Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with a lot to offer.
While the book isn't exactly a totally contemporary affair, it has a lot to offer and has a very positive message about self-acceptance, independence and is an antidote to the kind of books where having a relationship is the most important, defining thing about a person.
Published 17 months ago by Chris Haigh

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Not really worth reading in my opinion. Out of date and a bit of a waste of time. Maybe I was looking for something else!
Published 3 months ago by Linda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with a lot to offer., 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While the book isn't exactly a totally contemporary affair, it has a lot to offer and has a very positive message about self-acceptance, independence and is an antidote to the kind of books where having a relationship is the most important, defining thing about a person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly how it says on the title!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
entertaining! must read for single's, you could choose to live happily single or miserable & single.
this book led you with different scenarios, change your perception for being in a boring single-dom position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone in need of a proper "pep-talk", 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Alone And Like It (VMC) (Hardcover)
I were surprised to find that a book from 1937 could be of such immense value to me in 2013. Though aimed towards women, the book is quite useful to men as well, everybody should enjoy breakfast in bed and become aware that single life could be interesting and meaningful, especially in our time when so many men and women do indeed live alone - perhaps not liking it.
I have just now ordered Hills' book 'Orchids on your budget' and I am certain it shall be as useful and amusing as 'Live alone' was.

Do buy, it's all you expect it to be and then some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Alone And Like It (VMC) (Hardcover)
Not really worth reading in my opinion. Out of date and a bit of a waste of time. Maybe I was looking for something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book!, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Alone And Like It (VMC) (Hardcover)
If ever you need someone to whisper in your ear to "stop moaning" about solitary living, then this is the book for you. Written very much in the style of her other book - "Orchids on your Budget" (about having a great life on not much money) the no-nonsense tone will have you positively revelling in having the place to yourself. Written quite a few years ago and obviously for an American market, the advice still holds good and will raise a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and fun., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is really good fun. It is funny and strict and has loads of good advice. In fact it is pretty much the same as books on simplifying and decluttering written today. Except more amusing. I'd recommend this one over them as the tone is much less annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loving it, 30 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Alone And Like It (VMC) (Hardcover)
I bought this for a friend who said she has found it helpful and at times inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'its Fab '!!!!!, 12 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Live Alone And Like It (VMC) (Hardcover)
Fits neatly in your handbag and sure to make the sad and lonely single girl (not easily achieved) smile ! .. very plesed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Alone And Like It (VMC)
Live Alone And Like It (VMC) by Marjorie Hillis (Hardcover - 10 Mar 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews