Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Woman Is Remarkable
I have just read this book and all I can say is, Thank God for women like Somaly Mam. This inspiring, courageous woman is a lifeline for so many young girls, whom without her, would be lying in the gutter. I truly hope that her organisation receives the funding it really deserves and that her work can go on and become an even bigger success. Somaly, you are not only...
Published on 11 Jun. 2009 by C. Martin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somaly Mam is a Fraud! She was NEVER a sex trafficking victim She resigned
It is amazing how many people still don't know that Somaly Mam resigned from her foundation on May 28, 2014 because of lies she told about her life story and her fake "victims" Look up "Somaly Mam resignation" on the internet if you don't believe me. Somaly Mam is a fraud, cheat, liar, scam artist. She was NEVER a sex trafficking victim. She lived a normal...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon book reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadistic child molesters, brutal pimps, traumatized children, 9 July 2009
By 
Luc REYNAERT (Beernem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Somaly Mam's autobiography is both terrible and terrifying, as we see what members of mankind (parents, traffickers, pimps, government officials) do and are allowed to do with innocent children (even their own). She also paints a bleak picture of her mother country, Cambodia.

Sex trade
The sale of women and female children has always existed in Cambodia.
Parents consider their offspring as money on legs, an asset, as cattle. A 12-year old virgin girl can be sold for 50 to 100 US$ or used as a deposit for a loan or to pay back debt.
Virgins are especially wanted because men believe that raping a virgin will cure them of Aids (instead, the child is infected), keep them strong, lengthen their lifespan and lighten their skin. People consider that keeping a virgin or a minor in a luxurious brothel is a status symbol (!).
Once sold into a brothel, no law, no police, no justice can protect the child. It becomes the slave of a violent pimp: `Now I see girls in brothels with nails hammered into their skull.'

Women's fate
Women are considered as servants. They have to show full obedience to their father and husband. Being beaten is a part of a `normal' life. Marriage becomes a prison.
In general, women don't like to make love and remain passive.

Cambodia
The Cambodians are traumatized by decades of war: `To survive you must be silent.' Nobody can be trusted. People can use your words to betray you.
Actually, the country is in the ban of moral bankruptcy. `Corruption is like a gangrene at the heart of the legal and the police system.' The police are involved in the sex trade as owners, guards, protectors and clients.
The revenues of prostitution equal the annual State budget. Traffickers are so rich that they are more powerful than the law. Judges are bribed.
Under the communist government (after the Red Khmer regime) schools (a real way out of poverty) and health care were free. Now, everything is for sale, even doctor's diplomas. Education is only for the offspring of the wealthy few.

The whole book bathes in an atmosphere of racism (against dark-skinned people).

This intensely moving `human' tragedy gives an extremely gloomy impression of (a part of) mankind. But, there is hope. One brilliant star at the firmament, Somaly Mam, and her courageous actions made the sex traders loose all respect. Now, her organization can sometimes beat the culprits in court.
Her book is a must read for all those interested in human nature and the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please read this book, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book and was inspired by the courage of this amazing, beautiful and selfless woman. The book is hard to read because of the brutality of the sex slave industry, but do not be ignorant to this as this is real life for many children in Cambodia, across the world and on your doorstep. After reading this book I was inspired to raise money for the Somaly Mam Foundation and travelled to Cambodia. The sex slave industry must be stopped. How? Solving world poverty. How can we help? Educate ourselves to the reality of what goes on by reading this book, then find a way to help and take action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars disturbing accounts of sexual slavery and forced child prostitution, 18 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Road Of Lost Innocence (Paperback)
There are many disturbing accounts of sexual slavery and forced child prostitution which made it difficult to read because of the grave sadness that these horrible things are actually going on. However, it's a book you probably won't be able to put down because of all the powerful stories she told and issues she pointed out. Despite some controversial news stories about the author, she is, without a doubt, a remarkable woman who overcame so much to aid many helpless women. I think every man who visits Southeast Asia for sex tourism should really read this book. Every man, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not graphic at all., 14 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road Of Lost Innocence (Paperback)
I read this book in just two short reading sessions.
However, I'm very glad I did so. The book thoughfully describes the author's reclaimed life, and in no way could be described as graphic or sensational. The book clearly raises the obvious conclusion that the exploitation of women and children couldn't exist without the co-operation of the legal system and general government corruption. This is not just true for Cambodia, and other parts of Asia, but all other parts of the world, including th UK. In all, an excellent read. FIVE STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, 15 Jan. 2009
Amazing story and incredible that in today's age of media and wealth nothing more can be done - just shows how one woman can make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road Of Lost Innocence (Paperback)
A great read, sorrowful, shocking in parts. Small pre-pubecent girls sold or kidnapped and used as prostitutes.
Somaly herself was subjected to this treatment and now works with these girls to educate and help them to re-evaluate their lives and talents.
We need more people of her courage in the world today.
A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 6 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Road Of Lost Innocence (Paperback)
Very good and eyeopening book. Sad and moving story. Swallowed it in one sitting while traveling in Cambodia. Would definitely recommend to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road Of Lost Innocence (Paperback)
This book was one of my top 5 best books I have read. I cried my eyes out. It is touching and insightful. It is also inspirational to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart and Soul searching, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road Of Lost Innocence (Paperback)
How we as human beings can treat other in war and peace though no fault of our own. Thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Road Of Lost Innocence (Paperback)
A real eye opener - a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road Of Lost Innocence
The Road Of Lost Innocence by Somaly Mam (Paperback - 3 Dec. 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews