Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lovely book
Alovely book but not sure I will make much out of it!

Projects include:

jewellery
a toy rabbit
letter holder
card dress up/fold tab doll
lavendar mice
cushion
a bag
masks
nutty snacks, a drink, a cake, cupcakes
door stop
hand warmers
cake & hat shaped boxes
a mobile
a decorated egg...
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by Mrs. B. Handford

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lavender dormice and Cheshire cats
Very eclectic mix of items - but all very pretty! There's a fair bit of cookery: comfits and cordials and cookies and cupcakes (sounds like a sentence out of Alice) And a wonderful teapot cake - and invitations, place-cards and aprons to set off your tea party.
A cute jewellery idea incorporating a dolls' tea service; a mobile with the Cheshire cat at the top; a...
Published 18 months ago by sally tarbox


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lovely book, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
Alovely book but not sure I will make much out of it!

Projects include:

jewellery
a toy rabbit
letter holder
card dress up/fold tab doll
lavendar mice
cushion
a bag
masks
nutty snacks, a drink, a cake, cupcakes
door stop
hand warmers
cake & hat shaped boxes
a mobile
a decorated egg
puppet theatre
tea cup candles
fabric decopatch
felt slippers
pump bag
apron
stationery
cake stand
tea cosy
chocolate tea spoons

all with loose Alice connections
plus templates at the back (that require enlarging)

very nicely put together & a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best craft book I have seen in a LONG TIME, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
Wow. I have a very extensive collection of modern craft books - well over 80 popular titles - and this one is hands down my favourite. Usually out of a craft book there is only 3 or 4 decent, unusual projects that translate well to actual everyday usage and most of those are rehashed, tired old ideas. This book is different. There's just so many projects that look good within the Alice theme but would also translate well to a different theme with a bit of tweaking and imagination. I loved the Invitation cushion which looks like a letter with a cute handcrafted stamp, and the Queen Alice bag which continues the postage stamp theme. The giant rose lights would look fab for a party and are so easy to make, and the Red King slippers are gorgeous for a baby or toddler made in the smallest size. The Wonderland apron is illustrated in three colours, my favourite is the red polka dot with the heart shaped pockets - would make a lovely birthday present along with the red velvet cupcakes (recipes are included throughout the book too!) and one of the soft drinks (again, receipes provided) in a "drink me" bottle. All the ideas are so effective but don't require loads of fancy materials, a lot of the time it's basic stuff most crafters will already have. Things like making your own cookie cutters out of foil for example. It's the book I have been waiting for, for a long time. Magical, ethereal, charming, eclectic - love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great quirky projects, 17 Jun 2011
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
As you would expect this is a quirky book with an eclectic range of projects. There are 50 projects in the book featuring a range of crafts from sewing, embroidery and millenary to baking, paper crafts and jewellery making. However, if you are only into sewing don't worry there are enough sewing projects for you to get your money's worth!

Projects include a Humpty Dumpty doorstop, a Cheshire cat hand warmer, Wonderland aprons and red velvet cupcakes. The book is bright and colourful with good photography, well written instructions and photos used to guide you through the making process.

There will probably be some projects in there that wouldn't interest you (I can't quite see the point of a fabric covered teapot, or fabric covered furniture myself), however there are so many projects that there are bound to be a few that you will love. I think even if you aren't a huge Alice in Wonderland fan you would still enjoy this book for its quirky projects.

This review originally appeared on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
I fell in love with all of the amazing ideas and the diversity of them. From making cakes and how to decorate them, to making cuddly toys, doorstops and candles in teacups!

I have made a few items and I can truly say that the instructions are very simple and cater to people of all levels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book!!, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
I bought this book as my daughter wants an Alice theme for her 7th birthday and we were looking for inspiration for decorations, this book didn't let us down! It is filled with unusual ideas to make and create, with excellent pictures and clear instructions, we cant wait to get started!
An excellent book at an excellent price! Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic crafting on an Alice in Wonderland them., 6 July 2011
By 
S. A. Broadhurst "SBroadhurst" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
What a fantastic and creative book! The book is overflowing with crafty ideas and projects.

There are 50 projects within the book covering a wide range of crafts, all with an Alice in Wonderland theme.

The book begins with a comprehensive list of items which should be in a craft or cookery kit and will be needed to complete the projects in the book.

Everything Alice is the sort of book which you could open at any page and find a project to try: the projects all have an Alice in Wonderland theme but the projects could be adapted to other themes. There are jewellery projects, projects to make toys, ideas to embellish parties, things for around the home, needlecraft and paper craft projects.

Projects all include photographs of the finished project as well as other photographs which help to explain technique or alternative designs. Each project starts with an `ingredients' list and the technique instructions are broken down into easy, bite size steps.

There are many projects suitable for children to do - the dress-me Alice and white rabbit paper dolls, projects for children - wonderland mobiles,

There are many projects which are great ideas for gifts for family and friends: queen of hearts apron;

There are also many projects which would make the perfect tea party for a child or posh afternoon tea for ladies who lunch: vintage cake stands; Cheshire cat sandwiches; crown place cards; wonderland cookies; napkin rings to name but a few. However there are also some projects which I cannot see myself making: a fabric covered teapot being one of them.

There are lots of templates included at the back of the book which will make the projects easier to complete.

In all I would sum up by saying that this is an excellent craft book, something which any crafter would love to have on their shelf for inspiration. It would be a great book to use to plan a little girl's bedroom (or maybe even a big girl's) and I will definitely be trying many of the projects in the book for myself (or my daughter).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fancy a trip down the rabbit hole..., 19 Jun 2011
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
...then you have to buy this book!
This book has a fantastic selection of things to make and all are beautifully set within the fascinating world of Alice. The book is presented so stunningly you could even just sit and read it if you weren't into making things but the instructions for the making are all well explained and easy to follow so why wouldn't you want to get creating.
When this book first arrived I spent a good hour just looking through it - it is truly captivating! Next day I ordered 2 more copies to give as presents to my 'crafty' friends (who loved it) - it really is a fabulous present to receive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Alice is a Must Have Buy!, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
Everything Alice really is wonderful, as someone who purchases a lot of craft books there can be similarities between them, but Everything Alice is in a league of its own. Although it has an Alice theme, the ideas in it really are for everyone, who wouldn't want a frilly Queen of Hearts Piny or Dandy Mr White Rabbit? I would say if you were to place it anywhere it would be in between the Cath Kidston & Liberty books.

This book is bursting with life from the onset, with the stunning cover & further whimsy illustrations, to the array of fabulous craft & cookery ideas, to the beautiful photography & even the pattern illustrations for the sewing projects are simply delightful.

The two charming girls who created this book, Hannah Read-Baldrey & Christine Leech, ooze charisma and clearly have a huge talent for their craft. I look forward to seeing more from them in the future... but for now see them at everythingalice.co.uk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lavender dormice and Cheshire cats, 15 Jan 2013
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
Very eclectic mix of items - but all very pretty! There's a fair bit of cookery: comfits and cordials and cookies and cupcakes (sounds like a sentence out of Alice) And a wonderful teapot cake - and invitations, place-cards and aprons to set off your tea party.
A cute jewellery idea incorporating a dolls' tea service; a mobile with the Cheshire cat at the top; a March hare teacosy (complete with ears). And of course lavender dormice...
I couldn't quite see the link of some items with the book: much as I loved the furniture decorated with fabric or the floral 'Tweedledee & Tweedledum' shoe bags.
But it's all adorable and I think an older girl would love to attempt these projects. (Can't imagine buying it for an adult - not quite of the calibre to inspire a grown up craft enthusiast.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 28 Aug 2011
By 
G. Page "FoxyLady" (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes (Paperback)
THis book is a must for anyone who likes crafting and making their own home accessories. The items are lovely and all quirky as you would expect with something linked to Alice in Wonderland. Irresistible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes
Everything Alice: the Wonderland Book of Makes by Christine Leech (Paperback - 4 July 2011)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews