Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very candid
This was a very interesting short book, which describes how the rebellious teenage author would take the contrary position to her immigrant Jewish father on a whole range of issues, including the state of Israel. This provoked her to go to Israel and spend four months there speaking and meeting ordinary Israelis in street side cafes.
It's an easy book to read, with...
Published on 10 April 2006 by S. A. Richmond

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a lazy book
israel probably provokes the most reaction of any country in the world.this book is a folksie trip over 4 months a lot of it spent in cafes loads of israelli folk lore,however israel is defined for many by its treatment of and living with the palestinians though touched upon here good or bad this tends to view israel in a vacuum,which i guess a lot of israelli would like...
Published 19 months ago by m. dosa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very candid, 10 April 2006
By 
S. A. Richmond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The People On The Street: A Writer's View Of Israel (Paperback)
This was a very interesting short book, which describes how the rebellious teenage author would take the contrary position to her immigrant Jewish father on a whole range of issues, including the state of Israel. This provoked her to go to Israel and spend four months there speaking and meeting ordinary Israelis in street side cafes.
It's an easy book to read, with some illuminating characters. Perfect for people who might not know all the complicated context of the Israel / Palestine conflict.
I'd thoroughly recommend this book. It's enough to whet your appetite to learn more about Israel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent celebration of complexity, 28 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The People On The Street: A Writer's View Of Israel (Paperback)
This is a beautifully written journal/observation of that complex fascinating disturbing captivating and troubling place - Israel. Told by an extremely talented writer who spent time living in Israel, meeting and confronting its issues and people. It's no white-wash - Grant lets no one off the hook politically or socially - and yet the portraits she offers of human beings responding uniquely to a unique situation is full of compassion and honesty. If you want to understand Israel from the inside without being irritated by idiotic propaganda from all sides, buy this book. If you find yourself tongue-tied if ever confronted by a fellow liberal who can't understand your connection to Israel - buy them this book and rest easy. If you love Israel and are deeply troubled by it at the same time, read this book to understand why, and how to live with the paradox...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, 30 Aug 2006
By 
G. E. Brahams "Gareth Brahams" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The People On The Street: A Writer's View Of Israel (Paperback)
I was walking home last night reading the book as I walked along the street and a person stopped me to say how much they had enjoyed it and I realised I really had too.

It was a book that helped me peer into the lives of one side of this conflict and this diverse country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Israel, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The People On The Street: A Writer's View Of Israel (Paperback)
A history of ordinary people living in Israel today. Of course there's nothing ordinary about it, the only way to exist is to pretend that this crazy existence is normal. Ms Grant explains, despairs, laughs and laments about this man made tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and eye opening, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The People On The Street: A Writer's View Of Israel (Paperback)
I bought this on the recommendations of other reviewers and I am happy to endorse the positive nature of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a lazy book, 4 Dec 2012
This review is from: The People On The Street: A Writer's View Of Israel (Paperback)
israel probably provokes the most reaction of any country in the world.this book is a folksie trip over 4 months a lot of it spent in cafes loads of israelli folk lore,however israel is defined for many by its treatment of and living with the palestinians though touched upon here good or bad this tends to view israel in a vacuum,which i guess a lot of israelli would like it touchesbriefly on human rights violations but hey lets sit back and sip a cappuccino a lazy book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The People On The Street: A Writer's View Of Israel
The People On The Street: A Writer's View Of Israel by Linda Grant (Paperback - 2 Mar 2006)
10.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews