Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half The Sky
This is a wonderful book, many of the stories are very upsetting to read but,these stories are told alongside tales of inspiration. Women who against all the odds have pulled themselves out of their situation to make massive changes to their own lives and the world around them. I particularly enjoyed the fact that there were numerous practical suggestions on how you and I...
Published on 6 Sept. 2010 by Kindle Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS ENTIRE BOOK IS A LIE AND IS PURE FICTION!
HIS ENTIRE BOOK IS A LIE AND IS PURE FICTION! SOMALY MAM SEX TRAFFICKING IS A SCAM AND FRAUD.
SOMALY MAM HAS RESIGNED FROM HER ORGANISATION BECAUSE OF LIES SHE TOLD TO THE WORLD!
On May 28, 2014 Somaly Mam was forced to resign from the Somaly Mam Foundation and was proven to be lying about being a victim of Sex Trafficking and forcing girls to lie about being...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon book reader


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half The Sky, 6 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Half The Sky: How to Change the World (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book, many of the stories are very upsetting to read but,these stories are told alongside tales of inspiration. Women who against all the odds have pulled themselves out of their situation to make massive changes to their own lives and the world around them. I particularly enjoyed the fact that there were numerous practical suggestions on how you and I can make the world a better place. I have started sending this one to friends... it's definately worth a read and then passing it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An thrilling, intellectual read...which will have you wanting to make a difference in the world., 15 July 2010
Half the sky is brilliant. i read it in the space of 4 days because i just couldn't put it down. Nicholas Kristof fills this book with stories aout how trafficking is a major problem around the world. How can female pregnancy deaths are shockingly high? Why is the govt not doing anything about these problems? Can we abolish sex slavery? Can we abolish the high death rates for female pregnancy? What can you do to help? Seeming as there is hope because we managed to abolish black slavery!!!!
All these questions and many more are answered in this book:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A potential solution to one of the planet's biggest problems lies within this book!, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
Zoony (London, UK) - See all my reviews
While this book is not a light read - it has some gut wrenching stories of suffering that, if they were about citizens of any Western nation, would make media headlines internationally - it is also hugely inspiring and upifting. What seems clear from these pages, which was echoed by Greg Mortenson in his wonderful "Three Cups of Tea", is that educating, empowering and supporting women and girls in the developing world is probably not only the right and moral thing to do, but also our best chance to counteract the growing worldwide culture of extremism and terrorism. This book is the most powerful call to arms I have come across in recent years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prescription for moving into action, 8 July 2010
This is not just a read - albeit an essential read as other reviewers have said. This book is a call to action. Forget the Book Club format of just sitting around discussing and socialising, this book requires action. Direct accounts of life experiences, often shocking but always inspiring, means that our lives and the lives of those in this book directly connect and these are presented in such a way that we cannot ignore the connection, nor can we remain passive.

It is a call to action where individuals can respond at the local level or the global - you choose. But for those of us privileged to have choices in our lives - we must choose what from of action to take in response to this inspiring book.

The implications are too great, the potential change too profound.

Indeed, not just an amazing read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 1 Dec. 2010
By 
Whui W. Lim - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half The Sky: How to Change the World (Paperback)
This book opened my eyes up to the issues surrounding female rights around the world, from honor killings, rapes to female genital mutilation. While I was researching on Female Genital Mutilation to deliver a presentation, my friend introduced me to this book which I promptly read from cover to cover. Whilst reading each story, I was filled with anger at the circumstances these women were in, but yet, often at the end of each story, there would be a silver lining, portraying how a woman's strength and courage can lift them up and away from undesirable circumstances. The selflessness and bravado of these women led me to examine my own life and what I can do to help out in the future, in whatever small way I can.

I was always interested in female issues but never found something which would stop me in the tracks of my everyday life and make me think this hard as to what I can do to contribute. This book did just that. If you are interested in female rights, maternal mortality, or simply, what actually goes on in countries less advanced in terms of female rights progression than ours, this book is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative and well written, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half The Sky: How to Change the World (Paperback)
even though I don't agree with everything the authors say the stories told and the way they were told made it an excellent read. this is not an easy-to-read book in the sense that it's not pleasant at all. most of the stories are really tragic and maybe disheartening. what I really liked is that each chapter is divided in 2: the first par tells the story and the reality. the second part tells you what you can do to change this situation by joining forces with someone else who is already helping out. so in the end, the reader, is not only informed but also encouraged to take action. I love the way the book was written and I think it's a must-read for everyone who wants to be an informed global citizen and make this world a better place for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book., 15 Sept. 2010
By 
P. Miller "pmshrink" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half The Sky: How to Change the World (Paperback)
This is possibly the most important book I ve read in years. the other reviews document what it covers, but it impossible to convey how you become drawn in to a whole world of suffering and abuse, and yet at the same time the authors make sure you are not overwhelmed and made despairing by it. They enpower you to do something about the situation of women and children who are so badly treated, and show you how there is a practical way in which you can help and make a real difference.Read this book, pass it on, buy one for your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you courageous enough to read this book?, 23 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half The Sky: How to Change the World (Paperback)
I was gazing up at the Politics section of the bookshelf, not looking for anything in particular.
I think I was just passing through.
All these loud, overstated books kept shouting down at me, their covers so noisy and cynical, when an unassuming book whispered to me from the highest shelf.
"Half the Sky" confessed to know "How to change the world".
My shopping rule is: if I'm still thinking about something after 3 days, then I purchase it.
"Half the Sky's" gentle whisper never left my thoughts.
Be warned: you must be brave - it's a difficult journey. Authors Nicholas and Sheryl take you deep down into the most immoral and desperate part of human affliction, you'll cry, question and rage in the first few chapters of "Half the Sky" but keep reading, there is a beautiful, wonderfully wise and powerful conclusion that will inspire you into right action (it did me).

"Half the Sky" is the book that has finally given women all over the world, one united voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the stories and situations of women across the world right into the heart of the family - to the kitchen table., 26 July 2013
This review is from: Half The Sky: How to Change the World (Paperback)
It's a rare thing to find a book that combines not only beauty with practicality, but also shares profit and principle.
Perhaps the single most relevant thing that this book achieves is to share the narrative of women on war torn countries through the recipes and photography, bringing home their hopes, fears, stories and situations right into the heart of the family to the kitchen table - which is a great place to change the world we live in.
I've found the recipes delicious and straight forward to cook with clear instructions. The ingredients are accessible and the dishes are sensible family friendly and highly cookable. Easy soda bread, family spaghetti Bolognese, magical creole banana cake to spicy cashew tomato soup .. the curries are fantastic, the photography is stunning and the quality of the book is without compromise.
As a sister I cried as i read the words of one young woman brutal story that told of the hope she found.
As a woman I am inspired.
As a daughter I will share this book to all my friends and family.
As a mother I will be cooking many of the recipes.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS ENTIRE BOOK IS A LIE AND IS PURE FICTION!, 11 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Half The Sky: How to Change the World (Paperback)
HIS ENTIRE BOOK IS A LIE AND IS PURE FICTION! SOMALY MAM SEX TRAFFICKING IS A SCAM AND FRAUD.
SOMALY MAM HAS RESIGNED FROM HER ORGANISATION BECAUSE OF LIES SHE TOLD TO THE WORLD!
On May 28, 2014 Somaly Mam was forced to resign from the Somaly Mam Foundation and was proven to be lying about being a victim of Sex Trafficking and forcing girls to lie about being victims. She was then forced to step down from one of the most successful anti-sex trafficking organizations in the world. She was committing fraud and stealing money from the public by providing them with false sex trafficking horror stories that were lies to send money to the Somaly Mam and Afesip charities. These charities then committed human trafficking themselves by forcing women and girls to stay in their (rescue) centers against their will and to lie about being forced into sex trafficking to the western media and donors.
Somaly Mam, the celebrated Cambodian anti-sex-trafficking activist who, according to a recent Newsweek expose, http://www.newsweek.com/2014/05/30/somaly-mam-holy-saint-and-sinner-sex-trafficking-251642.html
fabricated her entire life story and those of the alleged victims she advocated for. The revelations have disillusioned many of Mam's loyal supporters and left the press looking gullible. Just as importantly, they've highlighted the public's seemingly insatiable desire for heroic narratives--and the willingness of many in the media to trick the public and provide them even if they are fake.
News reports:
http://www.cnn.com/2014/05/30/world/asia/cambodia-sex-slavery-foundation-hero-resign/
http://www.newsweek.com/2014/05/30/somaly-mam-holy-saint-and-sinner-sex-trafficking-251642.html

Not only had Somaly Mam not been an orphaned trafficking victim - she grew up with both parents and graduated from high school - but she also forced, encouraged, coached and paid girls to lie as well. One of these girls was Long Pross, who, actually lost her eye to a tumor and was sent to Afesip for vocational training. The same was reportedly true of Meas Ratha, a teenager allegedly coached by Mam to say she had been trafficked when in fact she was sent to Afesip by an impoverished farming family. These two girls were never prostitutes and never forced sex trafficking victims! -Neither was Somaly Mam.

"It appears Nicholas Kristof knew, long before most, that journalists were calling Pross's story into question. On October 15, 2012, a week and a half before the Cambodia Daily story went to press, SMF board member Brandee Barker emailed Marks with a warning. "I also spoke with Nick Kristof yesterday about my concern for the way you choose to report," Barker wrote. "I suggested that, curiously, you seem to have it out for Somaly, other survivors of sex trafficking and the Foundation. He suggested he broker a meeting with your Editor in Chief. We're considering this advice." Barker, a former head of global communications at Facebook, subsequently confirmed to me that she had conversations with Kristof about Marks's story prior to publication."

"No reporter went quite as far as Kristof in elevating Mam's profile. The crusading journalist has promoted her work in half a dozen columns and blog posts, as well as his documentary, Half the Sky. He even penned the foreword to her autobiography, The Road of Lost Innocence, in which he called her "the Harriet Tubman of Southeast Asia's brothels."
-Pat Joseph
The Atlantic
Kristof appeared with Somaly Mam at many fund raising events. He acted as her press, marketing and celebrity agent. It seemed like Kristof was working for Somaly Mam. Was he getting a kick-back from her? Why was he doing all this work for her? Of riding shotgun with Mam on a raid of one of those brothels--a stunt he also "live-tweeted" to his million-plus followers and filmed for inclusion in Half the Sky--Kristof wrote in his column of November 12, 2011: Against my better judgment, I found myself the other day charging into a well-armed brothel in a police raid. But I was comforted to be with one of my heroes, Somaly Mam.
Somaly dedicates her life to battling forced prostitution, for she herself was sold as a child to a Cambodian brothel. After enduring torture and rapes, Somaly escaped and reinvented herself as an anti-trafficking activist.
That last bit is an accurate capsule summary of the story Mam tells in her memoir and the one she has dutifully recounted (albeit with some discrepancies) in countless public appearances around the world, including at the White House and the UN. It's also, as we know from Newsweek's story, largely untrue.

According to the article's author, Simon Marks, during the years Somaly Mam was supposedly trapped in a Phnom Penh brothel she was actually attending school in her hometown of Thloc Chhroy. Her fellow villagers remember her as a happy, pig-tailed teenager. In her memoir, Mam claims she was orphaned at a young age and brought to Thloc Chhroy by a man she called "grandfather"--the man who sold her into slavery. The former commune chief remembered her arrival differently. "Somaly came here with her parents," he said. "She is a daughter of Mam Khon and Pen Navy." No one recalled the mysterious `grandfather' figure.

Not only had Somaly Mam not been an orphaned trafficking victim - she grew up with both parents and graduated from high school - but she also forced, encouraged, coached and paid girls to lie as well. One of these girls was Long Pross, who, actually lost her eye to a tumor and was sent to Afesip for vocational training. The same was reportedly true of Meas Ratha, a teenager allegedly coached by Mam to say she had been trafficked when in fact she was sent to Afesip by an impoverished farming family. These two girls were never prostitutes and never forced sex trafficking victims.

Extreme scenarios Mam often invoked - girls put in cages, tortured with electricity, having their eyes gouged out by pimps. "We never encountered any such thing, and we certainly looked for it," the study's author, Thomas Steinfatt, said this week. "We couldn't find any instances of that ... In terms of people tortured, I think they've been watching too many movies." Somaly Mam was never sold for sex. Nor was Long Pross. When Pross was 13, a nonmalignant tumor which covered her eye was surgically removed. There were no electrical currants. No rape. No torture. No piece of metal gouged deeply into her eye. Those were lies. Lies propagated by Somaly Mam and lies encouraged by the Western media with Nicholas Kristof who had been captivated by increasingly fake horrific tales of sexual predation.

Phnom Penh, Cambodia - In early 2011, Srey Mao, 28, and two friends were captured and taken to a shelter run by Afesip, a Cambodian organisation that prides itself on helping sex-trafficking victims.

There was just one problem: The women claim they hadn't actually been trafficked. Instead, the women said they were willing sex workers who had been rounded up off the street during a police raid and sent to Afesip, headed by the internationally renowned anti-sex-slavery crusader Somaly Mam with funding from the foundation that bears her name. They said they were confined there against their will for months as purported victims of sex trafficking. Srey Mao claimed that she, her friends and a number of other sex workers in the centrer were instructed by a woman to tell foreign visitors they had been trafficked."I was confined against my will by Somaly Mam," Srey Mao said on Saturday. The person she said instructed ordered her and others to lie was Somaly Mam.

When it comes to Sex trafficking the only people the media speak with are the anti-sex trafficking organizations or zealous politicians and no one else. This is a biased one-sided conversation. The media will never question, check or research any of the claims that these groups make. Always taking their word for it and never once researching or questioning their statistics or anything they say. This results in misleading and false reporting by the media and news organizations.

Prostitutes are NOT forced! They do sex work of their own free will. The media, NGO's and government officials will never admit this or ask the sex workers rights groups or prostitutes themselves about the sex industry.

Here are some good websites about this:
http://bebopper76.wordpress.com/
http://humantraffickingstatistics.wordpress.com/
http://www.lauraagustin.com/
http://www.policeprostitutionandpolitics.com/
http://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2014/06/somaly-mam-scandal-victims-can-lie/372188/
http://www.newsweek.com/2014/05/30/somaly-mam-holy-saint-and-sinner-sex-trafficking-251642.html
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Half The Sky: How to Change the World
Half The Sky: How to Change the World by Sheryl WuDunn (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2010)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews