Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, a stunning collection of world beers
1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, is an excellent book for the beer fanatic. It features a collection of 1001 beers from across the globe. It is not devised like similar books (300 Beers to Try Before You Die) by style eg Ipa, stout, pilsner but by colour eg amber, blond, dark and speciality. Yes the last one was not a colour but its to sort out the ones which do...
Published on 21 Jun. 2010 by E. Cracknell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Beers
Funny book of beers from all over the world. I heard about it on a Simon Mayo program on evening, and had a compulsion to buy it for a laugh more than anything. I have had many over the names they call some.
I have had my fun and worth keeping in the bathroom for visitors to gape at.
Published 16 months ago by graemebg


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, a stunning collection of world beers, 21 Jun. 2010
By 
E. Cracknell "Edd" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, is an excellent book for the beer fanatic. It features a collection of 1001 beers from across the globe. It is not devised like similar books (300 Beers to Try Before You Die) by style eg Ipa, stout, pilsner but by colour eg amber, blond, dark and speciality. Yes the last one was not a colour but its to sort out the ones which do not belong elsewhere eg Geuze.

Its also different as its not just written by Adrian Tierney-Jones, He is the general editor of the collection which features I believe 40 other writers, all who have had a part to play in the book and decide what goes in and what stays out. Adrian Tierney-Jones has not personally tasted all 1001 either and says so in the introduction, he does sum the book up nicely though, explaining why the book is organised as so and about why the are 40 other beer experts. He puts it that is not just one man's opinion but the wisdom of many.

This makes the book seem a little confusing at first, as it comes across as a mass collection of beers in no particular order, or reference to whether they are good, great or just interesting. This is because of all the different writers, as there is no information if they are good in the writers opinion. We just get a page of information about the brewer (information is a bit repetitive for beers by the same brewery), a picture and a small tasting box which contains a little information on what to expect in flavours. This is where other books (as mentioned) slightly get a higher mark in my book as they include more information on each beer and personal recommendation as to the tastes and flavours. This by no means means its bad either, its an excellent collection rather than a guide, similar in some aspects to the late Mr Jacksons Great Beer Guide: The World's 500 Best Beers. An excellent reference book maybe rather than a guide.

Its excellent value for money too as its 960 pages! The book is around three inch thick and contains many pictures of the beers themselves with the correct glass or interesting beer themed images.
Its not the best beer guide but its is an unique and wonderful collection of beers well worth your book shelf space! Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brilliant book on beer, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't fault this super reference book on one of life's great pleasures.

This attractively produced book is rather sizeable and has been divided in to sections of colour- blonde, amber etc as opposed to different types of beer. This makes finding a specific beer very easy.

The vast majority of the beers have a page dedicated to them with historical backgrounds, tasting notes and a photograph of the bottle with (if possible) the official glass.

I would think that if one is a real aficionado of beer, the book maybe lacking a little information, but for someone who likes beer and enjoys reading up on the worlds best, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite perfect. Needs editing, 18 Mar. 2011
This book describes an amazing collection of beers from around the world. It's a joy to pick up and browse and it will open your eyes to lots of new beers. For me though there are still a couple of problems in the way that the book is edited. Firstly the book should be re-titled `1001 BOTTLED Beers...' because draft only beers are overlooked. This means that in the UK you'll find no mention of Bass or Tetley Bitter (nor Tetley dark mild for that matter). OK I know that beer geeks will say that these are not the beers they once were but if US Bud and Pabst BR can be included by way of historic reference then surely these famous old English marques should be in the book? My other gripe is the US-centric selection where a quarter of all beers are from America. Given that so many of these beers are `in the style of' European originals then why not go back to the source beers? Clearly the editors also wanted to spread the net far afield for the remaining three quarters of the book but can it really be right that minor countries (in brewing terms) get such a look in? For example three Sudbrack beers from Brazil and only two De Molen's from Holland. This strikes me as making the numbers up to try and get a spread of geographic representation regardless of the quality/ interest of the actual beer. Oh sorry, one last moan! Morrisey Fox Blonde included in the English section? Do me a favour, there are a thousand better beers in the UK ahead of MF. Is it just a coincidence that Neil Morrisey wrote the book's foreword? Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 16 May 2011
Some may fret that their favourite isn't here but don't be put off. This book isn't "1001 of the world's best beers" it's just a collection of beers that you should try so that you can gain an appreciation of the many varied styles available, many only the die hard beer geek will know of. Yes there are a handful that are quite ordinary or downright bland but they are all representative of a style so deserve their space. Many of those here that I've tried are, however, beautiful and complex. Most are available bottled and can be had via internet traders but I would suggest that once you get near the 600 mark you're going to have to start collecting air-miles as well as beers! In fact a small few can only be sampled at the breweries in question; so you could say you've got a travel book here too. There is a leaning toward the US but that's not necessarily a bad thing; many European breweries have changed their traditional recipes to "fit" the late 20th century trend for easy drinking beers so some fantastic complex styles were in danger of extinction. Over in the US the craft beer movement has been so strong that they've been desperate to recreate original styles and it could be argued that some of the best examples of very old beers are brewed there and it most certainly can be argued that some of the world's best new beers are now brewed there. It's for that reason I'm particularly pleased to see the likes of Meantime and Brew Dog featured strongly here as these, dare I say, US style breweries are giving the UK a well needed shot in the arm. If I've put you off because you think "this reviewer is clearly mad" don't be because my all time fav' is here and it's as traditional as can be; good old Timothy Taylors Landlord. I was a little disappointed that the book didn't point out that Landlord in the bottle is a very different beast to the cask version; more so than is the case with most cask/bottled examples. But you can't expect perfection in a book that's about opinion and the encouragement of self discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Quite a Challenge, 27 Dec. 2010
Bought this for a Birthday present for my boyfriend. It arrived in plenty of time and was well packed. I think it's a great book. We're off to Australia in a couple of months with a group of people so I'm going to set everyone the challenge of drinking as many of the beers as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did they count correctly?, 27 Oct. 2011
I was bought the book "1001 Beers you must try before you die" and have already had a lot of enjoyment looking up my favourite beers and reading about many more that I had not heard of before.

The fact that I started to record in the book the ones I had tried and, despite another review comment, some of the beers are available 'on tap' in pubs in the UK, meant that I decided to make a spreadsheet of all of the beers together with details of brewery, date 1st brewed and ABV. However, after listing all of the beers I can only find 1000 beers and I've checked and rechecked the listing and I'm almost sure it's correct.

So, maybe the title needs to be amended, or another beer added?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
Got this for a gift and the person was very impressed. Now using it to go around and sample. Big book so perfect for a beer lover. Got pictures in an logos in which makes it all better. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it! aswell as descriptions and info about each ..., 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Ms. Kate Lindley (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
bought as a gift for my brother-in-law who had mentioned in conversations about trying different beers from different countries ect. He loved it! aswell as descriptions and info about each one it even has a picture of the bottles, which i thought was great and was tempted to track a few down as an additional gift, but as he would have to carry it all on the train from manchester to london with all his other luggage i didnt. The book is HEAVY! and paperback so it will get scruffy and battered, but hey! he also mentiioned that he aims to try them all and keep a little notebook with what the thinks about each one, but he is rather neardy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
A great read for those people who are total beer geeks. Well written and illustrated with useful tips about what beer goes with what food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Arf of Beer, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An astonishingly detailed and informative book with a scope, scan and background that suggests a life's work and observation went into it. The pictures alone are worth the price - every beer beautifully photographed with its apposite bottle, details of labels and clear representations of each graphic design - and the mini histories are fascinating. Can't praise it enough as a super gift for any Brew Fan and even for those who seldom touch the stuff, like me. It's just a beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die
1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die by Adrian Tierney-Jones (Paperback - 7 Oct. 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews