Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading
This is a book unlike any I have read for quite a while. Engaging and honest, it captivates the audience as they undergo a psychological journey alongside the author. Its knowledge and understanding of the processes of therapy gives a unique flavour as we see their impacts and results clearly played out. Perfect for those interested in the specific area of psychology,...
Published on 9 Nov 2006 by Ms. J. Shapiro

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Therapy
This is a good story, but I have to say that it was very drawn out :o( Over half of the book was about her families past and the people in it. It got very tiresome and sorry to say somewhat far fetched. I completely lost the plot as to who was who and their relationship. Maybe I thought it would explain more about the therapeutic process, but there is very little written...
Published on 6 Oct 2012 by Pinkfairy24


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 9 Nov 2006
By 
Ms. J. Shapiro (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
This is a book unlike any I have read for quite a while. Engaging and honest, it captivates the audience as they undergo a psychological journey alongside the author. Its knowledge and understanding of the processes of therapy gives a unique flavour as we see their impacts and results clearly played out. Perfect for those interested in the specific area of psychology, this biography also manages to appeal to those with little or no knowledge of the area. A challenging and engaging read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing Read, 15 May 2007
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
I am writing this because this book has changed my view of life. I've been in counselling for a
while for relationship and job problems and have read a few books trying to help me sort out myself.

This book has stood out because it's a true story of a person trying to sort their problems out. It put my problems into perspective because the stuff that this person has had to deal with makes you realise what's important in life. I did find some of the abuse stuff hard to deal with but real life is tough and it helped me realise all the good I've had in my life.
I think this person had a lot of guts writing this book and I found it such an awesome story
that I read it over a couple of days (no spelling mistakes hit me!). I thought the way she mixed
the sessions with her counsellor and told us about her life was a great 'movie' and kept me wanting to read more-it's got a few tracks going on so you have to keep thinking!
If you want to see life from another side and get the good back in your life- read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 21 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
My Therapy by Marian Davies is a thought provoking read and I thoroughly recommend it.
An essential book for anyone wanting to gain an insight into the therapeutic process, for anyone in training or in therapy themselves.
We follow Marian on a challenging and painful journey as she talks honestly and compellingly about her traumatic past. The book is often harrowing to read but it is written with great courage and determination. A brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Sad, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
This book was recommended on my Uni book list. It made me really think about how peoples upbringing can affect their journey through life, and we should not criticise others so easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Therapy by Marian Davies, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
I have recently completed reading this amazing story of a very brave woman. I find her style of writing holds the reader gripped to the last page as events and hidden memories of trauma unfold during her years spent in therapy. It left me with so many questions which I hope may one day lead to a sequel. As a psychotherapist who works with severe trauma and abuse, I question whether the perpetrators were ever brought to justice and struggle with my own feelings of anger that such practices exist in the world today. A book well worth reading but would offer a caution that if unable to deal with severe trauma on a horrific topic, then you may need to skip a few paragraphs! Highly recommended to all and especially to those involved in the caring fields, whether social services, counselling or other. Elise Wardle, MA MBACP (Accred.)My Therapy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Therapy, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
This is a good story, but I have to say that it was very drawn out :o( Over half of the book was about her families past and the people in it. It got very tiresome and sorry to say somewhat far fetched. I completely lost the plot as to who was who and their relationship. Maybe I thought it would explain more about the therapeutic process, but there is very little written about the therapist and what she says and does. Most of it is about her being strict and serious, what is all that about? Makes me unsure about my therapy now. Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Therapy, 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
I found this book to be both engaging and disturbing, as a therapist I could relate to the process between the therapist and the client and as a human being, I could relate to the pain that Marian was going through.
I found the book to be honest, infact so honest it hurt.
A journey of one person through a life of pain, I have never read a book that is so truthfull about the discomfort of therapy, having to bare your soul to a stranger in an attempt to make life baerable, infact I have never read a book like this, where there is virtually no mention of joy or happiness in someones life.
A compelling read for Therapist or none Therapist, I cannot say that it is enjoyable, but what i can say is that you will not want to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Therapy: practical aspects, 10 Nov 2006
By 
Alan (London (UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
This book is a 'real-life' case study that can be used within an academic course. The story is in no doubt very moving but of immense value is the in-depth insight into the psycho-analytical therapeutic process from within the process itself.

The author is both the subject and a highly educated academic - a unique very well written book that you will not forget for a very long time - if ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Therapy review, 28 Jun 2012
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
I felt My Therapy was a very honest and heartfelt account of a journey through a therapeutic process which took Marian from the depths of very profound despair and depression to a state where she was able to integrate her tragic past, move on and face her life with dignity and understanding. It takes place over a long period of time and gives a detailed description of the different stages and phases that she goes through.

It is written in a down to earth and flowing style so that despite the horror of some of her experiences the reader is able to see how these are dealt with and processed. I think Marian has shown great courage in narrating her story and as well as taking us through her personal therapy it must also reflect the power of writing to also come to terms with her life.

I strongly recommend the book to anyone who wants to understand more about how this form of psychotherapy can help to rebuild a person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 6 May 2007
By 
This review is from: My Therapy (Paperback)
I brought this book because I am currently in therapy and wanted to read about some other people's experiences of therapy but this book wasn't at all what I expected. There are only a few times when the actual therapy relationship and the process of therapy are mentioned. Mostly this book is the author telling the story of her childhood - it just happens that she's set it in the context of telling her therapist. The few times things relating to actual therapy are mentioned they aren't explored at all. The style of writing was also disappointing. The book is self-published and it really needs some editing to sort out the spelling mistakes and the structure of sentences. There is also a lot of irrelevant detail which becomes annoying after a while. If you're looking for a book about someone's experience of therapy then please don't waste your money on this book. To be honest I wouldn't recommend that anyone buy this book - it could work as an autobiography of an abusive childhood if it was rewritten but there are already plenty of books about that on the market to buy if that's what you're looking for. I'm very, very surprised that the other reviews of this book have been so positive. I've never written a review on here before but I felt that I had to write one about this book as I brought this on the strength of the other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Therapy
My Therapy by Marian Davies (Paperback - 6 Oct 2006)
£4.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews