Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A World that is gone forever
This is a wonderful book, a very English setting, and some very English characters who inhabit a world that is gone forever. Prudence is a character many of us can sympathise with, her past littered with disappointments. Her interfering friend Jane - who is much older, married with an almost grown up daughter, is keen to help her become settled. Jane despite her being a...
Published on 20 May 2007 by A. Hope

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Barbara Pym
I did not find it as amusing or as well written as her other books. Jane is eccentric but oddly vacuous and, although there are well written parts, the book left me feeling unsatisfied.
Published 19 months ago by C. Moon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A World that is gone forever, 20 May 2007
By 
A. Hope "bookcrossing ali" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane and Prudence (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book, a very English setting, and some very English characters who inhabit a world that is gone forever. Prudence is a character many of us can sympathise with, her past littered with disappointments. Her interfering friend Jane - who is much older, married with an almost grown up daughter, is keen to help her become settled. Jane despite her being a middle aged clergy wife is still wonderfully romantic, and it demonstrates superbly, how, no matter how we age, and take on various responsibilities, we still have the same concerns as in our youth. This is the second Barbara Pym novel I have read - and I am now keen to read them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars social satire and the fifities, 31 May 2008
This review is from: Jane And Prudence (VMC) (Paperback)
A novel that gives the authentic flavour of the middle class gentility in the 1950s. If this sounds dull, it really isn't.

Her anthropological view of the society she is examining is so wry, pitiless but so humorous (She worked at the International African Institute in London for some years, and played a large part in the editing of its scholarly journal, Africa, hence the frequency with which anthropology/anthropologists crop up in her novels, and maybe foregrounds her social criticism.) The hopeless vagaries of men of the cloth as well as academics come under her scornful microsopic scrutiny. Her single women, devout and well-meaning, live lives of virtuous 'quiet desperation'.

Her writing is succinct and clear, hardly a word wasted. She has often been compared to Jane Austen, but she also shares the sharp eye of Waugh in a novel like "A Handful of Dust'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a pleasant surprise!, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I appreciate that this isn't for everyone. If you're looking for something edgy, dramatic or action-packed you'll definitely be disappointed. The book depicts middle class, village life in the 1950s set around the church. Yawn, yawn you may think. However, I loved the dry wit and underlying irony in every paragraph. Sure, not a lot actually happens and it seems far removed from the way we live today, but it's an entertaining read. It doesn't have the richness of Jane Austen novels but I enjoyed stepping into another, more genteel world, and Pym has the same ability as Austen of observing the absurdness of everyday behaviours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Time, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane And Prudence (VMC) (Paperback)
I look on this book as social history. It is a world of coy euphemisms about sex-'Are you his mistress?' asks Jane of Prudence. Underneath the coyness there is a wonderful sharp observation. We meet again the manipulative Miss Morrow from Crampton Hodnett,unpublished till after Pym's death. We hear of Miss Lathbury's marriage to one of the anthropologists prominent in,I think, Excellent Women.
The attraction men have for women is better explored here than in most books. The handsome,mediocre,dull,superficially charming,narcissistic Fabian is nabbed by plain Miss M from attractive Prudence. An explanation is offered-there is only room for one beautiful person in a relationship.This explains a lot when considers some celebrities.
Jane,the vicar's wife,manages in spite of being utterly undomesticated. The greatest point of contention seems to be the 'conflict' between low church and high church, with the dreaded Rome at one end and Chapel at the other. Are there,or were there really people so obsessed with this? Must have been.
My only criticism is one appallingly dull conversation at a social gathering. I expect it's completely realistic, but I did begin to wish the participants would realise how dull they were and go home or something
I did very much enjoy this book,though. It is very funny and so true in its observation of the tiny things that people do and say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars new barbara pym fan, 12 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane And Prudence (VMC) (Paperback)
I have only very recently come to Barbara Pym's work, and am loving everything i have read so far. Don't expect strong plots, these are delicate works of everyday life at the time, i think the comparisons with Jane Austen are reasonable, except that more dramatic things tend to happen in Jane Austen's books!- I think these are more like english versions of Colette in the loving detail of clothes, interiors , food, and the manners of the times. I think the real strength is that the events and characters are viewed from a strong feminine perspective, often providing a light touch critique of male behaviour and self-belief at the time, and yet I wouldn't necessarily say they fit into the feminist canon.I would strongly recommend her to new readers, and Jane and Prudence would be as good a place to start as anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane And Prudence (VMC) (Paperback)
Every now and then a lucky author hits exactly the right notes and writes their masterpiece. Good examples would be CP Snow's The Masters and Somerset Maugham's Cakes and Ale.
For Barbara Pym, all of her books are good reads, gently amusing, but Jane and Prudence is her masterpiece - complex, ingenious, and funny enough to make one laugh out loud (always un-nerving for the casual spectator).
In this book, all her strengths seem to come together, manoeuvring her sympathetic characters in a deeply involving dance of confusion within their shifting relationships.
Like Jane Austen, I am already looking forward to reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbara Pym at her best!, 17 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Jane And Prudence (VMC) (Paperback)
Barbara Pym was a writer that I had always meant to read but never quite got around to it. I picked up 'Some Tame Gazelle' in a charity shop and have never looked back. Pym is one of the most subtle writers I have ever come across. 'A Glass of Blessings' is my favourite of her books. In Wilmet Forsyth, Pym has created a charming and naive heroine. Her observations on the world around her, somehow never quite getting it, are funny and little sad.
I think Pym is particularly good at capturing dress, cocktails, manners and details of the 50s that provide a real insight to the era. Do read this lovely novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Austerity aga-saga, 24 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Jane And Prudence (VMC) (Paperback)
Ignore if you can the dreadful mass-market cover ... lord knows why Virago is trying to market Barbara Pym as chick-lit!
And ignore the silly introduction from silly Jilly Cooper. (Who needs a proofreader with a much sharper eye because she burbles along here about Jane and Patience when she means Jane and Prudence. A slip that one might more readily forgive if there wasn't an even more air-headed slip-up in her recent intro to Virago's Diary of a Provincial Lady. When she muddles EM Delafield's plodding, prosaic 20th century husband with the rakish 18th century founder of the infamous Hellfire Club.)
Anyway, leaving that aside - this is a pleasant, undemanding read set in a time when even the pauperised middle-classes had cooks and a woman to 'do' and could speak without any flicker of embarrassment about 'people like us.' Prudence's frightful admirer Fabian has clearly inspired many a cad in Jilly Cooper's own oeuvre. But what I enjoyed most are the wonderful descriptions of clothes ... Prudence's housecoats and her heady French scent, the name of which she can't pronounce, and everybody's greedy, post-war fascination with food, whether it's a casserole of hearts or oyster patties sneaked into a handbag at a party (But don't you just know they'd taste of glue!)
But I don't like Prudence enough to care whether this 29-year-old spinster ever gets her man. And I certainly don't agree with Philip Larkin's comment on the cover that he'd sooner read a new Barbara Pym than a new Jane Austen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of her best, I think. The contrast between the two main protagonists
is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book., 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful read with such depth of character and rich attention to detail.

The only annoying part was the review by Jilly Cooper...don't let this put you off the novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane And Prudence (VMC)
Jane And Prudence (VMC) by Barbara Pym (Paperback - 6 Dec 2007)
8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews