Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this book
I feel this book is well written by an anger sufferer who knows how it feels, he speaks from the heart. There is no fluffing just good solid explanations and lots of exercises, if you are serious about self discovery and healing these will be awesome. Recovery isnt easy and Mike makes no apology for that. In my opinion the exercises are totally relevent, difficult yes,...
Published on 24 May 2009 by Mej Newman

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but inadequate, like all anger books
I agree with the positive reviews of this book: good explanations and exercises, with emphasis on the need to take personal responsibility for and ownership of our anger and other emotions. There are good techniques on dealing with it in a positive non-confrontational manner. Unfortunately, all anger books - even the best ones - are inadequate. I have read many books on...
Published 21 months ago by D&D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this book, 24 May 2009
By 
Mej Newman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
I feel this book is well written by an anger sufferer who knows how it feels, he speaks from the heart. There is no fluffing just good solid explanations and lots of exercises, if you are serious about self discovery and healing these will be awesome. Recovery isnt easy and Mike makes no apology for that. In my opinion the exercises are totally relevent, difficult yes, but relevent. It took me about 30 hours to read this book due to its content and time required for the exercises. I was so impressed I have booked and attended one of the authers workshops, Mike is a truelly gifted individual, buy the book, it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable guide to managing one's everyday anger and stress, 1 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
This book is totally life transforming.
I would strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in the practicalities of dealing with one's own or a loved one's stress, anger or rage.
The author, Mike Fisher, does away with the patronising psychobabble and jargon, normally associated with US style 'self-improvement' books.
Instead, he delivers a reassuringly user-friendly step-by-step guide, in accessible everyday language, on how to manage - and harness positively - the every day issues that cause us to feel stressed / frustrated / powerless.
Mike starts from the refreshing premise that the only thing that makes us angry is our self! The rest of the book builds on this robust theory - and teaches us to take personal responsibility and ownership of our own feelings and emotions. He then suggests techniques how to communicate 'clean / healthy' anger to the world about us in a positive non-confrontational manner. Very empowering!
I hope this book helps you as much as it has done me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful & thought-provoking, 3 Aug 2007
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
Never having thought there was anything unusual about how I expressed my anger, my last boyfriend could not handle my occasional angry outburts when I'd felt I was at my wits end. He said it scared him as it seemed like my outburst was disproportionate to what I had felt he had done to upset me.

This book gave me better insight into how people cope with hurt and display their anger, and it's helped me think about things and realise what my "triggers" are. With this knowledge I can now understand that the things that people do these days to upset me aren't done to intentionally hurt me and can relate to events that have happened in the past which I've held onto.

Very interesting read, and I'm glad I bought the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic remedies, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book useful because it dealt with anger in a positive way without judging the reader and without apportioning blame. The exercises and advice given was realistic and doable. It gave me the confidence to make a more determined effort to gain control over my anger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH READING., 8 Oct 2010
By 
T. Chapman (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
Bought this book for a friend who has some anger problems and has tried various other avenues for help. This book helped him to sit and actually relate to a lot of things in it, and to seek the right type of help for his particular type of problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars with quiet hopeful breath she waits, 19 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
Very interesting book, thorough and detailed, really an intensive, well-structured workbook to assist / guide through to understanding anger and anger management. Hard work but worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but inadequate, like all anger books, 2 Dec 2012
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
I agree with the positive reviews of this book: good explanations and exercises, with emphasis on the need to take personal responsibility for and ownership of our anger and other emotions. There are good techniques on dealing with it in a positive non-confrontational manner. Unfortunately, all anger books - even the best ones - are inadequate. I have read many books on the so-called "negative" emotions and most helpful for me were "Nonviolent Communication: a Language of Life" by Marshall B. Rosenberg (his Center for Nonviolent Communication trains in Europe & UK, North America, Malaysia and India) and "To Love is to be Happy With" by Barry Kaufman, who founded the wonderful Options Institute in the U.S.

I have done a huge amount of "work" on myself for well over 2 decades yet all this wholehearted work did not result in much success with anger. Eventually - after more than TWO decades of wasted time and money (lots of time, lots of money), I discovered uncontrollable anger is very strongly linked to health. ALL anger-advice books overlook insufficient adrenals, yet one of the MAJOR symptoms is constant irritation.

After decades of mis-diagnoses (very common, I have learned) serious low thyroid AND low adrenal function was identified, but only because I was finally lucky enough to come across "Stop the Thyroid Madness" (both website and book are excellent on both thyroid and adrenal issues). I had to arrange and pay for my own lab tests (the NHS so-called "gold standard" tests are wrong!) and then (because the NHS would not accept the results!) get private treatment.

After a few months of PROPER treatment my anger/irritability simply melted away! (slowly)

The more stress you have had in your lifetime, the more likely you are to have adrenal issues (I had a high-powered job for 20 years but then had to limp through the last ten years before I was able to retire by going part-time - which of course meant low quality work at much lower pay). So, here are some FREE home/self tests for identifying struggling adrenals:

TEST ONE:
Take and compare two blood pressure readings--one while lying down and one while standing. Rest for five minutes while sitting before taking the first reading. Stand up and immediately take the blood pressure again. If either blood pressure reading is lower after standing, suspect adrenal gland problems, and more specifically, an aldosterone issue-another adrenal hormone. The degree to which the blood pressure drops while standing is often proportionate to the degree of hypoadrenalism. (Normal adrenal function will raise your BP on the standing reading in order to push blood to the brain.) It can be wise to do this test both in the morning and in the evening, since you can appear normal one time, and not another. (BP monitors are available cheaply on Amazon)

TEST TWO:
Let someone shine a bright light your way. Do you find yourself very sensitive and uncomfortable with the bright light (similarly with bright summer sunshine)? That could be a sign of adrenal fatigue. And this can also be true if you have searing headaches along with the sensitivity.

TEST THREE:
This is called the Pupil test and primarily tests your levels of aldosterone, another adrenal hormone. You need to be in a darkened room with a mirror and a flashlight/ torch/ penlight. Do this later in the day as results are more reliable then. From the side (not the front), shine a bright light towards your pupils and hold it for about a minute. Carefully observe the pupil. With healthy adrenals (and specifically, healthy levels of aldosterone), your pupils will constrict, and will stay small the entire time you shine the light from the side. In adrenal fatigue, the pupil will get small, but within 30 seconds, it will soon enlarge again or obviously flutter in its attempt to stay constricted.
Why? Because adrenal insufficiency can also result in low aldosterone, which causes a lack of proper amounts of sodium and an abundance of potassium. This imbalance causes the sphincter muscles of your eye to be weak and to dilate in response to light. (Note: there are over 50 sphincters in the body and stress incontinence caused by adrenal fatigue is difficult to fix just with pelvic floor exercises.)

TEST FOUR:
Take your temp 3 times a day, starting three hours after you wake up, and every three hours after that, to equal three temps. (If you have eaten or exercised right before it's time to take your temp, wait 20 more minutes.) Then average them for that day. Do this for AT LEAST 5 days. If your averaged temp is fluctuating from day to day more than .2 to .3 (with a lean towards .2), you need adrenal support. Again, your daily average temps should lean towards the .2 when on enough cortisol for your needs.

If your temps are fluctuating but overall low, you need both adrenal and thyroid support. If your temps are fluctuating but averaging 98.6, you just need adrenal support. If it is steady but low, you need thyroid support and adrenals are likely fine.
(mercury thermometers are the most accurate but very difficult to buy nowadays, next best are liquid thermometers, then digital thermometers - which can be wrong by up to .5C. Do NOT use ear thermometers.)

TEST FIVE:
This is the easiest home test for adrenal deficiency, from Wilson's excellent 2001 book (still a classic) called "Adrenal Fatigue": all you need for this test is a ball point pen. Drag the dull end of a pen across your abdomen for about six inches (my guess would be about 2 fingers' width above or below your belly button) but don't press overly hard or scratch the skin. If your adrenals are functioning normally or are only mildly affected, the mark will turn from white to red within about 10 seconds. If your adrenals are fatigued, however, the line will widen and stay white for about 2 minutes. This test isn't terribly accurate as it only shows up on about 40 per cent of people with low adrenal function. It generally tests positive only if the adrenal fatigue is fairly severe.

The outer cortex of our adrenal glands produces the hormones cortisol, aldosterone, testosterone, DHEA, DHEAS, androstenedione and estrogens. Dysfunctional adrenals equates first to combined highs and lows of cortisol that are not normal, then to low cortisol (and sometimes low aldosterone as well as imbalances in other hormones). The Stop the Thyroid Madness website has much free practical information on adrenal issues as well as low thyroid. If you want a lab test, to confirm any self-test results, the most useful - and most accurate - is the 24-hour saliva test costing 75 (don't let your doctor insist on the unreliable blood test or urine test) and thyroiduk[dot]org[dot]uk lists several labs that do private testing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Anger book, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
Reed first few pages never to read again. The book requires more than one person to do the exercises in it, which is not very practical when you live alone. Sometimes anger is caused by the very people close to you and is dangerous for people who live in volatile relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the answer to beating anger, but it helps, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
If you think you have a problem with anger, the one point plan - get a therapist to help you deal with it. If you want to understand where it comes from, read the book. Understanding your anger will not make it go away by simply reading a book. You don't get feedback on how you are doing from reading.

What is helpful in the book is what it teaches you from the start. To recognize that anger is a very normal, healthy emotion, it is the rage and hostility you let yourself get you that are your problem. It does come handy for understanding what is happening in your head at the times the anger builds up and by reflecting on past outbursts, you can map up when and where in an argument you reverted back to some point of your life that is causing you to be this angry today. I guess you have to read this book to make sense of this. But, the exercises are somewhat unrealistic.The buddy network of quite few people you need to build in order to practice these exercises is unrealistic, in my opinion. This is not how many family members and friends you have in your life, but how many people do you know that would be willing to read this book for you, so they can understand their role in being your anger buddy, in order to then be still willing and able to help you deal with your rage at random 11pm on their relaxing Wednesday night(again and again...and again).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful but not the whole answer, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage (Paperback)
This is a useful book, not the greatest read but definitely provides some helpful coping tools for dealing with anger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage
Beating Anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage by Mike Fisher (Paperback - 10 Mar 2005)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews