Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars67
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2013
It's often frustrating to see how we've all been 'programmed' not to see the sexism and objectification that is all around us. Natasha Walter puts everything in to perspective, as well as giving a balanced view of some potentially seriously flawed research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Excellent. Good easy reading style rather than academic. Uses lots of identifiable anecdotal evidence so everyone can relate to the situations. The 'modern' woman debunked at last as a fabrication. I have bought this for several friends who enjoyed it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
This is an awesome book that anyone should read. The part about how what women think as "choice" can easily be an opinion imposed upon them by male-dominant culture was eye opening. Really good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
So so much of the stuff in this book is stuff I can totally relate to and agree with. Loses steam a little bit in the second half, but still altogether enjoyable and accessible reading.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
bought as a gift for a friend wanting to start learning more about new wave feminism. a fantastic place to start- not too pretentiously written. Top condition. Speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
This was a present for a relative & given the spirit in which it was received & feedbak given, it would seem that the purchase was a successful one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 December 2013
This is, I find, a depressing book. Depressing because the author shines a light of feminist awareness onto a male dominated society which has created sexist narratives of emancipation for women who have, in some cases, bought right into them. So we have women who truly feel that lap-dancing, stripping, prostitution represent problem-free routes to self-fulfillment, self-esteem and emancipation. Walter challenges such narratives with forensic insight. The woman-hating, violent nature of much of pornography, the objectification of women in lap dancing and strip joints, the sex-industry-driven values of pornification of society - it's all here.

So why do I find this depressing? Because I can see no realistic way for any of this to be challenged and superseded with more genuinely emancipatory narratives. So many people seem inured to the pernicious nature of all this exploitation - and the 'it's just a bit of fun' take on it all represents an avoidant, head-in-the-sand approach with which it's hard to engage.

Of course - I may just be a sad old whiner who can't see that stripping, getting paid for sex, being used as masturbatory fantasy material really IS emancipation... But in the words of one of Walter's interviewees:

"People say it's so cool, it's empowering, but I'm not going to put lap dancing on my CV. I don't feel comfortable telling most people about it. I think women need to start speaking up about this, being a bit more intelligent about these things. We hear a lot about choice or liberation, but it just isn't equal - you know, you just look at the lap-dancing club and it says so much about our culture. The men in there are respectable, they are in suits, they have bank accounts, the women are not respectable, they're naked, they have debts."

What do you think?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
i read this book over and over again!

Walter is insanely truthful and this book is divine. Absolutely fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Not that sexism ever went anywhere...this is accessible and a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Really enjoying this book. Since reading other books on feminism and fashion for a dissertation many years ago, I became more interested in this and sexism. This book has further opened my eyes on pornography, the sex industry as a whole and it was brilliant that they were interviews from ordinary people.
Definitely worth a read if only for the thought provoking quotes throughout.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)