vong from the New Jedi Order books have a big effect on this book, despite never being mentioned in name. And there are one of the most cruel species ever mentioned in the Star Wars series - the Vagaari, a terrible species which uses 'living' shields - but I won't give it away. Anyway, I would really reccomend that you buy this book, it is great and will close a piece of Star Wars history to an end. Even if you have not read the other Outbound Flight novels, then this is a great book to read on it's own. 10/10!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introducing the future Grand Admiral Thrawn, 4 Feb. 2007
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This "Star Wars" story is a prequel to "Survivor's Quest" and among other things it tells the story of how the Old Republic first encountered Commander Mitth'raw'nuruodo - better known by the rank to which Emperor Palpatine was to appoint him, and by his "core name" which humans can pronounce, as Grand Admiral Thrawn.

Timothy Zahn is one of the most original science fiction authors writing today. His contributions to the "Star Wars" universe, particularly the novels in which he brought to life Grand Admiral Thrawn and his race, the Chiss, are perhaps his best work.

This story is set about four or five years after "Star Wars Episode One" at a time when Palpatine has become Supreme Chancellor but before the start of the Clone Wars in Episode two - Attack of the Clones." Anakin Skywalker is 14 years old in this book and has been Obi-Wan Kenobi's Padawan for the intervening four or five years. It becomes clear that Supreme Chancellor Palpatine already has plans for his future ...

"Outbound Flight" is a huge expedition mounted by the Old Republic and led by the Jedi. The plan was to explore and colonise another Galaxy. Obi Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker were among those who were initially intended to take part. Before it even got out of the home galaxy, Outbound Flight passed through Chiss space, where they met a Chiss force under the future Admiral Thrawn, and various other people, some of whom had very nefarious plans ...

In "Survivor's Quest", which is set some fifty years later and well after "Return of the Jedi," Luke Skywalker and his wife Mara Jade go on a quest to find what had happened to the Outbound Flight expedition all those years before. "Outbound Flight" tells the story of the original expedition from the viewpoint of the people involved: including what involvement Palpatine, Thrawn, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and Anakin Skywalker had with the mission.

This book also tells you something about the ideals which motivated the younger officer who was to become Grand Admiral Thrawn - who is a somewhat more sympathetic character in this volume than the older Thrawn was presented as being in Zahn's "Heir to the Empire" trilogy.

It's a good story, well told and enjoyable. If you are thinking of reading it and have not yet read "Survivor's Quest" I would recommend tackling "Outbound Flight" first. For all that it is written as a prequel, I found that because I had already read "Survivor's Quest" the knowledge of what fate is in store for the expedition and several of the main characters did to some extent reduce my pleasure on first reading this book.

Nevertheless it is an enjoyable and well written addition to the "Star Wars" canon, and I do recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ., 18 July 2011
Outbound Flight is a mission to explore the galaxies beyond the one Star wars is set in. It's the first book in the Star Wars chronology to include Thrawn - one of the most famous characters in the Extended Universe, and it's for this reason that I chose to read it. And it was a good decision.

The characters were generally done well. I liked Jorus C'Baoth's Apprentice, Lorana, and Thrawn's guest Car'das quite a lot. Then there was the Chancellor. Palpatine is an incredibly complex character, and a very important one. And I've never seen him portrayed better. But there was also the two main players in the book. Thrawn and C'Baoth. I wasn't amazed by C'Baoth, but I think that's more because I didn't like him as a person, than didn't like how he was written. But Thrawn I did like. I haven't actually read the trilogy he was first written about in, but after reading this book I will be. He's a fascinating character, and I found myself looking forwards to those chapters about his storyline. The only thing he didn't have was any flaws. He was a little too perfect. But that didn't mean I didn't enjoy reading about him. He was extremely well written.

I felt that the inclusion of Anakin and Obi-Wan was rather unneccesary. I felt like it was done just because they were famous characters, rather than because they would add anything to the story. They weren't major characters, didn't do an awful lot, but hung around where all the important stuff things happened, disagreeing and agreeing with C'Baoth respectively. I didn't really understand what they were there for.

But it was an excellent story otherwise, two main storylines that merge towards the end of the book, but full of moments that make you think "that was clever". The two masterminds of the book are facinating to read about, and some of the tactics and technology of the various groups was extremely interesting. Especially the methods of the Vagaari, which were brutal, but again were a clever idea. And it manages to link into much of the other stories in the star wars universe. It has ties to the previous books, "The Phantom Menace" and "Rogue Planet". It also links into the Thrawn books, by the same author, by introducing their eponymous character. and then it hints at the events in the New Jedi Order, which is set over fifty years later.

There was one thing that I felt the story could have done with, was a small bit of back story about Vergere, a missing Jedi. It wasn't an important plot point, just mentioned a couple of times as an indirect mission of Outbound flight. It could be picked up by the end of the book that she had gone missing, and where, but it would have been handy if there had been a brief paragraph about what she was doing when she went missing, or perhaps a bigger mention of Obi-Wan's search for her (This is the subject of the book set before outbound flight, "Rogue Planet").

From a technical point of view, I couldn't see anything wrong with the writing at all. No typos, no weird formatting. Not even any badly worded sentences. Zahn is a brilliant writer, and this work reflects that. Although reading Rogue Planet before hand might be useful for that one thing, this is a really good entry to the Star Wars saga and a highly interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book combined with Survivor's Quest, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
Grey Lady (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This was, as usual with Timothy Zahn's Star Wars books, an enjoyable read. Zahn excells in duologies and trilogies, and in this particular case one must read the book together with Survivor's Quest. It doesn't really matter which book you read first, although chronologically this one takes place in an earlier era. The focus on Thrawn is excellent. I always liked him, because of course he is smart but also because of his somewhat less obvious ways in learning about differences between cultures and their tactics. In this book he actually is quite sympathetic too, but again brilliant in forecasting the moves of others. Actually, I wouldn't mind to really have him return, like suggested towards the end of Survivor's Quest. Jorus the Jedi is not the best character, as he is too predictable, but Lorana does compensate for that to a certain extent. She os the kind of Jedi most readers will like. Jorj is also an interesting character, while the Vagaari really are good villains. On the whole, a lovely read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long slog to a catastrophic ending, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book certainly took me some time to read. This was mainly due to the many characters I just struggled to like or care for. There are many events happening that seem pointless only to show one character or another's nature. However, with teeth gritted the ending does come, and boy what an ending it is. It certainly makes up for the drag through the beginning and middle, and certainly pushes this book to an ending I won't soon forget.
You don't necessarily have to be a huge star wars fan, just someone who knows the basic, because Outbound Flight does what it says - takes you away from your comfort zone into unexplored territory. This is certainly a must-read if you plan to read Zahn's latter books (with reference to Outbound Flight); and is a great book if you're reading in chronological order, simply because it gives a small inkling into the future cloning of certain individuals (it's very small, but it's there).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull book with unnesesery side quest, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is a delight to read, a true page turner... almost.
It all starts really intrueging... only to be slowed down by an overly long, not to nesesery side quest, which is meant to introduce some characters and give the main story a jump start. But once you get through it, Outbound Flight flies...
Timothy Zahn really knows how to make you want to keep reading, even when C'Boath's rule is to fast accepted and even Obi Wan is rduced to a help less bystander. The author also tends to overuse the phrase "his/heres throat/stomach/whatever thightened" every time someone feels kinda threatened..

Maybe not a perfect book, but definelty worthy of a Star Wars fans time.
Reading it I felt like beening that teenage boy again, having "Heir to the Empire" in my hands for the first time.

If you do not dig Star Wars... better keep away... or at least watch the movies first...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of Zahn's best, 18 Dec. 2007
Timothy Zahn is the best of the Star Wars authors and Outbound Flight has to be one of his strongest books. it also completely outclasses its relatively boring and mediocre duology partner, Survivor's Quest.
The story of outbound flight - Jedi Master Jorus C'Baoth's mechanical lovechild and voyage to the outer stars - is easily readable and full of interesting twists and turns. The prose is intelligent and so are the maze-like plot twists and the sensibilities of the characters - especially the forever one-step-ahead Commander Thrawn.

One downer is the relative pointlessness of including Obi Wan and Anakin in the first half of the book - they dont really get involved in the main plot (more of a distraction).
however that is my only real gripe.
Overall, intelligent and readable, enjoyable and satisfying (especially in light of later sw books)
A good read
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent backfill of Thrawn's history, 7 July 2008
By 
Steven Brown (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked this book up because I'm a huge fan of Zahn's Star Wars Thrawn trilogy (and his Conquerer's trilogy)

And I wasn't disappointed with this installment. Grand Admiral Thrawn is a superb literary creation, and getting to see a glimpse of his history with his own species is brilliantly done by Zahn.

The other characters are very interesting too - we also get to see an earlier Jorus C'Baoth and his apprentice.

Zahn's imagination is superb, and I think he excels at this kind of weaving a story around the star wars universe, but filling it with mostly with his own creations.

in summary - excellent - one of the best Star Wars extended universe books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great SW novel, 24 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Star Wars Outbound Flight (Hardcover)
To me, this is one of Zahn's best SW novels. I couldn't put it down, stayed up waaaaaay past my bedtime to finish it.

The only thing that I'm not really enthusiastic about is the addition of Obi-Wan and Anakin for a part of the novel. It feels as if they were put there to attract readers, but the story would have been just as great without them, perhaps even greater. Still one of my favourite SW novels and I've read well over a hundred of them.

Definitely pick this one up if you're fan of the EU. If you're not into the EU, there are other better starting points than this, depending on where your interest in SW lies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, but the trip is worth it, 28 Feb. 2006
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Outbound Flight (Hardcover)
With Outbound Flight, Timothy Zahn completes his two-book series examining an expedition into unknown space during the time of the Republic in the Star Wars universe. He also gives us the first meeting of Grand Admiral Thrawn (one of first book-only creations for the Star Wars universe) and gives us a demonstration of how he became one of Emperor Palpatine's greatest military minds. Unfortunately, while the book is enjoyable, it suffers from two major characters being shoehorned in and a main plot that isn't really that interesting.
In Survivor's Quest, Luke and Mara Jade Skywalker are brought in to explore the remains of Outbound Flight after being thought destroyed for fifty years. In Outbound Flight, we see the beginning of the expedition, spearheaded by Jedi Master C'Baoth. The Senate is cutting funding for the project, which brings C'Baoth to the office of the Supreme Chancellor, Palpatine, to demand that he fight for it. Palpatine, with his own motives for getting the expedition off the ground, lures him to the planet Brolf to solve a trade dispute. Events on that planet will enhance his stature and make Outbound Flight almost a certainty. However, he doesn't foresee Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker being added to the Jedi crew by the Jedi Council. Meanwhile, a smuggler on the run from an infuriated Hutt is forced beyond known space by a hyperdrive malfunction, and they stumble upon a Chiss warship, commanded by a very intelligent Commander Thrawn. All of this comes together in a battle of wills and intelligence, with three sides all facing off against each other. Who will win? And how does Outbound Flight end up where Luke and Mara find it?
Outbound Flight is an interesting story, and it dovetails nicely with the events of Survivor's Quest. It was also enjoyable seeing Thrawn for the first time, when he's still unfamiliar with the area of space we're all familiar with. They've never heard of droids, so he's fascinated by the warrior droids that the Trade Federation has (which are obtained in a fight with the Trade Federation ship sent to destroy Outbound Flight). He demonstrates his superior intelligence many times in this book, and while we don't see the invitation to join Palpatine (I believe that happened after he became Emperor), we do see what most likely prompted it. Thrawn, as always, is a fascinating character, keeping plans within plans, so nobody is ever sure exactly what's happening until things go his way. The only problem I have with him (and it's one I've had with him from the beginning) is that he's almost too perfect. He never seems to miss anything, and if things seem to be going against him, you know it's a trick.
The part of the story dealing with the smugglers and their interaction with Thrawn is what keeps the book going. Unfortunately, the story of Outbound Flight itself isn't nearly as interesting. C'Baoth is an arrogant fool, and while it's nothing that we haven't seen before with him, he just didn't hold my attention. An attempt to humanize most of the C'Baoth scenes is made by including his Padawan, Lorana Jinzler, but that doesn't work. While she is a nice character, she doesn't help. The beginning of the book has Obi-Wan and Anakin (who is 14 years old and still quite impulsive) keeping an eye on him, and they help somewhat. Zahn does capture their relationship wonderfully and I could almost hear Ewan McGregor speaking Obi-Wan's lines.
However, they bring up one of the other problems with the book. First is a bit of false advertising on dust jacket. It implies that Obi-Wan and Anakin are around for the entire book and that they're involved in the inevitable confrontation between Outbound Flight and the Chiss. That's not the case, as would be obvious to anybody who's read the first book. They can't be on the ship when disaster strikes, as they have to be around for the subsequent movies. No, they're dumped off before Outbound Flight leaves Republic space and the scenes on the ship slow down even more. Their role in the book feels extremely forced, as if we need them around to make the story interesting. The problem is that it ends up being true.
It's also sad that when the action moves to the ship, it's just Obi-Wan and Anakin reacting to C'Baoth's obvious descent to the Dark Side. It's treated like a revelation toward the end, but all of the prideful statements, arrogant boasts, accumulation of power by C'Baoth, there's no doubt that's what's happening. The fact that this is considered a startling development is just annoying.
The book culminates in a thrilling climax that makes the rest of the book worth getting through. Three sides face off and C'Baoth's arrogance finally gets the best of him. Thrawn's plans are finally revealed and we see exactly how things finally work out. It sets up Survivor's Quest beautifully. My only problem with the ending was the misdirection Zahn employs by hiding the thoughts of one of the characters. We see his thoughts, and his thoughts seem to point to events occurring one way, but then Zahn reveals that he was part of the plan to begin with and everything's the exact opposite. I know this can be an effective writing technique, but it annoys me all the same. Otherwise, though, the last one hundred pages are wonderful.
It's too bad that it took so long to get there, though. The book moves quickly, however, which makes it an easy read, thus making getting to that ending a lot more enjoyable than it might have been otherwise. For those of you tired of Thrawn, it's not a good thing that he's the main reason to read the first three-quarters of the book, but that's what Zahn excels at. Just for the further information in the Star Wars universe, Outbound Flight is well worth reading.
David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars Outbound Flight
Star Wars Outbound Flight by Timothy Zahn (Hardcover - 2 Feb. 2006)
Used & New from: £4.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews