Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another great novel
Having read all the previous books in this series i was eagerly awaiting the fourth...and it was well worth it. Slaughter puts so much detail into her characters and story, plus she often refers to incidents in previous books which makes her novels that more believable!And the on going will they or wont they thing happening with Jeffrey and Sara just adds to the...
Published on 11 Nov 2004

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good but not unforgettable read
In this book karen Slaughter carries two plot lines, the current crime and the backround to the main characters and how they met. I agree with a previous reviewer that sometimes attention to detail is lacking but overall it is a well crafted story. I found it an interesting read and hard to put down, but a few days later when asked what it was about I couldn't remember...
Published on 26 May 2009 by Nautical


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another great novel, 11 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Indelible (Hardcover)
Having read all the previous books in this series i was eagerly awaiting the fourth...and it was well worth it. Slaughter puts so much detail into her characters and story, plus she often refers to incidents in previous books which makes her novels that more believable!And the on going will they or wont they thing happening with Jeffrey and Sara just adds to the story!!!
Cant wait for Faithless the fifth book in the series to come out..... October 2005 feels a long time away!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic but essential reading for Grant County fans..., 7 Sep 2004
This review is from: Indelible (Hardcover)
Some people will find this book a disappointment after the first three novels in Karin Slaughter's Grant County series but it is essential reading if you have enjoyed the books so far. The writing in 'Blindsighted' and 'Kisscut' is so visceral and the events so shocking that even 'A Faint Cold Fear' seemed calmer in comparison and 'Indelible' seems more reserved still but what makes this installment so fascinating is the development of the relationship between Jeffrey & Sara. Sometimes one might wonder why someone so smart, funny and gorgeous would go for the equally attractive but adulterous and pig-headed Tolliver and 'Indelible' searches back in time to when they first started dating and the grim events surrounding their trip to Jeffrey's hometown.
I found the story a little weaker than the first three and certainly not as disturbing but there are few characters out there as believable and human as Dr Sara Linton (oh how I long for the days when Kay Scarpetta seemed so!) and delving into her past makes 'Indelible' a must for fans and new readers alike- if you like this you'll love the first three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good but not unforgettable read, 26 May 2009
In this book karen Slaughter carries two plot lines, the current crime and the backround to the main characters and how they met. I agree with a previous reviewer that sometimes attention to detail is lacking but overall it is a well crafted story. I found it an interesting read and hard to put down, but a few days later when asked what it was about I couldn't remember hence 3 stars instead of 4. A great choice for a holiday or long plane journey and I will certainly read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different but good, 22 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Karin Slaughter takes a slightly different approach from her previous Grant County novels, but it works. It is really interesting to delve into the history of Sara and Jeffrey and it left me wanting to know where they will go next, very much looking forward to Faithless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 25 Oct 2004
By 
Mrs L G (Hampshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Indelible (Hardcover)
I was sorry to come to the end of this book! A great author - very graphic (maybe sometimes too graphic, but then don't we like the "shock factor?"
Can't wait for her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indelible, Karin Slaughter, 9 July 2005
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Slaughter's first two books were eminently adequate; good, undemanding thrillers, yet not exactly peak of the art. Blindsighted was slightly slapdash, Kisscut was a little raw, and both had a tendency to rely too much on graphic gore, on an unnecessary exploitation of dead characters through their blood. It tried to pass for compassion but, as I say, it was just exploitation. Her most recent two have had a much better balance between plot and detail, and the characters are rightly taking centre stage. Thus, they've been superior, in terms of writing quality as well. There are still problems to be ironed out: to be honest, there's still too much graphic detail, and Slaughter doesn't know how to use it properly. In her hands, it's exploitive and you feel vaguely embarrassed on the corpse's behalf, and rather dirty yourself. Put very simply, it is never, ever necessary to know that fragments of a shooting-victim's ear are stuck to the bedside cabinet. Never.
For fans of the series, of Slaughter's three main characters, Indelible is a must. It's a great thriller, and there are plenty of surprises in store which will have all the more effect if you've already read the first three books. Slaughter crafts this double-novel very well indeed, and the dual stories (one in the present, one in the past which concerns Jeffery and Sara's trip back to Jeffery's home town) work so very well that they amply display the huge steps Slaughter's plotting ability has taken. Weaving two plots together is not easy, but Slaughter almost makes it look it.
Of course, Indelible could be better (this is true of almost every novel save a VERY rare few), but it's heartening to see such a talent developing in Slaughter. She could have handled the hostage situations a bit better, made it more suspenseful, because once or twice it threatens to get a little messy, but that's balanced by her remarkably ability (one of her prime assets) at being able to depict life in a small town, which is superb. Indelible is highly recommended, and comes with a big fat B+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Sep 2007
By 
Ms. R. Light "Mad about books" (Solihull, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book, it switches from present to the past making it impossible to put this book down as you are so eager to find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller for those with patience, 4 Jan 2007
A thoroughly enjoyable read although Slaughter lost me a little half way through. I toyed between three and four stars but eventually settled for the latter because the book regripped me again towards the end. A good plot, believable characters and plenty of 'thinking' to do at the end of many many chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thriller a real page turner!, 2 Oct 2004
By 
Claire, Lulu "Lulu" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Indelible (Hardcover)
I have just read another review that describes this book as "not as good as the others" I would strongly disagree.
Calmer is not a word i would use for this book.
If anything i would say there are more twists in this book as it delves deeper into the history of grant county's love birds' and how they got together initially.
This book is recommended to all who have read the previous four books, it is just as good as the others!
This book is an excellent page turner with thrills from start to finish!
A must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph, 15 Feb 2005
By 
Jane O'Rourke (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Indelible (Hardcover)
Karin Slaughter has pulled off another triumph of writing. She presents us with a dual story-line, one where Jeffrey and Sara first start to go out together and encounter the difficulties of each other's past and the other in the present where they are both held hostage. The past narrative is largely peopled with Jeffrey's family and friends and, as Sara meets them, she also has to introduce Jeffrey to her previous violent experience and the life-long consequences it will have for her and the husband she chooses to marry. The common thread running through is that the hostage taker is someone they both encountered in the past.
Perhaps the story in the present suffers slightly in deference to that in the past, but there is plenty of suspense and wndering what will happen next. One previous reviewer said that it is never necessary to know that fragments of a shooting-victim's ear are stuck to the bedside cabinet. Never.
I disagree. Murder is gruesome and shocking. Always. If you are going to read books featuring murder then they should reflect the truth and not present a sanitised version. Slaughter does this admirably and does not compromise. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indelible
Indelible by Karin Slaughter (Hardcover - 23 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews