Customer Reviews


595 Reviews
5 star:
 (467)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those books you must read before you die
I have put off reading the thorns birds for so long it just sat on my shelf. The first time I tried to read the thorn birds, I felt the description of the land became too much for me to handle, please do not be put off by this as the plot is a quick moving one. The second time I tried to read it and it was so enjoyable and in 5 days finished it. Don't be fooled by the 573...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Modupe Oriyomi

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Australian lovestory
I dont know if I fell in love more with the characters or the vivid descriptions of the Australian outback in this compelling read. A charming and moving story following the Cleary family as they move through life.
The Catholic church and its mystical hold over the whole community and indeed its influence over the matriach Mary Carson is formiddable and is played...
Published on 6 Jan. 2000


‹ Previous | 112 13 1460 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book and the TV serialisation 30 years ago. Rarely do I enjoy re-reading a book but the Thorn Birds once again proved to be a book I couldn't put down even though I knew the story line. Meggie's story provokes the same sympathy, arguments and emotions as it did first time. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping author, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
I first read this book decades ago and re-reading it is always a pleasure. I will use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
I read this book years ago, it is one I can read over and over, I love books that span generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a Must read, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
Although I saw the film I couldnt put the book down, my imagination ran riot!
A bit of everything, love, sadness, historical information so much interest, in fact perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tv, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
saw this on tv years ago and enjoyed it so much i thought i would read it so glad i did i enjoyed it as much if not more than the tv programme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
Such an unusual story. The right balance of sadness and happiness. Descriptions of places paints an excellent mental picture of various terrains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
I read this book many years ago and decided to read it again. I really enjoyed revisiting this book..Well worth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
I read this when it was released and reading it again is strongly recommended I have fallen in love with father ralph all over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars quite a good read, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
I remember my mum faithfully watching this series on TV when I was small so I thought I'd give it a read. I enjoyed it.

Now I feel I want to buy the DVDs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thorn Birds (Kindle Edition)
Very well written book that keeps you enthralled from the first page. I saw the TV version some years ago which was brilliant but the book is much better and keep you turning the pages. the story set in 1920s Australia is an eye opener in the historical sense as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1460 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thorn Birds (VMC)
The Thorn Birds (VMC) by Colleen McCullough (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews