Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the sophisticated Christmas cook
Christmas cookbooks are easy to like, given the season, but it takes something special to write a really good one. Has Gordon Ramsay succeeded? Written in conjunction with the home economist Emily Quah (if you read the small print) this one is quite lovely on first impressions. Lots of recipes, lots of pictures and a total lack of noodling on about christmas à la...
Published on 3 Nov 2011 by emma who reads a lot

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good ideas for making it a bit special
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
this item was great. It dose everything it said it would do. I would buy this item again if needed to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely goose recipe, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
Made the goose menu for Christmas 2012. Turned out lovely but everything does take time to prepare. The recipes are very indulgent and not for everyday eating of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 12 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
Everyone likes a new Christmas recipe book and this one is no exception. The recipes are easy to follow and lovely large pictures. I loved the fact lots of the dishes like the chowder only have a few ingredients and things I would have at home or easy to get in the supermarket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Christmas, 23 Nov 2012
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
My husband gave me this book early for last Christmas. Clearly with intent.

We've had goose for Christmas for some years now. I dislike turkey and at last decided to forget the traditional American Thanksgiving turkey and have a traditional English Christmas goose aka Dickens etc.

Gordon has THE recipe. My goose Christmas lunches have always fine so far as I could tell, but even so Gordon tells things I hadn't known - that the flesh should still be a little red, to use a meat thermometer to get it exactly right so that it's at its most succulent and tasty, etc. And accompaniments for a complete Christmas Day goose lunch.

After the correct way to cook the goose, the next revelation was a simply delicious recipe for red cabbage as one accompaniment to the goose. I've never known what to do with red cabbage really although we have grown it for years. Gordon has the answer. Wine and orange and a few other bits. Simply gorgeous. And if you are cooking your red cabbage for just an ordinary meal well enough. Chopped cabbage in saucepan, add a little boiling water, a little red wine, a little orange juice and salt/pepper, and boil until the cabbage is soft. Be careful not to overdo the liquid and if you can't instinctively work out how much of each liquid to add, two or three experiments will tell you and the "failures" will still taste good enough, you'll probably just have some liquid left over that you can use for something else, or for some more of the cabbage.

The rest, also delightful recipes though I haven't tried them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas menus and inspiration for the holidays, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
The chapters in 'Christmas with Gordon', cover party food, Christmas menu's (of course), breakfast and brunch, lunches and suppers and sweet treats. I thought it was a really good idea in a seasonal book like this to include menus for breakfast, brunch. lunches and suppers as well as the usual Christmas fayre. Christmas lunch holds no fear for me, but I struggle to come up with new ideas to feed people the rest of the time at Christmas and new year, especially house guests. This book gave me some new ideas.

The party food chapter starts with dry roasted spice nuts and mulled wine recipes and ends with stuffed dates with honey and pistachio marzipan and a cocktail.

The Christmas menu's include all you would expect along with a schedule to help you plan. They cover a number of side dish recipes with the main meat/fish dish being the star of the show, like roast turkey, glazed ham, beef Wellington, roast goose or sea bass. Each menu suggests starters, side dishes and a dessert, all the planning is done for you.

I loved the look of the Christmas muesli and the fig and apple compote (the muesli would make a lovely home made Christmas gift). The cinnamon pancakes with caramelised apples look a) easy and b) to die for!

The sweet treats cover all manner of desserts and cakes that could be used in buffets or suppers. I made the shortbread recipe from this chapter, which we enjoyed (I used different flavours along with vanilla) and it came out really well.

The recipe was easy to follow, and all the recipes in this book are no more than a page long. The photography in this book is quite good and all recipes are depicted, a bonus if you prefer the visual to guide you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
Nice, clear photos and interesting recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas delight, 6 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
Quadrille books have released a very festive Christmas book by celebrity chef and TV presenter Gordon Ramsey. Red with white letters, the hardcover is glossy, and the book itself contains 141 pages filled with colour photographs by London based photographer Chris Terry. The book jacket has a portrait of Gordon Ramsey carving a turkey. The book was written with the help of food stylist Emily Quah and is divided by chapters:
INTRODUCTION
PARTY FOOD
CHRISTMAS MENUS
BREAKFAST AND BRUNCH
LUNCHES AND SUPPERS
PUDDINGS
INDEX
The recipes are not overly complicated, I tried some of the recipes specially the side dishes. A good variety and modern take on the the traditional dishes. This book is great addition to the a food lovers book collection. Looking forward to try the puddings recipes next. I made the creamed cabbage at least three times in the last two weeks - simple and delicious. I love the taste and texture of the pear and saffron chutney so much, that I have made some more to give as Christmas presents. It's delicious - what a treat! This book was sent to me by Quadrille books to be reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
Easy to follow, delicious recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very Best Christmas Books-5*, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
I loved the show and bought the book. This Christmas book is good anytime of the year. Love it! I definitely say buy this book. 5 stars :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice tips and recipies, 21 Jan 2013
This review is from: Christmas with Gordon (Hardcover)
I love Gordon Ramsay, he's a great chef and it's always a great experience when he shares his knowledge! I recommend this book if you fancy a nice Christmas meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas with Gordon
Christmas with Gordon by Gordon Ramsay (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2011)
£10.99
Usually dispatched within 9 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews