Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising masterpiece
My initial experience with Damage was through the Louis Malle film starring Juliette Binoche and Jeremy Irons. It is a haunting piece, beautifully shot and wonderfully acted. Good though the movie is, however, it is as nought compared to the book.

Hart's prose is sublime - magisterial, yet at the same time, economical. The pace and plot grip like a morbid...
Published on 7 Jun 2007 by johnny ironjacket

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review of Damage
This is a well structured, short novel. It is made clear from the beginning that it cannot end happily and suspense is well sustained through the early chapters as to how the tragedy is to come about. The characters do not elicit sympathy and some are two-dimensional at best. I found the whole story and the manner of its narrative melodramatic. I wondered whether a writer...
Published 23 months ago by Imogen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising masterpiece, 7 Jun 2007
By 
johnny ironjacket (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Damage (Paperback)
My initial experience with Damage was through the Louis Malle film starring Juliette Binoche and Jeremy Irons. It is a haunting piece, beautifully shot and wonderfully acted. Good though the movie is, however, it is as nought compared to the book.

Hart's prose is sublime - magisterial, yet at the same time, economical. The pace and plot grip like a morbid fever. And the first chapter is up there with that of Ian McEwan's Enduring Love as a contender for best-ever opener.

In short, read Damage and it's goosebumps all the way down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful haunting story, 12 Mar 2013
I bought this book as its been selected for this years world book night and knew many readers must have rated it.
I loved this book. It is a fairly short story and it is a dark tale of obsessional love and it's repercussions. The writing style is beautiful and it reads very easily. It left
me with feeling I had read the inner thoughts of someone and it was very moving. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review of Damage, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well structured, short novel. It is made clear from the beginning that it cannot end happily and suspense is well sustained through the early chapters as to how the tragedy is to come about. The characters do not elicit sympathy and some are two-dimensional at best. I found the whole story and the manner of its narrative melodramatic. I wondered whether a writer from a less auspicious stratum of society would have received such acclaim for this work. Its account of forbidden love is reminiscent of Phaedra but does not entirely convince the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Damaged people are dangerous. They know they can survive", 13 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage (Paperback)
A shocking novel about passion and betrayal, about a British politician who, in the prime of life and seems to have everything causes his own downfall through an inappropriate relationship. A relationship that many would consider taboo. The narrative is told in the first by medical doctor, former politician (MP) Dr Stephen Fleming. I saw the film version nearly 20 plus years ago now in small art house theatre in Chicago IL. The movie still haunts me, as no doubt will the heartbreak of the narrative in the written form. As I read the book I found myself certainly at the start, increasingly uncomfortable as I read on. That was the power the narrative that the author produced – a truly magnificent piece of writing. The title for review comes from the novel, and seems the most quoted whenever the book is discussed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petrifying, 9 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Damage (Paperback)
This book is genuinely frightening. I was a great admirer of the film, but reading the book I found not only did both carry the same overwhelming atmosphere of doom, but also that the book is ten times more disturbing.
Hart's prose is absolutely beautiful.
What is so very frightening about Damage is that not only does the tragedy seem to be encroaching from the start, but also it presents to us a situation we ourselves would be utterly powerless to save ourselves from if fate conspired in this way. Fall in love with a damaged survivor and you might as well commit suicide now is the point Hart is making. Its a dangerous book, and quite possibly deceitful, but it can create the same obsession in those spellbound by it that Stephen suffers for Anna.
I have never read a more powerful, beautiful and unsettling book. It made my palms sweat and my chest pound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you "enjoyed" Lolita/Catcher in the Rye, you'll like this, 20 Sep 2008
This review is from: Damage (Paperback)
I agree with the other reviewers that this book will remain with you for a long time. The film is good but the book is so dark and grips you. Like Lolita/Catcher in the Rye, it is intense and you have a sense of foreboding throughout. I tried a few online book stores to buy this book and Amazon was the only one that had it so I would recommend you get it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He didn't .. did he ... ???, 5 Jun 2013
This review is from: Damage (Paperback)
Josephine Hart's poetic background play's to it's strengths in this lovingly crafted & almost lyrically written story ... although a much over-used subject, the way this story of forbidden fruit unfold's is almost magical mainly due to the fact that you don't know which era you are in... Nor does it matter is probably the point, as this sad turn of event's dominoes toward's the inevitable.
An enjoyable little read that I devoured overnight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage (Paperback)
Saw this book recommended by a Cambridge University lecturer and bought a secondhand copy. Like her I found it gripping and read it in one session. It's not a long book but it is beautifully constructed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didnt like it much but admired the strength of it, 16 July 2014
By 
L. K. Rowley (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
shocking. harsh. flinty and utterly callous. well written. didnt like it much but admired the strength of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, 2 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Damage (Paperback)
This is a story of obsessive sexual love. It tells of a middle-aged man who believes he is happy with his beautiful wife and 2 grown-up children, until he meets his son's new girlfriend, Anna. From that first meeting, he is completely obsessed with her, needing her all the time, even to the point of seeing his own son as a rival. The couple meet in secret at every possible opportunity, even after Anna becomes engaged to his son. As everyone knows, this situation cannot continue and so it ends, but with tragic results. The couple's belief that their affair would affect no-one but themselves is dashed in one fell swoop and it suddenly becomes clear that their own lives and the lives of those around them will never be the same again.
This is a rather dark and brooding novel, but it is also quite haunting and remains in the memory quite some time after the book is finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Damage
Damage by Josephine Hart (Paperback - 1 Dec 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews