Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly modern memoirs of Edwardian author
To me, this is much the best of Von Arnim's writing. Describing the joys and tribulations of a young English woman marrying a German aristocrat she centres on the haphazard creation of her garden and the activities of her children in an examination of European mores.

Her tone is anything but dusty. A top-selling author of her day she seems to have more in...
Published on 4 Dec 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth von Armin's very personal view of her surroundings.
I enjoyed reading the well written book at the time but unfortunately it has left no real lasting impression on me.
Published 12 months ago by Eva Walters


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly modern memoirs of Edwardian author, 4 Dec 2003
By A Customer
To me, this is much the best of Von Arnim's writing. Describing the joys and tribulations of a young English woman marrying a German aristocrat she centres on the haphazard creation of her garden and the activities of her children in an examination of European mores.

Her tone is anything but dusty. A top-selling author of her day she seems to have more in common with - the best - Sunday newspaper columnists of today than with her contemporaries. She battles both with chauvanism and the demands of running a country house which threaten to quell her free-wheeling attitude to life, in a style as fresh as it was at the turn of the century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original voice, 2 Dec 2008
This review is from: Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC) (Paperback)
This tale, which recounts Elizabeth Von Arnim's discovery of the joys of gardening in the remote German countryside, is a real breath of fresh air. Von Arnim married young to a much older German aristocrat and found herself in an alien and elite world which reeks of dryness and dust - a captive world. Clearly a free spirit, and an unconventional character, it is facinating to read of Von Arnim's liberation through the rebellious act of creating her garden. However, the story is not just about the garden. It also offers up Von Arnim's wonderful, razor sharp, and somewhat wicked observations of the stultifying aristocratic set in which she finds herself. I love, in particular, the descriptions of her almost comedically chauvinistic husband, who she laughs both with and at. Although a snob herself, and somewhat arrogant, Von Arnim recognises her own failings and is quite happy to puncture her own bubble, which helps keep the reader on her side. Her fiercely independent (for her time) nature, rapier like wit and keen intelligence are refreshing to encounter in this very well written book. Von Arnim was a successful author in her time and I think it is time her books were re-discovered by a modern audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 25 May 1999
By A Customer
Elizabeth and her German Garden is a joy: aspiring Gertude Jekylls may not find the horticultural tips they are looking for, but anybody who delights in communing with the earth in their own little corner of half-tamed nature, whilst blithely ignoring the pressures of family and day-to-day life, will find a kindred spirit in Elizabeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming and witty- wonderful escapist reading, 14 May 2012
By 
Nicola F (Nic) (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC) (Paperback)
What a beautiful book. I'm on a bit of a `Virago' kick at the moment and this was another wonderful find for me. Von Arnim's writing is eloquent as well as being witty and I love her astute observations of not only the world around her, but society in general at that time.

Set in the remote German countryside and told in a diarised format, this is the story of a year in the development of Elizabeth's garden, and how she seeks solace in it to escape from her dull marriage to the incredibly chauvinistic `Man of Wrath.' She flouts convention somewhat as within society at that time, gardening was not the `done' thing for women of her class, though unfortunately she is not permitted to do any of the work herself and employs a gardener to carry out the most mundane of her tasks, much to her frustration. We learn of her mistakes and her triumphs as she nurtures and establishes her garden and really get a sense of the kind of person she is.

Von Arnim is an author with many interesting facets to her character- on one hand she can be very self-deprecating and conveys a real sense of loneliness and isolation, then on the other she practically pushes away those people who *do* try to get close to her with her razor sharp tongue. I found it particularly poignant that her only real friends seem to be her plants- it grew quite saddening at times and I really felt for her. Then again, with a husband like hers, it was no surprise that she sought solace in her garden and in trying to create beauty somewhere else as I get the impression that she wasn't particularly loved by him. She looks down at other popular occupations at the time too, much to her husbands chagrin, deeming dressmaking as being frivolous- much preferring to study or spend time outside- and is thought of as a bit eccentric by her neighbours, which I think is a notion she rather welcomes.

Ultimately, I found this to be a thoroughly fascinating read, particularly as I am an avid gardener myself- it is a real testament to the calibre of the authors writing that this has been reprinted so many times since its initial publication in 1898 and still remains so popular. I can't wait to read more by this author in future- I have `Enchanted April' to read next. I would highly recommend this for a bit of escapist reading this spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exquisite read....., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC) (Paperback)
Book in excellent condition and one of my favourite authors.....she wrote in beautiful prose, but with much more going on, with different psychological layers. A great, quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This gem, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC) (Paperback)
This gem of a book is nothing like the absurd cover - which makes it look like some sloppy bodice ripper. The novel is elegant and acerbic and in love with gardens. It makes you wonder if book publishers ever both to read the books they design the covers for !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A women after my own heart., 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC) (Paperback)
This is a book about so much more than a garden. It begins with the young wife and mother rhapsodising about being alone(apart from a servant or two of course) and neglecting her family duties. Elizabeth charmingly resents any intrusion into her private world, she is very witty about neighbours and unsolicited guests. She is wonderfully out spoken in her(what some would consider) selfishness, especially when you remember she is writing in the 1890's. It is a very self centred piece but she is still somebody I would like to know. The short introduction by Elizabeth Jane Howard gives just the right amount of background, although I would recommend reading it afterwards so that you can make up your own mind about the charms of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure escapism!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC) (Paperback)
I love Elizabeth Von Arnim - her writing is like a dream, and this simple diary of her life following the seasons of her garden is light and frothy and just lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qintessential Von Arnim charm, 19 May 2013
This review is from: Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC) (Paperback)
Don't come to this book for gardening advice, nor even a clear idea of what a garden should be, because this is precisely what Elizabeth is trying to work out for herself, directly in conflict with the traditions and values of Baltic gardeners on great estates. Elizabeth, herself, is a bit of a flowering in the dull and rigid social mores of German noblility. The stark contrast between how she wishes to live (chicken salad in the garden) and the heavy formality of provincial life is played out in this delightful book which, given its near lack of plot, is barely a novel. If you want to read something that will make you really smile and deeply sumpathise with the central character, then this is the book for you. If you are looking for something more suspenseful and plot driven, don't pick this up until you are ready to be delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant magical book, 1 May 2013
von Arnims biggest seller which is a magical and elegiac description of her life with her husband (man of wrath!) and the gardens she created. beautiful and unlike anything you've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadf7dcf0)

This product

Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC)
Elizabeth And Her German Garden (VMC) by Elizabeth von Arnim (Paperback - 2 Feb 2006)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews