Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, a stunning collection of world beers
1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, is an excellent book for the beer fanatic. It features a collection of 1001 beers from across the globe. It is not devised like similar books (300 Beers to Try Before You Die) by style eg Ipa, stout, pilsner but by colour eg amber, blond, dark and speciality. Yes the last one was not a colour but its to sort out the ones which do...
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by E. Cracknell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Beers
Funny book of beers from all over the world. I heard about it on a Simon Mayo program on evening, and had a compulsion to buy it for a laugh more than anything. I have had many over the names they call some.
I have had my fun and worth keeping in the bathroom for visitors to gape at.
Published 7 months ago by graemebg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, a stunning collection of world beers, 21 Jun 2010
By 
E. Cracknell "Edd" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, is an excellent book for the beer fanatic. It features a collection of 1001 beers from across the globe. It is not devised like similar books (300 Beers to Try Before You Die) by style eg Ipa, stout, pilsner but by colour eg amber, blond, dark and speciality. Yes the last one was not a colour but its to sort out the ones which do not belong elsewhere eg Geuze.

Its also different as its not just written by Adrian Tierney-Jones, He is the general editor of the collection which features I believe 40 other writers, all who have had a part to play in the book and decide what goes in and what stays out. Adrian Tierney-Jones has not personally tasted all 1001 either and says so in the introduction, he does sum the book up nicely though, explaining why the book is organised as so and about why the are 40 other beer experts. He puts it that is not just one man's opinion but the wisdom of many.

This makes the book seem a little confusing at first, as it comes across as a mass collection of beers in no particular order, or reference to whether they are good, great or just interesting. This is because of all the different writers, as there is no information if they are good in the writers opinion. We just get a page of information about the brewer (information is a bit repetitive for beers by the same brewery), a picture and a small tasting box which contains a little information on what to expect in flavours. This is where other books (as mentioned) slightly get a higher mark in my book as they include more information on each beer and personal recommendation as to the tastes and flavours. This by no means means its bad either, its an excellent collection rather than a guide, similar in some aspects to the late Mr Jacksons Great Beer Guide: The World's 500 Best Beers. An excellent reference book maybe rather than a guide.

Its excellent value for money too as its 960 pages! The book is around three inch thick and contains many pictures of the beers themselves with the correct glass or interesting beer themed images.
Its not the best beer guide but its is an unique and wonderful collection of beers well worth your book shelf space! Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brilliant book on beer, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
I can't fault this super reference book on one of life's great pleasures.

This attractively produced book is rather sizeable and has been divided in to sections of colour- blonde, amber etc as opposed to different types of beer. This makes finding a specific beer very easy.

The vast majority of the beers have a page dedicated to them with historical backgrounds, tasting notes and a photograph of the bottle with (if possible) the official glass.

I would think that if one is a real aficionado of beer, the book maybe lacking a little information, but for someone who likes beer and enjoys reading up on the worlds best, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Quite a Challenge, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
Bought this for a Birthday present for my boyfriend. It arrived in plenty of time and was well packed. I think it's a great book. We're off to Australia in a couple of months with a group of people so I'm going to set everyone the challenge of drinking as many of the beers as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did they count correctly?, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
I was bought the book "1001 Beers you must try before you die" and have already had a lot of enjoyment looking up my favourite beers and reading about many more that I had not heard of before.

The fact that I started to record in the book the ones I had tried and, despite another review comment, some of the beers are available 'on tap' in pubs in the UK, meant that I decided to make a spreadsheet of all of the beers together with details of brewery, date 1st brewed and ABV. However, after listing all of the beers I can only find 1000 beers and I've checked and rechecked the listing and I'm almost sure it's correct.

So, maybe the title needs to be amended, or another beer added?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite perfect. Needs editing, 18 Mar 2011
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
This book describes an amazing collection of beers from around the world. It's a joy to pick up and browse and it will open your eyes to lots of new beers. For me though there are still a couple of problems in the way that the book is edited. Firstly the book should be re-titled `1001 BOTTLED Beers...' because draft only beers are overlooked. This means that in the UK you'll find no mention of Bass or Tetley Bitter (nor Tetley dark mild for that matter). OK I know that beer geeks will say that these are not the beers they once were but if US Bud and Pabst BR can be included by way of historic reference then surely these famous old English marques should be in the book? My other gripe is the US-centric selection where a quarter of all beers are from America. Given that so many of these beers are `in the style of' European originals then why not go back to the source beers? Clearly the editors also wanted to spread the net far afield for the remaining three quarters of the book but can it really be right that minor countries (in brewing terms) get such a look in? For example three Sudbrack beers from Brazil and only two De Molen's from Holland. This strikes me as making the numbers up to try and get a spread of geographic representation regardless of the quality/ interest of the actual beer. Oh sorry, one last moan! Morrisey Fox Blonde included in the English section? Do me a favour, there are a thousand better beers in the UK ahead of MF. Is it just a coincidence that Neil Morrisey wrote the book's foreword? Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent and varied challenge from all over the world. 6 beers down already. Well worth buying and giving it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best friends christmas present., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
It was a great gift for my friend , he really loved it. Its not the usual sort of gift but it fitted in just nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Beers, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny book of beers from all over the world. I heard about it on a Simon Mayo program on evening, and had a compulsion to buy it for a laugh more than anything. I have had many over the names they call some.
I have had my fun and worth keeping in the bathroom for visitors to gape at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Beer Book, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
If you want to know about beers, ales, lager this is the book for you.

I still have many to taste!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1001 Beers, 17 July 2013
By 
Joanne M. PHILLIPS "Joanne" (Maidenhead, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die (Paperback)
I bought 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die for my husband as a present and he thorough enjoys it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die
1001 Beers: You Must Try Before You Die by Adrian Tierney-Jones (Paperback - 3 May 2010)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews