Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive speculation of the theories of a bloodline
This is nothing other than a massive tour de force of a foray into history. Wow.

Rennes-le-Chateau is a tiny village with a big past. This book traces the journey of discovery made by three writers starting from a coded message to a world-shaking discovery.

In fact the discoveries had already been hypothesised, but the discovery of these...
Published on 12 May 2006 by Some Bloke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CONTENT
I skipped through relentlessly because ther was nothing to do with THE HOLY GRAIL. i DID ENJOY READING ABOUT 'THE CRUCIFIXION THOUGH.
Published on 22 April 2013 by margie fink


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive speculation of the theories of a bloodline, 12 May 2006
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
This is nothing other than a massive tour de force of a foray into history. Wow.

Rennes-le-Chateau is a tiny village with a big past. This book traces the journey of discovery made by three writers starting from a coded message to a world-shaking discovery.

In fact the discoveries had already been hypothesised, but the discovery of these possibilities were enormous. The writers delved into history, re-analysed the Bible, tried to interpret motivations and studied the history of the area.

In doing so they discovered a priest who became both enormously wealthy in an unexplained way, and obsessed with alchemy and other heretical arts. They considered the Templars and the crusades, the possibility of the concealment of the treasure of the Temple of Jerusalem being hidden in the area.

They found the real possibility of Jesus living beyond the crucifixion and his line surviving, and a secret society linked ot it all.

It had all the hallmarks of a blockbuster thriller, and is an utterly engrossing pageturner. It is written interestingly and brings events to life. Without lingering pointlessly, it makes its point about why they've examined or accepted something.

Liberties and interpretations have been taken, but they needed to be for progress to be made. This was a platform for further speculation and research. You may not accept all of it, but it makes you reconsider what was accepted and consider the possibilities. I returned to re-read it and often recall its subject. It lead to me reading further books on the subject and visiting the area. An awe-inspiring subject.

RLC is a wonderful place, this book is the definitive story of it's probable history. Read, enjoy, and decide how much you're prepared to accept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Controversial to Say the Least, 17 Mar. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
This book has recently gained a huge amount of publicity with the court case between the authors and the author of the Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown. I purchased the book on the back of that wave of publicity and having now read both books cannot really see what the court case was all about. The books could not be more different, not withstanding that the Da Vinci Code has no basis in fact and is a figment of the authors imagination. Most of the books written today contain regurgitated information from other books, either factual or fiction.

This book has a basis in fact, although much of it may be the vivid imagination of the authors. To be honest I don't know the answer. The book is both controversial, shocking and deeply moving. It is interesting and thought provoking. Whether you believe the conclusions that the authors come to, is a different matter and one for the individual. Perhaps the authors findings are as plausible an account of the life and times of Jesus as the one generally recognised by the church as true. It is a matter of the individuals faith. It is very difficult, if not impossible to prove anything either way.

I enjoyed reading the book, that is not to say that I agreed with its findings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant piece of historical detective work, 17 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant detective story with many fascinating strands. I first read it 20 years ago, and I'm still dipping into it. I'm a Christian, and I believe that Jesus died on the cross, but I also think the conclusions of this book are valid. Read this and you'll understand why Dan Brown was sued -this is the history and painstaking detective work behind the story in the novel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping stuff, 15 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
I first stumbled across HBAHG over 15 years ago and I have read it several times in paperback. I have just bought a nice new 2005 version to update the situation. Overall an enthralling read. Whatever your opinion may be from 'plausible' to 'utter tosh', I doubt that anybody with an open mind cannot fail to be either entertained or at least stimutaled to consider "what if....?". Buy, read enjoy. however, to REALLY get into the situation, I would highly recommend that you pair this book with "The Tomb of God" by R.Andrews & P. Schellenberger. get the hardback if you can for better diagrams, I wore out a copy of the paperback by 'thumbing' thru it.. All in all, two very diverting books... Go on, you know that you need too...! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, great historical facts, 21 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
I live in France, in the Languedoc, and was fascinated by this book, well researched and well written book. I was brought up a catholic, but have long been lapsed. This booked opened my eyes to the fact that Jeusus probably was married and that his bloodline still continues to this day. Also uncovers the truch about Mary Magdaline. More and more of these books are being written and one day hopefully people will realise that the Roman Catholic church has taken our spirituallity away from us and operates is one of the biggest cover ups ever. It was about of controlling people over the centuries. Another great book to read is Bloodline of the Holiy Grail, Laurence Gardener, who states that tbe bloodline is living in the Royal Stewart family. Extraordinary!- wake up all those of you that are asleep, there's so much around you to prove these stories are true. Release yourselves from the Roman Catholic Dogma!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential read to anyone interested in Rennes-le-Chateau, 11 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
Holy Blood Holy Grail seems to have been the English book that really brought the story of the Mystery of Rennes-le-Chateau to the masses and so for anyone interested in this subject it is an essential read, just don't take all its claims as fact and enjoy it for what it is.
Also try Rennes-le-Château : Saunière's Secret
Lost Tomb of the Knights Templar by Ben Hammott: 100 year old clues left by a French priest 100 years ago, lead to an amazing discovery.
The Accursed Treasure of Rennes-le-Chateau (Keys of Antiquity)
And a novel on the mystery - Beginnings: A Hunt for Treasure (The Tomb, the Temple, the Treasure)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic update of their 1982 nest seller, 20 April 2013
By 
Mr. Peter Howe "peterhowe3" (eclectica,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
great 2005 revision of the 1982 best seller,larger size hardback and with lots of photographs.You can take or leave the various theories surrounding this great mystery,but the historical information is essential reading.Forget the da vinci code..buy the real thing,this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
Amazing book. Religion on another level. Everything you believed, you will question. The research is fantastic and so much evidence is provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
good read, a lot o research good theory who no's could be on to something, good to be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (Hardcover)
could not have bought better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail
The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail by Henry Lincoln (Hardcover - 1 Sept. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews