Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So interesting, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
So many movies to watch. Recommended 100%; you might not agree with some selections, but thats the point I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for dipping in and out of, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Love having it at hand to dip into when the mood takes. Gives enough information to provoke an interest so I can then look for the film to rent after reading opinion reviews. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, interesting and well presented, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die is a really good companion to the history of film, giving an insight into the development of cinema and the innovative directors and techniques that have shaped its storytelling.

Because of the sheer number of films featured, this is a thick book of about 960 pages. The paper is slightly glossy and the colour images are high quality. I would perhaps have preferred a larger format page for handling, but this book has the advantage of being able to sit on most bookshelves.

The selections range from the early days of moving pictures with 1902's Voyage dans la Lune to the most recent entry, Life of Pi from 2012. There is a film index at the front of the book with checkboxes so you can mark the ones you have seen. The entries are colour-coded by decade at the page's edge and judging by the thickness of each decade on the book's fore edge, there are more films from the 1970s, then 60s, with fewer from the 2000s and naturally, least from the 2010s.

In terms of layout, the smaller entries get a short paragraph on half a page. Others get a page to themselves, and the more in-depth features have a double-page spread, usually with a still from the film filling the whole of one page, with a thumbnail reproduction of the poster, a quote and interesting piece of information on the other. Every entry has information about the film's cast and crew, run time, film stock, composer and any award wins/nominations. This makes it a nice alternative to looking something up on IMDB. The main entries are well written, concise and mix synopsis with placing the work within the history of film.

It is fun to just flick through and read randomly as I doubt you would consume it in chronological order. Its strength is that it covers a huge swathe of time and draws attention to a lot of foreign language films you may have missed. While it's likely you might wonder why one of your favourite films has been omitted, the scale and detail of the editing makes it an impressive and useful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
a great coffe table book to browse when you want it reminds you of films you have seen and films you know want to see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Good present for a teenager
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book and also a good conversation starter - perfect for film geeks., 2 May 2014
By 
David Fish (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
A friend of mine got this for Christmas and I bought my own copy as whenever I went round I couldn't help but pick it up. It's great just to flick through and read about films whether you have seen them or not. I really like the way the films are evenly picked to provide an excellent choice spanning both decades and genres so that it will certainly introduce you to many films that you haven't heard of and others that you may not want to watch but that are important nonetheless (e.g. Triumph des Willens, commissioned by Hitler). Reading through will also give you good reasons to revisit those that you have seen but may have forgotten about or not appreciated at the time (recently Robocop for me (last seen when I was about 12 so I hadn't appreciated the satirical brilliance)).

I also like that the tick list, so that you can be really geeky which also provides extra talking points when friends flick through it.

Despite the selection being excellent, everybody will have their opinions on what has been missed, and included. Personally I would have included Godzilla (far superior to King Kong, not that you could omit KK), The day of the Jackal, Irreversible, Dr No, Zatoichi (as opposed to Hana-Bi), The Silent World, and would replace one of the Chaplin films for The Great Dictator. And I would happily lose Vertigo (massively overrated), Tod Browning's Dracula (it may be iconic but you try and suffer it!), Drive (it's good but not that good), and dare I say it, the last two Tarantino films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone wanted to read it!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Bought this for my husband as he is a big movie fan and is always looking for new films he hasn't seen. Christmas guests all had a read through this book and said they wished they had it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
This is a must have for movie buffs. De!initive and detailed. Well worth the money. Nicely illustrated. Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
By 
Laurence Marks Esq "Franion" (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Quite exceptional service. Everything was as described and one could not have asked for more clarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Movies, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Have bought a previous version before as a gift for a movie fan. So did so again. The recipients were very pleased on both occasions.
Excellent value for money. Will buy again In the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die
1001: Movies You Must See Before You Die by Steven Jay Schneider (Paperback - 7 Oct 2013)
Used & New from: 4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews