Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Old Nichol exposed
I first picked up on the Old Nichol when researching family history and getting a map of Shoreditch circa 1890 when the areas was being 'cleared'. Curiously, I bought the two maps before and after this time and saw the horrendous labyrinth of streets that made up the Old Nichol and the tidy Arnold Circus that replaced it and still exists today. Little seemed to be known...
Published on 7 Dec 2008 by S. C. Trump

versus
45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A black day for story-telling
I really wanted to like this book. I really did. This sort of social history is just my cup of tea, but I found myself praying for this book to end before I'd reached half way. I was initially excited at the beginning of each chapter and what it promised: the roles of the local authorities, philanthropists, charities, the police, religion, etc. on slum life, only to be...
Published on 6 April 2009 by SAP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Insight into Victorian poor, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
If, as I was, you are intrigued by work of Charles Booth and his mapping of social classes in Victorian London, or if you have traced ancestory to the poor in Bethnel Green, East London or other large urban areas, this book will give a useful and detailed insight into the life and challenges poor people faced at the time - and the attempts to ease poverty against vested interests in play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the blackest streets, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
This book is terrific. the research was great and it brought the problems right back to when I was young. It is almost a bible for the victorian poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to put down!, 11 Aug 2014
By 
E.S.P. (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
Clearly Sarah is wise beyond many! Her recounts of old London town make you feel as though you are there!
Thank you Sarah for this wonderful book. You are a star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
Very informative & a real eye opener into the sadness of people's pitiful housing in this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
Bought it for a friend. She said it was very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BLACKEST STREETS, 6 Nov 2009
By 
P. J. DOBSON "MAD ABOUT BOOKS" (CHESHIRE G.BRIT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
DEAR TEAM,
THIS BOOK ILLUSTRATES HOW FAR WE HAVE COME IN THE WAY OF IMPROVEMENT OF OUR LIVING CONDITIONS IN THE PAST 120 YEARS. IT IS A VERY ACCURATE AND SYMPATHETIC NARRATIVE .I CAN RELATE TO THE NARRATIVE BECAUSE MY FAMILY ARE FROM THE SAME AREA OF LONDON.FOR ANY PERSON THAT IS INTERESTED IN SOCIAL HISTORY IT IS A MUST READ.
REGARDS PETE DOBSON
'' THE BLACKEST STREETS'' BY SARAH WISE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
fantastic book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum (Paperback)
good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews