Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The marvelous One Pair Of Feet
I first read this book maybe 50 years ago, over the years I have read and re read it, and still love it, Monica Dickens had a wonderful way of of describing characters and events, some of which still make me laugh out loud. It is a social history of what it was like to train as a nurse in the 1940's, archaic in today's world of modern nursing. I saw on Amazon last...
Published 7 months ago by sue winter

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book did not hold my attention.
Sorry I couldn't get lost in this book as I like to do, found it a bit heavy going I'm afraid.
Published 6 months ago by Bird lover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The marvelous One Pair Of Feet, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this book maybe 50 years ago, over the years I have read and re read it, and still love it, Monica Dickens had a wonderful way of of describing characters and events, some of which still make me laugh out loud. It is a social history of what it was like to train as a nurse in the 1940's, archaic in today's world of modern nursing. I saw on Amazon last July it was due to be published for use on a Kindle in December and could hardly wait to have it, best Christmas present I could give to myself. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monica Dickens - an entertaining storyteller who lived her books, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read this many, many times in paperback years ago and now it's great to have it on kindle. This and 'One pair of hands' are really funny and describe life in WW2 England as Monica Dickens crosses class boundaries to try life in service as a nurse, or as a servant. Some rather un-pc vocabulary, not surprisingly, but some great characters and situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an accurate description of modern history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love all of monica dickens books about her time in ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all of monica dickens books about her time in different jobs. She conjures up life as it was in the 1930's and her characters come to life very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Read!, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just excellent! It is so good to find a real-life story, written with such skill and such great observations of people, places and events. I am methodically going through all the material you have on offer by her ( MD). Many thanks for a superb read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Pair of Feet: The Entertaining Memoirs of a Young Nurse During World War II: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
Monica Dickens inherited her great great grandfather's eye for observation. This is a hilarious read and wonderful to see it in print again. 'One pair of hands' about her time as a Cook General just before WWII is equally good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dont judge a book by its cover, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dont let the picture on the cover put you off!I loved Monica Dickens humour when I first read this when I was a teenager- and loved it even more this time, a historical account of the era- (and you have to remind yourself of this when reading some of the (now) non P.C. remarks at times) I am a nurse and found it fascinating that although written 60 years ago - many things have not changed - including the caracters and patients! An entertaining and educational read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Pair of Feet: The Entertaining Memoirs of a Young Nurse During World War II: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
What a cracking book by Monica Dickens, easy to read, funny and informative, get them all excellent for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Pair of Feet: The Entertaining Memoirs of a Young Nurse During World War II: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
A light and very entertaining read . Very true to hospital life at the time . It is so well written and easy to read with lots of laughs . The sort of book you will want to read more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book did not hold my attention., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry I couldn't get lost in this book as I like to do, found it a bit heavy going I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews