Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you're always learning
Not quite sure how, but I have found that I'm reading book after book on the 2nd WW. Some are rather too detailed but 'Codenamed Tricycle' is one of those that sails along at a significant pace with only relevant information necessary to tell the true story. A damned good book which offers a few surprises about the 'backroom war' which we were never made aware of. A good...
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by Mr. K. C. Johns

versus
35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Legend Lives
I have already reviewed Popov's own memoir, Spy Counter Spy. This book leans, inevitably, heavily on that work, while also drawing on other sources, both open and once-secret, now "declassified".

The writing keeps the interest, for the most part and tells the tale of Dusko Popov, Serbian playboy and WW2 double agent, who kept the Abwehr guessing as he funnelled...
Published on 18 Jan 2008 by Ian Millard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Legend Lives, 18 Jan 2008
By 
Ian Millard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have already reviewed Popov's own memoir, Spy Counter Spy. This book leans, inevitably, heavily on that work, while also drawing on other sources, both open and once-secret, now "declassified".

The writing keeps the interest, for the most part and tells the tale of Dusko Popov, Serbian playboy and WW2 double agent, who kept the Abwehr guessing as he funnelled rubbish and disinformation from British intelligence (rather, counter-intelligence) while picking up what information he might from the German side. The Abwehr, in my opinion, very likely knew or strongly suspected that he was working for the British, but who knows what that master of intrigue, Admiral Canaris, might have been up to in his most secret and labyrinthine plottings? Wheels within wheels etc...

The book relates (as does Spy Counter Spy) how Popov, in the immediate aftermath of war, tried to find his Abwehr friend (and, in the end, British agent) Johnny Jebsen, whom he had known since university at Heidelberg, only to have to track down Jebsen's Gestapo killer. Unable to kill him in cold blood, he beats him up in a wood. Popov's horror at the massive devastation in Germany caused by British and American bombing (and far far worse than the London "Blitz" and other attacks on the UK) is also chronicled.

This book goes beyond Spy Counter Spy (published in the early 1970's) and tells a little more about Popov's postwar business wheeling and dealing and his two wives (the first, an 18 year old, when he was about 50...). He died in the Balearic Isles not so long after his memoirs appeared; he was survived by his still young and beautiful Swedish second wife.

This book is worth reading, especially by those with an interest in the Abwehr or WW2 espionage generally. The typeface is far too small but that is its main, perhaps only fault. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you're always learning, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Tricycle - The True Story of the Second World War's Most Extraordinary Double Agent (Dusko Popov) (Paperback)
Not quite sure how, but I have found that I'm reading book after book on the 2nd WW. Some are rather too detailed but 'Codenamed Tricycle' is one of those that sails along at a significant pace with only relevant information necessary to tell the true story. A damned good book which offers a few surprises about the 'backroom war' which we were never made aware of. A good read for those interested in subtefuge/war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stranger than fiction, 2 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Tricycle - The True Story of the Second World War's Most Extraordinary Double Agent (Dusko Popov) (Paperback)
Who would trust a Balkan playboy? Well, not J. Edgar Hoover for a start! Read the book to find out what could have been avoided if he had.
This is really the inspiration for James Bond, a man who lived a sybaritic life of luxury with casinos, beautiful women and danger at every turn. Even his name "Dusko Popov" is as good as a Flemming creation. In war time Europe he spent money like it was going out of fashion, but risked his life as a double agent, even going back to his German handlers after the FBI had bungled his cover. As with all double and triple agents of WWII, it is hard to sift legend from fact, as deception at every level was intrinsic to the game. Popov's story is amazing even if only half of it is true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An almost unbelievable story that is true, 16 Sep 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Tricycle - The True Story of the Second World War's Most Extraordinary Double Agent (Dusko Popov) (Paperback)
According to some, spies are often highly trained individuals who are able to worm their way into situations that most would find impossible and then to obtain information and pass it back to their principals by whatever means are available or possible.

Dusko Popov, known in Britain as 'Tricycle' was not a trained spy but a capable amateur. A lawyer by profession but a ladies' man and playboy by preference, he initially agreed to spy for germany against Britain but he immediately then offered his services to briotain to spy against Germany; he was a double agent. He obtained factual information about German troop movements, shipping and their other activities and passed it forward while at the same time feeding to Germany a similar amount of carefully manipulated information which was a mixture of truths, out-of-date or redundant data, lies and nonsense all of which was supplied by Allied military to cause minimal damage to the Cause. As a spy, he was successful and higly-rated by his British employers.

Germany never doubted his allegiance. Had they, he would have been quickly eliminated.

The story has been told before and by other authors but with considerable enforced brevity due to an official reluctance for many years post-War to release certain documents or facts. Even now, as with other similar stories, it is impossible to know whether all facts have been or will ever be fully released to the public. This book adds much to that which was previously told probably in the late 1950s or 1960s and represents the closest we shall ever be to the whole story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable - but it's true, 31 May 2013
By 
A. Rodriguez-Veglio (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Tricycle - The True Story of the Second World War's Most Extraordinary Double Agent (Dusko Popov) (Paperback)
If this were a work of fiction one would discount it as being too far fetched. But one constantly has to remind oneself as one reads with amazement that every word is true. What a cool headed and courageous man he was. Only now do I know just how much we owe to "Tricycle" and the other Double Cross agents who risked their lives, not once, but over and over again, daring to travel into Germany and meet Nazi warlords too. It's amazing too to realise how great a part the British wit and sense of humour played in ultimately defeating a zealous and humourless enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dam good read!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After initially struggling to find a copy of spy/counter spy I settled on this book, and I have to say I wasn't disappointed.

Certainly would recommend this book purely out of admiration for the `work of tricycle` who can only be associated as perhaps the inspiration for Ian Fleming's James bond.

The work of the British intelligence during the war is intriguing and clever to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a brave man, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Codename Tricycle - The True Story of the Second World War's Most Extraordinary Double Agent (Dusko Popov) (Paperback)
Amazing -. Some of the things he did, answer other GWII espionage questions that have so far gone unanswered. If he had been a Brit or a Frog they would have made a film about his exploits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great yarn, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Tricycle - The True Story of the Second World War's Most Extraordinary Double Agent (Dusko Popov) (Paperback)
nicely written - good style and suspense maintained. we will never know the truth but this seems very rationable - now where is my dinner jacket and cigarette holder?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definite must read, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Tricycle - The True Story of the Second World War's Most Extraordinary Double Agent (Dusko Popov) (Paperback)
Read it at one sitting. Better than a spy thriller as it was real life! Would love to read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dusko Popov; suave elegant womaniser, playboy and triple agent., 6 May 2013
This review is from: Codename Tricycle - The True Story of the Second World War's Most Extraordinary Double Agent (Dusko Popov) (Paperback)
Dusko Popov; suave elegant womaniser, playboy and triple agent. "Codename Tricycle" tells the story of the real life James Bond, complete with glamorous women, exotic sets and an abundance of danger. However Popov is not a character from a spy novel but one of Britain's most extraordinary secret agents, whose story is unbelievably true.

Played out against the backdrop of a Europe darkening under the shadowy clouds of Nazi domination, we follow Popov, an international jet-setter of the 1930/40s, from Yugoslavia across Europe to the United States skillfully playing a cool and calcualted game of deception, that might easily end in disaster.

Popov's unheeded warning about the attack on Pearl Harbour is just one of the tragedies in this book, while his vital contribution to the D Day deception is no doubt a triumph. This book is indeed thought provoking, equally so with the inclusion of the black & white period photograph section, that not only enhance Popov's romantic image, but allows the reader to relate to the key events and personalities.

Tricycle is indeed a remarkable individual. We have a lot to be grateful to him for, as well as his handlers. Let us not forget also his fellow agents, on both sides, who were working towards the common cause.

Russell Miller's Codename Tricycle is essential reading for any armchair historian or collector, or in fact anyone that loves a good thriller. Filled with excitement, suspense and intrigue, the book is thoroughly well researched and beautifully written. I found it gripping and very hard to put down, and was honestly disappointed when I had reached the end. How shall I fill my evenings now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews