Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable faces
There have been other books of photos of World War 1, and one might expect to see the same old images - but this is a collection of many unfamiliar, previously unseen photos - of subjects ranging from the Western Front, Gallipoli, the home front, and behind the lines - and both before, during and after the war.
The large format lends itself to the often panoramic...
Published on 30 Oct 2007 by Anne Thomas

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
There must be thousands of contemporary photographs encompassing all aspects of world war one , yet unfortunately this book with a few exceptions gives us the same old selection , and some of these in poorer quality than seen elsewhere. Overall a lazy , tired , and for its content overpriced book.
Published on 4 Jun 2009 by RUFUS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable faces, 30 Oct 2007
By 
Anne Thomas (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
There have been other books of photos of World War 1, and one might expect to see the same old images - but this is a collection of many unfamiliar, previously unseen photos - of subjects ranging from the Western Front, Gallipoli, the home front, and behind the lines - and both before, during and after the war.
The large format lends itself to the often panoramic images - and also allows you to see in detail extraordinary and haunting portraits - the 'faces' after which the book is named. It's a collection to please the expert and the interested browser alike - a WWI buff will appreciate the precisely captioned battle scenes - but any reader will feel the impact of the personal quotations which accompany many images - they add an extraordinary dimension to one's understanding of life and conditions in the trenches. It's an immensely moving photo-record, but my heart was particularly wrenched by the three Australian brothers who all died in one two-day attack, the home images of the average, working-class man who went to fight for king and country... not the Eton toffs, but the desperately poor. The images depict a world of contrasts, both in Britain and in Germany - but when it came down to it, all the men at the front were in the same boat, and returned after the conflict to their bleak lives with their terrible disfigurements, mental scars and the memory of lost comrades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Collection to make you think, 20 Aug 2008
By 
D. Stark "Donna Stark" (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree with the other reviews so will try not to repeat too much in my own review.

Children (and some adults) are all too dismissive of the previous generations and, although I would not recommend showing this to young children, it could help teenagers studying history to get a real sense of the conditions the men fighting in the First World War were subject to. The author does not shy away from showing the dead in photographs and I think it gives the reader something to think about and possibly discuss.

As a book, it is well thought out and presented beautifully. It's a book I would happily leave on my coffee table for friends to flick through. A couple of friends can not understand why I would want to look at pictures from the War (as they find the subject of warfare disturbing) but I've never believed in wrapping people in cotton wool - I think people should know what those men went through and be proud of them. Although it is a collection of frank photographs of war, I think the subject has been handled sensitively too - there are no gratuitous shots what so ever in this book.

Highly recommended to anyone who wants to get a real sense of the lives of the men involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 7 Aug 2008
By 
This is a brilliant book. Every picture, many of which I have never seen before tells a different story. Max Arthur has juxtaposed the photographs in chronological order and there is a real drama in the build up to the war from both sides and also in the lead up to the battles of the Somme and Arras. The consequence of the battles is poignantly told not only in photos but in words of the men who fought in them. I was particularly moved by the photo of the packs taken from the bodies of the dead, the photo shows British soldiers searching through for anything that can be sent home to the dead man's next of kin.

One particular photo is accompanied by the words of a young Lieutenant 'Now we die. It is the wet death, the muddy death, death dripping with blood. The bodies lie frozen in the earth which slowly sucks them in. The luckiest depart wrapped in canvas, to sleep in the nearest cemetery.'

But there are lighter moments such as the amazing shot of the Zulus dancing in their full battle costume and the tough looking Australian who the Kaiser loathed because he was always stealing from the German dead. There are many more like this in this memorable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faces of World War I: The Great War in words & pictures (Hardcover)
absolutely brilliant, amazing photos of world war 1 that you never heard about.. I never knew there were zulus on the western front... heartbreaking photos, images that rip at your heart and at the same time, perhaps just on the next page a photo that sings of love, compassion, humour, courage.... wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. such an important book. would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Addition to the WW1 Library, 6 Mar 2008
This is first and foremost a picture book. As you might expect, there are many uncomfortable images, but it is a far more balanced book than that. There are many depictions of strong comradeship and even happiness amongst the desperate conditions and casualties of the trenches. Without much in the way of text, it doesn't fully, even with pictures, convey the 'grit' of the WW1 experience that I think many of today's, removed generation would like to understand. But as a picture book, it has no rival, and is beautifully printed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The tragedy of the Great War in words and pictures, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Lance Grundy (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Faces of World War I: The Great War in words & pictures (Hardcover)
Primarily focusing on the Western Front, this magnificently illustrated history book provides a visually stunning [and at times quite moving] record of World War One. High quality photographs are combined with well-chosen quotations from soldiers and civilians on both sides of the conflict to create a comprehensive account of the First World War in words and pictures [many of the quotes are taken from the author's acclaimed 2003 book Forgotten Voices of the Great War]. From the optimism of 1914 to the despair of 1918, and all the suffering in between, the handpicked photographs capture it all.

As you'd expect there are plenty of grim images to be found here and the deterioration of both the men themselves and the conditions they fought in is plain to see as you turn the pages. However, there are some sparks of light amidst all the darkness. As Ian Hislop says in the foreword, it's striking how often "the men smile at the camera when, to our eyes, there can be so little to smile about" and there are numerous photographs of the soldiers smiling and laughing while engaged in everything from football matches to pillow fights.

One thing I did read in this book that I wasn't previously aware of is that in some regiments the soldiers used to play football together as they went 'over the top'. To keep their morale up they'd pass the ball to each other as they crossed over no-man's land towards the enemy guns. As one Tommy recalls about the very first time he 'went over': "I remember the ball dropping at my feet and I passed it to Captain Maxwell. 'That was a good pass you made, young Withers' he shouted, before he thumped it towards the German lines". A great little anecdote, I thought, of the kind that would make this book a worthwhile read for anyone with an interest in the First World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 'Bring Reality To Life Book', 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faces of World War I: The Great War in words & pictures (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for older children and adults. Was perfect for my teenage son's school project, as the graphic pictures appealed, and sparked his interest. Every page has real life photos, and brief texts, ((some written by soldiers) which give a real insight into the reality of war; the hardships, and the sense of humour which endured through this horrific period. It is a true reminder of a past which should never be forgotten
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faces of World War I: The Great War in words & pictures (Hardcover)
An excellent pictorial portrayal of WW1.
Well documented,presented and priced.
Twenty words is a lot to write when one will do.
Excellent,very good,gut wrenching at times.
A pictoroial illustration of Edwardian England
The men who fought, many of whom died.
The faces, bodies and victims of war,
before political correctness was invented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, Very well produced., 10 Jan 2010
By 
Fraser Lock-Macardy (Buckinghamshire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very pleased to have purchased this as a Christmas Present for very good friend of mine. I purley based my purchase from the glowing reviews given by customers who have purchased this book from Amazon.
Obviously, before wrapping this I had to carefully scan the pictures inside, ('as you do'). I must admit I was bowled over by the quality and gravity of the photographs included.
War photography does not come more profound than the black and white images depicted in this book....perhaps I say this because it is of a war that everyone's' ancestors were affected by.
This book is grand in hard back form and I could not think it to be half as impressive in a paper binding, should one exhist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faces of World War I: The Great War in words & pictures (Hardcover)
Arrived well packaged, in excellent condition and delivery was quick. A picture paints a thousand words..a phrase certainly true of this book. Some of the images are fairly hard hitting, brings home the truth about a brutal war,, yet some images show the incredible humanity and humour our boys found. A great book showing why these heroes (each and everyone of them) must never be forgotten. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Faces of World War I: The Great War in words & pictures
12.51
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews