Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Videogames You Must Play Before You Die
If you are a gamer, you need this book.
The ultimate history lesson and the greatest shopping list ever created, get ready to grab your credit card and scour the internet, high street shop or console marketplace in order to get every game on this list.
Well written, eye opening, interesting & a fun read if a bit heavy to carry around.
Published 11 months ago by potatoes351

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly odd selection...
As with all of the 1001 books, this is a great volume to leave on your coffee table to duck in and out of every so often. It's well written and has just enough information to convince you that you're learning something rather than just reading a list!
One complaint (and this applies to all of the 1001 books) is that after approximately every half-dozen pages you get...
Published 11 months ago by Davey Mclaren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Videogames You Must Play Before You Die, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die (Paperback)
If you are a gamer, you need this book.
The ultimate history lesson and the greatest shopping list ever created, get ready to grab your credit card and scour the internet, high street shop or console marketplace in order to get every game on this list.
Well written, eye opening, interesting & a fun read if a bit heavy to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I bought it twice!, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. J. A. Davies (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die (Paperback)
As a video game enthusiast with a collection of around 35 consoles from around the world, this book was originally bought for me as a Christmas present several years ago. This updated version includes a few newer games than the original release but is none the less as excellent.
It is clear, has many pictures and almost flawless.
There is the odd game that I feel should have made it in to this book, but that is subjective. If you are looking at something which will detail 90% of the greatest video games ever released then this book is for you. It is easy to read and although I've now had this (and the original) for several years I find myself thumbing through the pages on an almost weekly basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any gamer, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die (Paperback)
1001 games over the past 40 years and bringing back memories for those that remember pong or a nice history lesson for the younger generation of how the games that are played today differed to those back in the earl 70's

Huge titles and games that you may say "i remember that one" or "i never seen this one before"

It has someone for everyone in the gaming word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly odd selection..., 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: 1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die (Paperback)
As with all of the 1001 books, this is a great volume to leave on your coffee table to duck in and out of every so often. It's well written and has just enough information to convince you that you're learning something rather than just reading a list!
One complaint (and this applies to all of the 1001 books) is that after approximately every half-dozen pages you get a double-page spread with no pictures of the four games being discussed. This is a bit annoying as the subject of video games is so visual.
The other issue I have with the book is the selection of the 1001 games themselves...for a western audience it may appear bizarrely obsessed with side/vertically scrolling shoot-em-up games that you've never heard of. At the same time there are hugely influencial games missing. 'Hard Drivin' is mentioned at one point as the first 3D driving game, but doesn't merit inclusion in the list for some reason. Also, massive sellers from the 8-bit years in the UK such as 'Last Ninja' are absent whilst long forgotten N64 game 'Wave Race 64' is included even though the write-up says the game is rubbish! The editors also seem to have an obsession with the LucasArts text/point-n-click adventure games for some unknown reason...I'd struggle to name a Lucas game that doesn't feature in this book!
Ultimately such a list is never going to completely please everyone, but the imbalance in this particular 1001 book struck me moreso than with any of the other 4 or 5 that I own.
Worth buying? Definitely? A definitive list for a UK audience? Not at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing reference, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die (Paperback)
A great coffee table book to pick up and flick through whenever the mood takes. Fabulously laid out with great pictures to go along with the game write ups. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 2 Jan 2014
By 
J. A. Evans "Snaede" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die (Paperback)
Seemed well accepted by my son for whom I bought it. He spent time going through it and talking about games he'd already played and seemed pleased, so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great present for an old gamer, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for my husband. He actually works in the games industry so I was skeptical as to whether a real gamer like him would get much out of it. I was pleased though, he loved it. I think what was great for him was the nostalgia. Having been gaming for 25 years and making games professionally for 16 years he knew a lot, if not all, of the entries and has spent a lot of time flicking through this book with a coffee, exclaiming every minute or so; "Ooh I remember that, did you play that one? That was so great/hard/pretty!" etc.
I think if it'll work for my husband, the hardest person to buy presents for!, then it will work for any gamer. I would qualify that though. This book is best for nostalgia, don't buy it for a young gamer. My 11 year old step son didn't get much out of it as the very recent games are given little space. It would be interesting to see the changes in a decade or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die
1001: Video Games You Must Play Before You Die by Tony Mott (Paperback - 7 Oct 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews