Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2011
Love Music Love Food: The Rock Star Cookbook, is not your standard cookbook, as in not like the kind you would get from Jamie Oliver or Nigella Lawson, or even Gordon Ramsey. If, however you like a book which gives you something extra rather than just a standard recipe that you could make for a few friends, then this book is it.

You could say it's more of a gift than anything else. It provides recipes that are imaginative, creative and unique. Recipes for 'Jerk Chicken Pizza' and 'Haggis, Tatties and Neep Timbale with Whisky Sauce' are what makes it imaginative, but what makes it unique are its recipes for the 'Perfect Cuppa' or 'Eggy Soldiers'.

The photography is as unique as its recipes, all executed with style and panache. Its creativity is what makes its portraits imaginative, the idea to cover singer VV Brown in Marmite or Kasabian and Noel Fielding recreating a Beggars Banquet are masterstrokes, its attention to detail truly outstanding.

The interviews with each artist gives an insight in to why each type of food is important to them. It comes as no surprise that some of them are not great cooks, but this is of no great importance. This book is about the musicians favourite foods, not how good they can cook.

Ultimately this book gives an insight into the world of music, and specifically, its musicians and their love for food. Its fascinating portraits will make you want to at least attempt most if not all of the recipes, and if that is not enough, its all for a good cause... Its in aid of Teenage Cancer Trust, and notably its Patron, Roger Daltrey has a recipe created by none other than, Heston Blumenthal, who has also written a foreword for the book.

With stores now getting ready for christmas, this is the perfect gift for anyone who has a slight interest in food and music, something which I have planned for a number of relatives.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
Love Music Love Food is a coffee-table sized book of photography featuring rock stars and their favourite recipes. If you ever wanted to know what makes Noel Gallagher or Suggs of Madness salivate, what tickles Ellie Gouding's or Johnny Borrell's tastebuds, this is the book for you! What initially attracted me to the book was the photography - not just the quality of it [which is excellent] but the humour. A moody Noel stands beside a guitar case over-flowing with his favourite tipple [Yorkshire Tea, what else...], Alex Kapranos of Franz Ferdinand strikes a heroic pose with a beetroot skewered on a pitchfork, as a stuffed stag looks on. There's a surreal, absurd comedy to the pictures, which makes the Rock Gods featured seem very human and down to earth - as do their chosen recipes. Who would have thought the glamorous Sophie Ellis Bextor would plump for fish'n'chips [& a gherkin] or, on the other hand, that Punk heroes the Buzzcocks would indulge in Champagne and Oysters? I haven't tried out any of the recipes, I'm no chef, but I defy you not to salivate over some of the food shots. I've hinted here at the broad spread of Stars who have donated recipes [the book is sold in aid of the charity the Teenage Cancer Trust], but to mention a few more - Richard Hawley, Eliza Doolittle, Mick Hucknell, Siouxsie Sioux, Rolf Harris, Coco Sumner...you get the idea. Apart from the photographs there are interesting interviews with each of the stars revealing their connections with food. You couldn't go wrong with this as a Christmas present for anyone who loves rock and pop music, anyone who loves food, anyone who loves good photography, and anyone who has a slightly mad sense of humour. Which, come to think of it, covers most people I know.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
The concept of this book was born out of love of music and food to raise money for the Teenage Cancer Trust. The artists featured in the book have all supported the teen charity, some over the years, some are new comers. The cover jacket is a very strong image of Juliet Lewis sitting on a purple setting, with her long wind-swept hair, wearing a black and silver sequined figure hugging outfit, squashing a hand full of berries with her one of her bare hands and a upright guitar placed in between her legs. Take that away and it's a plain, mat black hardcover. The book contains 235 pages full of recipes, foreworded by Heston Blumental. The rock stars quotes and suggestions of their favorite restaurant hangouts, loves and hates from childhood. The photography in this cookbook differ from the others cookbooks, because the images are not of the finished dishes or ingredients by themselves, they are pictures of the musicians with their favorite food or ingredient in a very rock'n roll way. All images in the book is by the London food photographer Patricie de Villiers.

The recipes were devised by Sarah Muir, who has been cooking for rocks stars on the road for many years. I tried one recipe of this book, the Gringo Bandito Sauce Buffalo chicken. The sauce is hot with a subtle sweetness that works well with the crispy chicken skin. I read the other recipes and they seen to be easy to follow and they use ingredients that are easy to find in supermarkets. This is a stunning tabletop book for a worthy cause. At £30, or on Amazon for around £18 it makes lovely present for a foodie and/or music lover. Thanks Quadrille for sending this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
Love Music Love Food is a unique combination of brilliant and unique photographic portraits, interviews and recipes with 75 different music artists or bands making what is altogether a very different book.

This is a coffee table size book that will certainly create interest and discussion; on first glance, the temptation is to quickly turn to a favourite artist or band, (I can't say mine really is Sparks but they are in there!) and to then look at what that artist or band like to eat, then you get drawn in by the amazing photography, the detail of the recipe; and then there is the interview which reveals more about each person/band.

Sarah Muir (a tour caterer) has designed the recipes based on information gleaned from the interviews with the various artists. So these are not really each acts most cooked recipes at home, however they are really quite good in a lot of instances. Fair to say not many of us will be sitting down to Oysters and Champagne (Buzzcocks), Lobster Thermodor (Mick Hucknall) or making lots of sushi at home for supper (numerous artists seem to love sushi in this book!). But there are some real (hidden) gems in there like recipes for Swedish Meatballs (Erik Hassle), Paella (Paloma Faith) and Black Pudding and Fig Stuffed Belly of Pork (Kasabian). As well as sushi there are several quite good looking curry recipes!

Some of the recipes are quite simple and would take little effort like, Blueberry Fool (Brett Anderson from Suede); Traditional Roast Rib of Beef and Gravey (Paul Oakonfold), and Jaffa Cake Semifredo (Example).

There are a few drink recipes dotted around as well, such Red Wine Gums Vodka (Kelly Jones/Stereophonics), which had particular appeal for its simplicity if not flavour, Flake Shakes (Hadoukeni) and even Yorkshire Tea (Noel Gallagher).

Yes there is a range of recipes here and yes this book does not take itself 'that' seriously.

But Love Music Love Food has a serious undertone in that it has been put together to help raise finds for the Teenage Cancer Trust, the artists taking part have donated their time and the world renowned photographer Patrice de Villiers has done such a tremendous job.

Buy this book and you will be supporting a truly worthwhile cause as well as making someone's day. Make no mistake this book rocks in size and the quality of the publication!

This book would make a really cool gift for anyone that likes music, photography or cooking as its so unusual. If you have to buy an unusual gift for someone who likes all 3 you are cannot fail to impress by giving them this.

Not your everyday recipe book, but if you know a really cool cook who has the volume turned right up in the kitchen look no further they will love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
This impressively weighty coffee table book is packed with glossy photographs and recipes contributed by a wide range of music artists (including Noel Gallagher, Paloma Faith, Example and Rolf Harris). Some of the proceeds are being donated to the Teenage Cancer Trust, another good reason to buy the book. An informative and amusing read, I would recommend it to people who love cooking and music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
I am loving this book from renowned food photographer Patrice de Villiers, it is an explosive riot of interesting recipes, incisive interviews and amazing photographs, all for the very very worthy cause that is the Teenage Cancer Trust. An eclectic mix of musicians are featured that really seem to span the generations from artists I remember listening to with my parents (such as Brian May, Roger Daltrey and Tony Christie) to current favourites (Paloma Faith, White lies and Alex Kapranos). The pictures are excellent featuring each artist with their favourite food, a creative challenge for sure given some of the celebs odd choices.

Unlike the previous reviewer I actually think having special recipes inspired by the artists favourite food is what makes this book more exciting. I imagine otherwise we would have been reading some quite bland recipes along the lines of fish and chips, sausage and mash etc, simple homely recipes that these busy celebrities may have time to cook every so often.
What we get however are some truly inspired recipes such as Miso Glazed Suzuki (Ellie goulding), Jaffa cake Semifreddo (Example) and Red Wine Gum Vodka (Kelly Jones).

No these are not dishes cooked by these people (or maybe now they have tried them, who knows?), but chef Sarah Muir has risen to the challenge of creating exciting dishes from either very normal or totally oddball foods with considerable aplomb. It's a crazy fantasy world that results, this is the food we want these rock and roll gods to be eating, not the stuff we mortals have to suffer...

It's maybe not a rock and roll cookbook in the most obvious sense but it definitely packs a lot more rock and roll than any other cookbook out there and I love it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Bought this for my brother as it included a recipe from one of our favourite bands - The Courteeners. He loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Absolutely fantastic book. Delivery extremely speedy and packaging excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
This book is a great concept, and great that it's raising money for the Teenage Cancer Trust, but flawed in its execution. The front cover is highly unappealing but many of the photos within the book are humorous and well done. I read the excerpts from this book in the Guardian magazine and thought they were entertaining and interesting: pop stars' favourite recipes, a bit of info about the musician and some cool photography.

The photography is OK - rather Smash Hits and wacky in style...but with food!

However, now I actually own the book, my expectations have been dashed. The interviews are rather mundane. The musicians that I have read about so far mostly profess to being rubbish cooks and too busy being on the road to cook for themselves. 'I'm a rubbish cook', 'You don't get to cook much when you're in a band' (do you hear that, publishers?!)

The recipes that are printed alongside each person aren't actually their recipes. They have just been paired up with them because they have said they like e.g. blueberries or oysters etc. So we have a list of the restaurants they frequent and the types of food they like. And the title of this book is 'The Rock Star Cookbook'. This is NOT a cookbook! I think that's my main issue with the publication - the title is misleading. Rock Stars and Their Food perhaps, but lose that 'cookbook' from the title.

A couple of other quibbles:

The first three musicians (and they're not in any discernible order) are all reformed vegetarians. Perhaps this is a book to dip in and out of, but I had decided to read it from cover to cover and reading three consecutive stories of 'I used to be a vegetarian, but one day I started eating meat again and really like it' started to bore me.

Brett Anderson - the chilli sauce is 'sambal' not 'samba' as printed.

Roger Daltrey claims he doesn't like the 'fuss and contrivance of today's superstar chefs' and then his recipe is Hay Smoked Trout, Pickled Lemon and Pea Shoots supplied by none other than Heston Blumenthal! Oh, the irony.

The Buzzcocks say they don't like luxury food and their recipe is Champagne and Oysters.

Is it all trying to be a clever-clever joke that I don't get?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)