Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading
Working in the field of grief support I read this book in an attempt to gain further insight into the life changing affects of profound loss. Meghan's story is written with such clarity I could not put it down. It is a profoundly emotional but inspiring journey through grief. Meghan takes the reader through personal moments of exquisite joy and heartbreaking sorrow which...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Chryssie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars repetative and boring
didn't finish the book as it became very boring after the death of the mother. I found it to be very repetitive and depressive
Published 6 months ago by june


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Working in the field of grief support I read this book in an attempt to gain further insight into the life changing affects of profound loss. Meghan's story is written with such clarity I could not put it down. It is a profoundly emotional but inspiring journey through grief. Meghan takes the reader through personal moments of exquisite joy and heartbreaking sorrow which are so tangible it is sometimes difficult to read, but ultimately it is an inspiring message of love. Love endures beyond death as those of us who have walked this path will know. A Compelling book and one I would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reflective, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book. Has helped me think about the loss of my own mother. It was comforting to be able to reflect and identify with the writer's own feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tissues at the ready, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must read, it is both heartbreaking and inspiring. I would read this book over and over and can not recommend it highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Goodbye: A Memoir (Paperback)
A well written & engaging book that offers considerable insight to loss and bereavement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Special writing, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was found unexpectedly and became a very special book to me, profoundly describing the loving heartbreak of this experience and then the slow stepping onwards, through others experiences and writings, and her own, making a go at some sense of it all. Try a sample on Kindle or in paperback and if it resonates, read it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like this, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this book. It was a good read. Any girl who has lost her mum can relate to the writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my journey, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hopefully this will help me now I've read this book on the seemingly never ending journey of losing my mum first then my dad three months later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and poetic, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Elaine Hughes (Bristol, England England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Emotionally raw and honest . Beautifully and poetically written. Insightful and reassuring too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must book for professionals working with people experiencing grief or for people going through bereavement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Goodbye: A Memoir (Paperback)
loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Goodbye: A Memoir
The Long Goodbye: A Memoir by Meghan O'Rourke (Paperback - 5 April 2012)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews