Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely recommend this guide !
Excellent advice and an essential for anyone walking the Camino . I walked the Camino last year and this was invaluable.
Published 7 months ago by Rapunzelle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book for routes
Great book for routes. If you can look past all the extra unnecessary waffle he insists on including it is very helpful. Definitely the best guide in English. Some of the information on the hostels is lacking however with contribution over time this should improve
Published 10 days ago by S Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely recommend this guide !, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent advice and an essential for anyone walking the Camino . I walked the Camino last year and this was invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
I'm very pleased with this guide. It has plenty of useful information. It will be a very good companion for this year's pilgrimage. You can count on it to find accomodations and find the best paths to Santiago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly written and a gentle read!, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
Recommended by a friend who walked the whole camino and said that this book was an invaluable guide. I like what I've seen so far - just need to translate all this intent to action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't think it can be bettered?, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent book, it is obviously written by a walker, when I hopefully complete the camino in october, if there are any faults, which I doubt, I'll amend this review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You only need this book when walking the Camino!, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
When I was walking the Camino I had planned my trip with this book and having it with me was the best company ever :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beat those bedbugs with a Brierley book!, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
Actually, I think I made it through safely without encountering the horrid chinches. The author also does a slimmer set of maps, which you might prefer, just on the weight issue. It's not a heavy book and fitted comfortably in my trouser pocket. But do you really need it? The camino is brilliantly, extensively waymarked and albergues are usually signposted as well. Added to that, there's a procession of pilgrims to follow.

I would say yes, you do. It's easy to get glib once one's underway, but the book is full of useful information and encouragement, things which more than make up for the mystical reflections. Maps, guidance on Spanish/English words, options for avoiding the roads, detours (challenging or otherwise) and unless you keep a detailed journal it's very easy to lose track of where exactly you've been, so when people ask you later it'll be, "Um...yeah...that village after the town, in the little hostel, err..." There are spaces to write notes as you go along.

This is the work of an experienced pilgrim and the practical warnings are sage. The copy I received could have used some proofreading. It's only fair to say that a book like this plays just as much of a part in turning the summer months on the camino frances into 'bedlam' as any Hollywood flick, but ask yourself, would your journey have started without it?

A good companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best maps for the Camino, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
This book is excellent when it comes to maps and albergue recommendations. It would have been 5-star if it har contained a few more historical anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful - the most useful - addition to your backpack, 23 Oct 2014
By 
SN "sgn" (YORK, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
I really cannot understand anyone who does not find this a useful book. If you want to walk the Camino, then this book is the best of those that are in English. It is small, and the maps are not scaleable, but it contains all the information that will help you through. The routes (but not the best alternatives - see the French guides for some of those) are clearly described. There is information on the albergues, casas rurales, pensions and hotels. You do not need to carry any other reference. The spirtual musings are not my cup of tea, but then I cannot claim to be a spiritual person. The Camino is for me, simply, a really long walk, and this book is a great help in the planning and the execution of that walk. Brierley's guides are the best in English that I have found. If you want something as good on the web, try the excellent Caminopedia site. the two go well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful to have an updated edition of this guide to ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
Very useful to have an updated edition of this guide to the Camino, it will be indispensable when planning my itinary later this year as it is full of recommended routes, hostels, local information as well as encouraging reflection on the reasons for undertaking a pilgrimage in the first place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great book for routes, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilgrim's Guide To The Camino De Santiago 10Th Edition: St. Jean Pied - Roncesvalles - Santiago (Camino Guides) (Paperback)
Great book for routes. If you can look past all the extra unnecessary waffle he insists on including it is very helpful. Definitely the best guide in English. Some of the information on the hostels is lacking however with contribution over time this should improve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews