Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic tour through Tracey's life (and mine).....
If this book has a target demographic, them I'm it. Two years younger than Tracey I've loved her work whether solo or as half of EBTG throughout my adult life - starting with Eden, retrospectively picking up on A Distant Shore, and then forwards all the way through to last year's Christmas album.

I feared I may be disappointed by the book, but on the contrary...
Published 24 months ago by Bob Stanley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Says what happened not much more
An interesting enough read but not a great deal of depth to it. We pretty much know about the records but never had any insight into the relationship between Ben and Tracey. In his book he alludes to his depression, them almost splitting up - their relationship is only ever mentioned in passing here.

Too much "then we did this album" stuff...
Published 10 months ago by ourman


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't want to be famous., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written insight into the music industry from the point of view of an initially reluctant star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baby, the (five) stars shine bright., 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedsit Disco Queen: How I grew up and tried to be a pop star (Hardcover)
A fun, insightful and moving autobiography from a thoughtful and intelligent writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and funny, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
This review is from: Bedsit Disco Queen: How I grew up and tried to be a pop star (Hardcover)
Musician's memoirs fall into a variety of categories, but this one is unique in my experience. Tracey Thorn talks very openly about her experiences in music, how various major events occurred and some of the unexpected pitfalls of being a success. It's endearing that she can still relate to how incredible music success must be to so many people, and seems to retain some of the sense of wide eyed enthusiasm that drove her on as a teenager.

This is a very readable book and she has a warm way of writing. It's an infectious read and one I wholeheartedly recommend.

I'm doing my bit for funny writing at the moment, so check out the hilarious Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys. A spur of the moment buy & the funniest thing I've read in a long time. Very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TOO LIGHTWEIGHT, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Boswell (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bedsit Disco Queen: How I grew up and tried to be a pop star (Hardcover)
I sat and read this book almost at one sitting. Its very easy to get into and enjoyable. But at the end of it I didnt really feel that I'd got much out of it. For me Tracey came across as a bit smug. She touched upon several important events in her (and Bens) life but never fully explained them. I also found the inclusion of song lyrics after most chapters a distraction, proving that musical lyrics shouldnt be printed. A lot of them were banal. As for ending the book in 2007 and then using a weak excuse for doing so....mmm.
EBTG are one of the most underated groups ever and Tracey's last couple of albums have been sublime but in the end this isnt the book I'd hoped it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoy EBTG, then read this!, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read, wonderful prose. A delightful insight to EBTG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastical and ordinary, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved this

his book it is beautifully written and a warm and unsentimental journey that I could really relate to

despite bizarrely about being a pop star.

E
I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not particularly deep and meaningful but a well written account of a sort of popstar's life. It's a very light read but I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Language of Life, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a great insight into the life and times of Tracy Thorn. I`m a big EBTG fan and found the book hugely interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedsit Disco Queen: How I grew up and tried to be a pop star (Hardcover)
A great read - brought back memories of the 80s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
By 
M. J. Gray (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bedsit Disco Queen: How I grew up and tried to be a pop star (Hardcover)
Very funny insight into the 80's music scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bedsit Disco Queen: How I grew up and tried to be a pop star
Bedsit Disco Queen: How I grew up and tried to be a pop star by Tracey Thorn (Hardcover - 7 Feb. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews