Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romantic and fabulous
The Dirty Bits made me smile from start to finish, with nostalgia for my schooldays, for the days before porn and internet sex were mainstream, and at such an evocative, ballsy, essentially romantic selection of snippets. Each extract made me want to revisit the books they were taken from - indeed, have just Amazon-ed a few of them - and, oddly enough, made me feel all...
Published on 1 Dec 2006 by Gretna

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was a teenager (all girls grammar school) in the 70s and we too had 'dirty' books doing the rounds. However, I think that several of the extracts Knight has chosen wouldn't have been given a second glance by us, and are certainly not worthy of inclusion in this volume. The Georgette Heyer extract is not remotely titilating (even to a young teenager), and as for the...
Published on 26 April 2007 by Carrie Bremmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romantic and fabulous, 1 Dec 2006
The Dirty Bits made me smile from start to finish, with nostalgia for my schooldays, for the days before porn and internet sex were mainstream, and at such an evocative, ballsy, essentially romantic selection of snippets. Each extract made me want to revisit the books they were taken from - indeed, have just Amazon-ed a few of them - and, oddly enough, made me feel all Christmassy. Maybe because I curled up with the book with Radio 6 in the background and a glass of wine. It's that kind of book.

Totally blissful bathtime reading, completely self-indulgent and spirit-lifting in the lightest, best possible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten years too young, but the principle remains the same, 21 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I attended an all-girl grammar school some ten years before India Knight started her teenage quest for smut, and therefore a number of her chosen texts - all those 70's bonkbusters, for example - came ... er ... were written too late to enliven my schooldays, but the principle remains the same. Our school's 'dirty bits' reading consisted of much of the oeuvre of Sir Richard Burton, thanks to whom I have never been able to hear the innocent word 'member' with a straight face. India Knight evidently missed this experience. Other titles, however, we have very much in common: dear Constance Chatterley and her flower arranging, Fanny Hill and her parade of mighty engines and, of course, the frankly scary 'O', exposure to whom at a tender age put me off S&M for life. How joyous it is to know that dirty-minded little girls remain exactly the same down all the ages. I do hope that today's tender innocents aren't too busy watching YouTube and playing with their Bratz dolls at least to open a dictionary now and again and look up all the rude words. It would be terrible to think of this fine tradition dying out.

A note for the second edition - 'Fanny Hill'? Written in 1749. That would be how the Georgians did it, India dear, not the Victorians. Boarding school history not all it's cracked up to be?

Ha. 'Crack.' Does one ever get over being 13, I wonder?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book!, 30 Jan 2007
I think this is one of the best books out on the market today! It's got loads of fabulous stuff inside that can make a girl blush and squirm! It is the ultimate in female reading and should NOT be passed up by anyone!! I also liked "Playtime" (by Kim Corum) and any Nancy Friday book for the same reasons!

Highly recommended! Get it today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a teenager (all girls grammar school) in the 70s and we too had 'dirty' books doing the rounds. However, I think that several of the extracts Knight has chosen wouldn't have been given a second glance by us, and are certainly not worthy of inclusion in this volume. The Georgette Heyer extract is not remotely titilating (even to a young teenager), and as for the over long extract from Forever Amber, I don't see the point of its inclusion at all (it just happens to be India Knight's favourite book...).

Better extracts could have been chosen. I haven't read Fear of Flying and was looking forward to the part I've heard about - but no, just another boring piece.

I give this 3 stars purely for Fanny Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from India, 20 Feb 2007
By 
Mary Plain (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
I am biased because I just love India Knight's style of writing. In this book she captures that whole essence of giggling school girls swapping books for the sexy bits.

She mentioned most of my favourites - some of which I had completely forgotten, some have stayed favourites. After I'd read it, I found myself making a list of all the others I would include.

It was also interesting for the excepts she included of books I have never read, now on my reading list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dirty Bits - For Girls
The Dirty Bits - For Girls by India Knight (Paperback - 7 Feb 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews