Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent, endlessly browseable art book.
This 960-page updated edition(2011) of '1001 Paintings' is one of the most comprehensive and informative art books that I've come across.
Professor Stephen Farthing has selected paintings from pre-1400 to the 2000s and each painting is accompanied by an illuminating and accessible text written by one of an international team of art experts. The paintings, which...
Published on 23 May 2012 by Jazzrook

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good birthday gift for art teacher friend
Bought this,as a gift for art teacher friend and she loved it although did comment that not enough information on galleries where paintings are held.
Published 8 months ago by scattygranny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent, endlessly browseable art book., 23 May 2012
By 
Jazzrook - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
This 960-page updated edition(2011) of '1001 Paintings' is one of the most comprehensive and informative art books that I've come across.
Professor Stephen Farthing has selected paintings from pre-1400 to the 2000s and each painting is accompanied by an illuminating and accessible text written by one of an international team of art experts. The paintings, which include many overlooked masterpieces, are listed by artist and title and the book concludes with a useful glossary of art terms.
Most people are unlikely to see all the original 1001 paintings discussed here in their lifetime but this magnificent, endlessly browseable book is an excellent alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous reference / browsing book, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant reference book and also good for browsing. Very heavy, so not good for lugging round the galleries, but fascinating for exploring art and giving good leads for future gallery visits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weighty but a Good Buy, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
I bought this for my brother for a Christmas present who is interested in the Great Masters paintings.
The photographs of the paintings and information regarding the painter and subject are good and to the point,
just enough to keep you interested! As you can imagine 1001 pages makes it quite a hefty tome and once you
have read it you could always use it as a door stop for you studio door!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Defo worth the money, this book will serve me well with the amount of research I have to do on my college course. book was second hand but in absolute excellent cond. the book provides great images and a bit about the artist and the work to help you understand it more. All round good buy and would recommend 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Paintings Tou Must See before you die, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Excellent coffee table reference book for picking up and reading -good value for the price -a good range of subject matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb art reference book., 10 Sep 2013
By 
Alan Davies (Aberdare. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Ranks with Andrew Graham-Dixon's DK volume of Art, The Definitive Guide as one of the all time best books you could wish to own on art. Beautiful and wide in its concept. Highly recommended to the general art loving public and to artists themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paintings, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. K. E. Williams "Singing Cat" (Nottingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Bought it just for reference but found it interesting to "just read". Nice to see some pictures in it that i have seen, but also nice to find there are some which are quite accessable for me to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information, not too highbrow., 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Only quibble I have with this book is that it doesn't have a section on each gallery so you can make sure you've caught all the paintings you should see in each (e.g. the Uffizi) one. Otherwise the amount of information given on each painting and the reproductions are great. I only wish that those in private collections were available to view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
I gave this to an artist as a present and she has confirmed it is inspiring and the tick list at the back is usefull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die (Paperback)
Lovely pictures. Easy to search. Very interseting to read. I like it. But it missd some very famous pictures that I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die
1001: Paintings You Must See Before You Die by Stephen Farthing (Paperback - 1 Sep 2011)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews