Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
This book is a must read for all Deepak Chopra fans. Firstly, it helps the reader gain a deep understanding of the mechanics of synchronicity in every day life. Secondly, it contains guidelines for the reader of how to gain insight into his/her deepest desires and through that insight, teaches the reader how to work along with synchronicities and coincidences in order to...
Published on 12 July 2005 by Annita

versus
92 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Henry T Ford Manifesting
In the past few months I have read a number of books about the concept of manifesting. It is perhaps not that surprising that given the spiritual dimension there is to this subject that as with religions there are a number of differing views on the path to successfully manifesting the life you want. In essence all such authors are really trying to drive at the same idea...
Published on 9 Nov 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Henry T Ford Manifesting, 9 Nov 2004
By A Customer
In the past few months I have read a number of books about the concept of manifesting. It is perhaps not that surprising that given the spiritual dimension there is to this subject that as with religions there are a number of differing views on the path to successfully manifesting the life you want. In essence all such authors are really trying to drive at the same idea that in life you can achieve and draw to you those things you want by having the correct interaction with the world at large. However, if you are considering trying to manifest you destiny using this book you need to rethink the concept that you can direct specifically what you want.
I feel this book has the Henry T Ford approach to manifesting in that you can have any destiny you want so long as it is what has already been planned for you. I felt somewhat disillusioned reading this book as the impression I got was that the author's objectives were to get you to lose the desire for anything and thereby you won't feel so bad when you have nothing. Rather than saying set yourself a dream and a target of something you want to achieve he implied that you should simply seek to learn to live with your life as it was. To me and anyone who really wants to manifest their goals I found this to be inconsistent with the belief that you really can build the destiny you design.
On a more general note this book is also quite heavy reading in parts and you can find yourself reading the same part several times to get to the essence of what is being said. There are also some strong religious overtones in the book and sense of inflexibility about the meditations. Rather than freeing the reader to develop their relationship with the divine there is a sense of constricting you to a rigid set of certain mantras on certain etc. Personally this didn't work for me even though I really approached it with an open mind and a desire to learn and develop from it.
In my opinion of the books I have read so far by far the most accessible and inspiring one would be Wayne Dyer's Power of Intention. If you are looking for a good starting point for exploring the concept of manifesting you could do worse than to read that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In the usual Chopra style, but rather insubstantial, 5 Nov 2004
I was initially put off by this book because of the layout - it uses a larger than average font, and the margins are extremely wide. So what appears to be a book packed with information is really just a marketing ploy.
It is written in the usual Chopra style, using experiences from his medical background and spiritual beliefs to present his ideas. He is saying that every event is significant, and that we shouldn't ignore anything that appears to be just a coincidence. We draw situations and events to us if they have some significance for us, so coincidences should be explored to gain maximum advantage.
He explains how we are all connected and how our actions and even our thoughts affect everyone on some level. Almost a quarter of the book is dedicated to explicit meditations and exercises based on the premise of this connectedness. These use Sutra phrases for specific purposes.
I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't much new in this book, and it seemed to me that a lot of it was just restating what the author had covered in previous books. However, if you're looking for step by step guidance on meditations and have the time to follow them, you might like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 12 July 2005
By 
This book is a must read for all Deepak Chopra fans. Firstly, it helps the reader gain a deep understanding of the mechanics of synchronicity in every day life. Secondly, it contains guidelines for the reader of how to gain insight into his/her deepest desires and through that insight, teaches the reader how to work along with synchronicities and coincidences in order to make the most out of their occurence. Having realised why things happen in a certain sequence, the reader learns how to see the greater meaning hidden behind a chain of events and, hence learns to respond to exterior events in the most fruitful way possible. Great help for periods of stress and uncertainty. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex concepts made simple, 16 April 2008
This review is from: Synchrodestiny: Harnessing the Infinite Power of Coincidence to Create Miracles (Paperback)
For someone who loves reading books on metaphysical and spiritual topics, I have hardly read any of Deepak Chopra's work - apart from one of his fiction books, SynchroDestiny is the first of his books that I've delved into! Luckily, it was a good introduction to Deepak and his style of writing, so I'll definitely be investing in some more of his books soon :).

This particular book focuses on the phenomenon of synchronicities - those apparent coincidences that illustrate the larger forces at work in our lives. As the book's blurb states, "...there is no such thing as a meaningless coincidence."

The first part of SynchroDestiny focuses on the science that lies behind synchronicities and the Law Of Attraction. If you're looking for a simple, clear explanation of some of the principles of quantum physics and nonlocal intelligence (the field), this is it. Deepak is definitely very skilled in explaining complex concepts in a very user-friendly manner! This section of the book also goes deeply into the concepts of coincidence and intention.

The second part of the book is devoted to the practical exploration of the concepts. These exercises are centred around the process of meditation, using mantras to focus the mind. I found these exercises interesting and useful, although I altered the process of meditation described to fit with my own style of meditating. Deepak's methods may work for him and for others, but I found them to disruptive to my own rhythm, and I therefore had much more success when I integrated his techniques with my own. Don't be afraid to experiment a bit to find what works for you - there is no "one size fits all" size of meditating!

Throughout the book, Deepak makes reference to the ancient Eastern wisdom of Vedanta, which describes much of what quantum physics is only now discovering regarding how the universe functions. In this respect, it is also incredibly interesting to read SynchroDestiny's Appendix A, in which Deepak outlines the principles of the Hermetic tradition, which has its origins in ancient Greece, Rome and Egypt, to illustrate how these principles match those of the Vedanta. Reading these ancient teachings demonstrates clearly that the Law Of Attraction is not new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deepak - a bridge builder, 11 Nov 2009
By 
Marina Muller "Nelli" (Kefalonia, Griechenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Synchrodestiny: Harnessing the Infinite Power of Coincidence to Create Miracles (Paperback)
I was wondering when it will happen; when finally somebody - in an understandable way - would span the bridge between all the new scientific knowledge that humankind gained during the past years and decades in the field of quantum-physics, and the spiritual aspects of our lives with all its unanswered questions. Here it is! I don't know if Deepak Chopra was the first to unite these two disciplines, which for so long were seen as opposing each other. On the one side there were hard facts and seemingly provable "science", on the other side "New Age", so-called "unproven" ideas of some few, alternatively thinking people.
We had to learn that in "hard science" not all is what it seems, and on the other hand that as subjective experiences branded spiritual phenomena can indeed be brought into scientific context and therefore can be confirmed to be real. Even the idea what reality is has to be re-defined.
If Deepak Chopra should not be the first to build that bridge, he is certainly the most brilliant - at least known to me. This book is written in a way that everybody can not only understand the sometimes tricky physical facts, but he also enables the reader to follow the logic of his leap over to the other side, the searching for the soul; and one ends up full of awe and with a whole new understanding of how the universe works.
Thanks again, Deepak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miracles happen., 10 Jun 2013
By 
N. Ramayead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Synchrodestiny: Harnessing the Infinite Power of Coincidence to Create Miracles (Paperback)
Anyone who believes there is more to the universe than is commonly taught in Science, should read this book. It is difficult to get to grips with,but once you overcome the difficulty it opens an entire new world of wonder to the genuine and humble seeker of greater understanding. The pressures of modern living cause us to spread ourselves thinly across all the areas of our lives. We are so caught up in the mundane that the wonder of life fails to impress us and sometimes escapes us altogether. Dr Chopra points the way for us to regain touch with our wondrous self and to make us whole again. He has saved my sanity. I cannot thank him enough
for opening my eyes and mind and help me make sense of the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deepak Chopra, 8 July 2013
By 
jane churcher (Gosport, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Synchrodestiny: Harnessing the Infinite Power of Coincidence to Create Miracles (Paperback)
This was an amazing read; it highlighted just how 'blind' one can be to the synchrodestiny wtihin on'es life; this book is all one expects from Deepak Chopra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insights...!, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommended reading....inspirational.This book will change your old ways of thinking and relax yourself into the present moment and live for that very moment and let 'your story' unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new bible, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Synchrodestiny: Harnessing the Infinite Power of Coincidence to Create Miracles (Paperback)
Synchrodestiny is a gift of a book because it tells you how to get loads of what you want in life. It does so specifically, offering you a daily method. How life works is explained. How life works, isn't that what we all wanted to know? I certainly did and so this book has become my new bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An psychological comfort blanket, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: Synchrodestiny: Harnessing the Infinite Power of Coincidence to Create Miracles (Paperback)
i read this book on the recommendation of a friend with an open mind. it turned out to be a very poor book on a number of levels. 1) chopra's language and concepts twist and turn, defying close examination or definition - never providing any clear evidence for what he's proposing. 2) the science aspect of the book is clearly wrong to anyone with high school level understanding of physics or biology. 3) his ideas are plagiarised from freud's protege, carl jung. 4) chopra's ideas (from jung) promote apophenia under the title of syncronicity - jung went through a period of mental illness during which he thought he was a prophet with "special insight." jung referred to his "creative illness" (between 1913-1917) as a voluntary confrontation with the unconscious. apophenia is a form of mental illness where the patient perceives spontaneous perception of connections and meaningfulness of unrelated phenomena. the term was coined by k. conrad in 1958. 5) these ideas and concepts are easily explained by anyone with a psychology a-level as apophenia and confirmation bias. i was very disappointed in the book and it seemed very empty of fresh ideas. it might work as a self-help book for those who need the comfort of an illusion of order in the vast indifference of the universe, but for everyone else it's well trodden and disproved ground by a guy who wants to sell sugar-coated ideas. for a really simply explanation of how our mind can guide to these kind of conclusions suggested reading is the last third of the following book: Tricks of the Mind
or for the scietific reality of quantum theory read: Quantum Gods: Creation, Chaos and the Search for Cosmic Consciousness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Synchrodestiny: Harnessing the Infinite Power of Coincidence to Create Miracles
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews