Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearest Moon calendar available
I have used this book for several years, after being a former reader of its rival by Maria Thun. I find this book the best and clearest explanation of biodynamic planting by the moon, the different changes in the moon during each month (phases, height in the sky, and proximity to the earth), and the effects of the moon's progression through the different astronomical...
Published 19 months ago by Ms. J. B. Lauruol

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more lunatic
didn't like this book as it was too complicated to follow, I bought an alternative publication subsequently which is easier to use.
Published 19 months ago by lazygardener


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearest Moon calendar available, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Ms. J. B. Lauruol (Lancaster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
I have used this book for several years, after being a former reader of its rival by Maria Thun. I find this book the best and clearest explanation of biodynamic planting by the moon, the different changes in the moon during each month (phases, height in the sky, and proximity to the earth), and the effects of the moon's progression through the different astronomical signs. The explanations are clear enough that they can be shared with sceptics of 'muck and magic'. I use the book daily during the gardening year, and have bought many copies to give as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definatley worth buying, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
Excellent book for people who want to work with nature on many aspects of their life. I got it because I want to do Biodynamic gardening. This book tells you other things like when to cut your hair if grows fast to slow down the rate of growth, or when to cut it if it grows slow to speed up the process. This is just one example there are many other examples for enhancing the necessaties of life. For a small book it covers a lot of subjects, IE, stars and constallations etc. While it doesn't go in to too much detail about the things it talks about, it does leave plenty of scope for further research. I have purchased this book for several years now and wil continue to do so. Definately worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete work on the subject, 11 Dec 2012
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
This lunar calendar treats all aspects of life, although the major focus is on gardening. I like that it combines thorough information in the 1st part and simple use in the 2nd part.
We have been gardening with the moon with this book for several years now and had excellent results. We also tried the comparative test for sowing peas at different lunar moments and were very surprised by the outcome which proved the influence of the moon. The pods sown at the wrong moment often contained only a couple of peas or were wrinkled.
My wife appreciates particularly the charts for the best moments to cut hair while I rather check out the ones to cut wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay tuned, 16 Feb 2013
By 
beaded_girl (west midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
I found this book pretty easy to follow, even when I was feeling ill! I'd heard of biodynamics and always thought about finding out more. I finally took the plunge and bought this book. In a few days I've already noticed that using the calendar works (in particular with regards to turning my compost pile - it worked when the book said it would work, regardless of outside temperature, and vice versa). I've started to use it for planning out what to grow and when, so I can't comment on its effectiveness in that area (yet). I'm using it to plan an organic allotment and garden.
The book does not just apply to gardening, but also covers the best time to cut hair/nails, looking after animals, affect of lunar calendar on the digestive system.
If the moon can affect the tides (and the earth is more water than land) how can it not affect anything else?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy to follow and works!, 31 Jan 2013
By 
C. Barnham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
Crazy idea but works, if In doubt give it a go I am sure you will be amazed. I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
Lots of useful information about the moon cycles. A little complicated initially to understand the moon cycles but clearly explained. Useful tips on the right time for gardening and planting various crops. Also unexpected advice on other aspects of living ie. the best time to have your haircut. Highly recommended as an initial guide to living in harmony with the moon and making use of the moons cycles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
I used to buy this book every year when I lived in Brittany and was delighted to find that it was now available in English. It is packed with facts, both astrological, horticultural and much more (compost, homemade fertilizers, planting calendar, companion planting, on and on. . .). You can follow it as fastidiously as you feel appropriate and it certainly helps to keep me on my toes as regards getting things in on time! An awful lot depends on the weather of course, but an experiment was done recently with planting potatoes (Gardeners Question Time on Radio 4, 12th May I think) and the ones planted on a root date came up before those which were planted before them on a less 'favourable' date. An interesting book for all gardeners whether or not they believe in astrology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
This book is really in depth and covers a lot . It will be interesting to find out how the plants growth is after working with this info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun even if you aren't a believer, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
Worth buying just as a reminder of when and what to sew

We have had great fun running comparative experiments to test the hypotheses that planting by the moon works. It has been a great way to teach my children about scientific method, designing of experiments and biology

and, yeah it does actually seem to work- better, stronger plants and better crops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome present, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Tune With The Moon 2013: The Complete Day-by-Day Planner for Growing and Living in 2013 (Paperback)
I bought this for my partner who seems happy with it. She says it is very informative. A small wallplanner would have made it even more useful, for quick reference in the shed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews