Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could be beautifully staged
This fluffy 1930's vintage tale of gentry and village life in a mythical England before WWII is a delightful and witty enterprise with an ending that almost demands a stage production. Mrs. Thirkell's verbal expertise is dazzling and her almost-snide observations on the absurdities of many of her characters leave the reader amused. Mrs. Thirkell is a social historian who...
Published 19 months ago by Carol C. Stone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Old-fashioned
Published 7 days ago by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could be beautifully staged, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Carol C. Stone (Berkeley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
This fluffy 1930's vintage tale of gentry and village life in a mythical England before WWII is a delightful and witty enterprise with an ending that almost demands a stage production. Mrs. Thirkell's verbal expertise is dazzling and her almost-snide observations on the absurdities of many of her characters leave the reader amused. Mrs. Thirkell is a social historian who exhibits many of the social activities and structures of the period, but also gently mocks those same structures and activities. The sly satire is often missed under the fluff of the tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
Old-fashioned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the lost world of Angela Thirkell, it's so amusing.
Some readers find the books very snobbish but I've enjoyed the irony just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comfort reading, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Joan Cecil (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not at all snobbish, just a light, amusing, well written book about the lost world of the 30's in upper middle class England - long gone and impossible to return. Never meant to be taken seriously, just gentle entertainment. If you need a book to snuggle up with on a wet cold day, this is a pleasure. You wont fall in love with any of the characters, but you wont hate them, either. Like a bowl of creamy porridge, or a risotto (for the more sophisticated.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Period Piece, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Entertaining and witty novel - Angela Thirkell is a new discovery for me and her distinctive and modern voice is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angela Thirkell's Wild Srawberries, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. A. C. Hussey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great fun for Angela Thirkell fans.Wry look at prewar England & the upper classes and their relationship with their servants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light, enjoyable, forgettable, 2 Feb 2013
By 
C. Nicholls (Exmoor, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this at a friends' recommendation while I was snowed in and the house was unhealthily cold. WS was the perfect tonic for that situation and of course with the kindle (Fire HD, recently purchased) I could read it under the covers. 'Wild Strawberries' is dated froth but enjoyable; I don't think I'll bother with any other Thirkell's, however ... unless I'm snowed up again. The Virago cover illustration and design is enchanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vicars and servants, 10 Feb 2014
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
Angela Thirkell is a frustrating novelist. Some of her books are as light as air, others are dated and heavy. This is a soufflé that hasn't risen. It's very stilted. There are too many characters and I didn't care who struck the gong for dinner or how late they were for church. Some of the xenophobic humour is off-putting. Overall, a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem!, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
Angela Thirkell writes delicious period piece books of everyday life amongst the upper middle class that are just a joy to read - quite tongue in cheek and very clever but very comforting if you need a happy book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review of Wild Strawberries by Angela Thirkell, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
I had heard a lot about Angela Thirkell from my wife who had read some of her books back in the 1950s. We had no idea she was still in print till " Three Houses " was broadcast recently on Radio 4.
The book is an excellent satire on Upper Middle Class society in the 1930s. It reminds me a little of Jane Austen's characterisations. I can thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC)
Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) by Angela Thirkell (Paperback - 22 Nov 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews