Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all-round fitness book
I bought this book having already a fair knowledge of fitness and weight training but there were still things in it that I found useful. It combines various forms of aerobic training with numerous exercises for all the major muscle groups (both free weights and machines). It also gives good advice on the form for each exercise and the number of reps for various levels of...
Published on 6 Jan 2006 by Richard

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but certainly not great
Not a bad book, in so far as it gives clear descriptions of most of the exercises listed in the book and has some advice on nutrition, but it just feels disjointed.
For a far better book, with a good year round cross training workout (literally - 4 13 week programmes to follow), check out Maximum Fitness, the complete guide to Navy SEAL cross training by Stewart...
Published on 14 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all-round fitness book, 6 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book (Paperback)
I bought this book having already a fair knowledge of fitness and weight training but there were still things in it that I found useful. It combines various forms of aerobic training with numerous exercises for all the major muscle groups (both free weights and machines). It also gives good advice on the form for each exercise and the number of reps for various levels of fitness. I also found the section on food useful as it contained various tips on what to eat at certain places where you inevitably eat unhealthily, like the cinema or take-away. If you are looking to both increase you cardio abilities and also build some muscle mass then I would certainly recommend this book to assist you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total fittnes, 5 Dec 2004
This review is from: Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book (Paperback)
This book is intense. I think it is good for all levels of fittness, mainly because you can pick certain exercises out for your level and when you become confident in training you can increase your work load. Not only that if it is good enough for the SAS then for every day living your on too a goodun. I have tried this for four months and it really does work if you prepare for it. You only have to see the difference it makes to him when you read the book. A must have for any serious fittness freak. Just rememember to take photos of your self at the end of every week and you can see the difference it makes. It works......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motivation, 2 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book (Paperback)
As well as being very informative, the strength of this book is in the mythos surrounding the SAS. Everyone knows that these special men don't just appear in a test tube but are the by - product of discipline and hard work and knowing that this work comes from one of their own makes it all the more motivating. You soon become aware by the before and after photo that implementing the philosophies of Mr. Ryan into your schedule can reap exactly the same rewards, afterall, he, like you is simply a carbon based life form.
For men, this is a great work that ranks up there with the very best exercise books of Ranulph Fiennes. Written by somone who who gets fit for practical reasons rather than olympic medals, makes the subject a little more real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but certainly not great, 14 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Not a bad book, in so far as it gives clear descriptions of most of the exercises listed in the book and has some advice on nutrition, but it just feels disjointed.
For a far better book, with a good year round cross training workout (literally - 4 13 week programmes to follow), check out Maximum Fitness, the complete guide to Navy SEAL cross training by Stewart Smith. It costs the same, but is far more valuable to any fitness enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any fitness buff, 14 Sep 2005
This review is from: Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book (Paperback)
i have referenced this book for my training sessions for both strength training and aerobic training.
There are many different exercises in this book to help you and Chris Ryan also gives you tips on how to keep good form whilst doing them.
Jus for the amount of muscle ive put on and my improved fitness level has payed for this 10 fold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only does half the job., 25 Mar 2003
By A Customer
It's not a bad book as such, but you can do a lot better, especially for the price. The trouble is that the book is really just a list of cardiovascular and muscle building exercises with photographs and tips for each. What's missing is that Chris Ryan doesn't put it all together into a properly integrated training programme. A complete fitness or strength training programme MUST set out a schedule of the all exercise you need to take, preferably with different programmes offered for different starting levels and different finishing goals. It's a shame, but this final step is missing from the book. I'd recommend Adrian Weals "Fighting Fit" - it's much more useful and quite a bit cheaper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book, 25 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book (Paperback)
This book is a great book to buy for all but the fittest people. I bought this book after reading some of his novels, wondering what his factual stuff was like, and wanting to get fitter for the new Football/Rugby/Basketball season. I have taken off a star because it is not strictly a fitness programme, because it doesnt tell you exactly what time tto go for runs and do certain things, it is more of a guideline, and a good one too. The section on kit is fairly basic, but he does recommend getting a heart rate monitor, which having got one, are very useful for aerobic exercise. I don't know much about weight lifting but that chapter looked fairly thourough. For the more advanced weights workouts, you will need to have access to a gym. It also contains good advice on Dangers and Setbacks that you might come across while training, and Diet(this is mostly about fat consumtion). The book covers 5 different aerobic activitys, Cross terrain walking, Running, Cycling, Swimming and indoor rowing. For each he covers the correct technique, its fat-burning efficiency, motivation and how much to do at different levels of fitness, a sort of training program. I only got this book yesterday, and allready it has promted me to go out and buy a heart rate monitor, and go for a 40 minute run(and it was raining!) If you want to lose weight put on more muscle or just get fitter, i would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitness for all from the man who got away!, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I have been training on and off for years, but always felt that I reached a plateau and then stopped. Well not now, this book has helped me by giving a wide and varied choice of exerises so that I can alternate my routine and now I have driven past that niche. A very well illustrated book with lots of useful tips peppered with humour and honesty. Work out hard and the reward is worthwhile..Thank you Chris..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good honest and straight forward information., 30 April 2005
This review is from: Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book (Paperback)
I was a bit sceptical of how good this book would be before I bought it, thinking maybe it would just be a glorification of impossible goals and techniques for people who wanted to fanasise that they were in the SAS, but I decided for ten quid, what the hell.
How wrong I was, this book is very well written, detailing exactly what you need to do to get and keep fit, without over complicating the issue. There are different exercises and training recommendations, both for strength and CV/stamina, together with dietry advice and other question answered. Anyone at any level should be able to use this book to form a comprehensive and progressive ongoing fitness regime. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to fitness, 10 Mar 2001
As a slightly overweight, slightly fit person I felt I needed a kick up the back side to get myself into peak fitness. I bought this book because like myself chris does not have a degree in sport and fitness but the results of his training are there to see on his own body and fitness acheivements. I am starting my second week in training and although it is not easy this is the kick up the backside I needed. With detailed pictures and tips and advice this is the best training aid I have had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book
Chris Ryan's SAS Fitness Book by Chris Ryan (Paperback - 1 July 2004)
Used & New from: £0.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews