Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read
Few novels pack the same emotional punch as Oryx and Crake. I finished the book feeling empathising with the pain of he main character Snowman AKA Jimmy. Snowman lives in a tree, starving, lonely and grieving. He might be the last normal left in the world. He acts as as sort of father figure to a group of genetically engineered almost-humans called Crakers after Crake...
Published on 26 Jun 2006 by David Snowdon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Dystopian World
The world that Snowman, formerly Jimmy, inhabits is a desolate place. It has been devastated by a virus that the company he was working for, released. He considers his present situation and looks back at his life so far. He has some laboratory creatures, Crakers, who listen to everything he says, and treat him as a God.

The world before is saturated with the...
Published 8 months ago by Half Man, Half Book


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Kindle Edition)
I know I have to write something as a review, but I just really enjoyed this trilogy. I love Margaret Attwood and I love science fiction/fantasy. I spent a wonderful month reading the trilogy one after another and was a little bit sad when I got to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to the bone?, 25 Feb 2013
By 
S. Walker (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who has wondered about the food chain issues raised by the recent horsemeat scandal, has any interest in genetic manipulation or any curiosity about what could go wrong if current trends go too far should read this now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Paperback)
This book is fantastic as the first of the trio. My favourite is the second in the series, which I read first - but it doesn't matter if you read the first two in the wrong order. They are insightful and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Kindle Edition)
This is the second read, a couple of years apart, and I got some more out of it. Now for a second time to 'The Year of the Flood', her following book which I expect to be equally good, knowing MA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary!!!!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Kindle Edition)
I've not read an Atwood book since school (longer ago than I care to admit!). This was a scarily real feeling read - going to buy the whole trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't fulfil its potential, 4 Jan 2006
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Paperback)
This is the first Atwood book I have read. I liked this book in an absolute sense, but with 400+ pages I think Atwood could have changed the focus to make it much better than it is. As some other reviewers have already written - the book is slow to begin with but pulls you along as you head towards the end, and much of the science is implied rather than explicit (but I kind of like that, personally). However, these points also weaken it, because just as it gets really interesting ... it ends!! Maybe it's crying out for a sequel. What I would really have like to have seen is less focus on the historic context of events leading up to the present time (although there would still be room for that, given the book's length), and more on the socialogical and spiritual issues around having a new society (i.e. the Crakers) and the dynamics around that, especially when that's also affected by the fact that Crake has tried (with varying levels of success) to genetically engineer certain traits (e.g. remove the part of the neural cortex responsible for spiritual needs).
So in summary, a good book, spoilt a little (for me at least) by a feeling that it had the potential for certain aspects to have been developed further at the cost of others.
But one thing I can say is that it is very thought-provoking on several levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ..., 20 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Paperback)
A very disappointing book from Margaret Atwood. The storyline is confusing at first, then increasingly predictable. The charaters are poorly developed and there are too many weak sub-plots. Read Alias Grace, The Handmaids Tale or The Blind Assasin if you really want to enjoy Margaret Atwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Kindle Edition)
its ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not science fiction, 8 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. S. Jones (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Paperback)
I'm a Margaret Atwood fan, the Handmaids Tale was the best book I had read until I read Oryx and Crake, WOW, this isn't science fiction, this could very well be the day after tomorrow.
Brilliant reading and I will never tire of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oryx And Crake (Kindle Edition)
I just loved this book, absolutely loved it! I personally prefer Atwood's writing when she writes in the genre of "sci-fi".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oryx And Crake
Oryx And Crake by Margaret Atwood (Paperback - 1 April 2004)
Used & New from: £0.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews