Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock Up Your Turtle
There is a description between pages 250-255 of Madame
Simone Prunier's magnificent 'Fish Cookery Book' which
should be avoided by the squeamish and/or faint of heart.

She describes, in great detail, how to kill (Madame prefers
the term "slaughter") and butcher a turtle (one weighing between
120 to 180 pounds is recommended!) to...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for your cook
This book has a lovely exterior, the silver embossed edging and blue ribbon marker make it really stand out amongst cookbooks.

However, exciting first impressions weren't really followed through in the contents. This is a reprint of a 1937 cook book which has had some updating - but its hard to see where. Certainly, the book describes all the variations of...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Skeadugenga


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned cooking, 5 April 2011
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In the new world of exciting colour photographs and extensive instructions the world of Madam Prunier seems far away. Here simple instructions are given for a wide variety of dishes. A certain level of cooking knowledge is expected but frankly nothing access to the Internet will not give you. Where detailed instructions are needed, they are here but equally one kind of fish may simply be exchanged for another in many recipes.

Cookery books come in a splendid range these days: from Jamie Oliver's enthusiasm back to the days of Keith Floyd (RIP) and then to Julia Child and the Penguin "Mastering the Art of French Cooking" (my two volumes are now brown with age). This ought not to be the first book you will buy on cooking fish, but I reckon it would serve that purpose very well. I am certainly pleased to have my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock Up Your Turtle, 21 Mar 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is a description between pages 250-255 of Madame
Simone Prunier's magnificent 'Fish Cookery Book' which
should be avoided by the squeamish and/or faint of heart.

She describes, in great detail, how to kill (Madame prefers
the term "slaughter") and butcher a turtle (one weighing between
120 to 180 pounds is recommended!) to conjure a soup from its
comestible parts. It is a veritable labour of love and death.

Madame Prunier was the last in line of a family who seem to
have made their reputations and a good living from cooking
and serving fine food (especially fish) in their Parisian
restaurants. Her own London-based eatery opened in Mayfair
in 1934 and this splendid book was published four years later.

This beautifully produced volume has immediately jumped into
a space in my library next to two old friends : Sophie Grigson
and William Black's 'Fish Bible' (1998) and Pru Leith's
inestimable 'Fish Bible' (2005 New Edition). Madame Prunier
has refrained from the use of biblical references in her own
single-minded task of conveying this treasure-trove of recipes
to posterity in language which is both simple and economical
to a fault. There's no messing around with Mme P! She gets straight
to the point and her instructions are surprisingly easy to follow,
as long as you're not too hung-up about weights and measures!

Hor-D'Oeuvres, soups, fresh and salt water fish, shellfish and
(by the skin of their teeth) turtles, frogs and snails are all
well-served. (Terrapins also get a look-in dressed in a delectable
sauce made with Madeira, truffle, egg-yolks and cream!)
Stirling and occasionally startling stuff from a bygone age!

Tips on preparation as well as cooking are succinct and helpful.
Many of the dishes inevitably reflect the un-health-conscious
times in which they were conceived and some of the ingredients
would be as hard to source as they would be hard on the pocket
(Mmme P has a way with pike which is second to none!) but with
a bit of judicious pruning (Quenelles de Morue anyone?!) most
competent cooks will be able to deliver many of these glorious
dishes to the table successfully without breaking the bank.

A great cookbook and a fascinating historical document.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A book for your cook, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Skeadugenga (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book has a lovely exterior, the silver embossed edging and blue ribbon marker make it really stand out amongst cookbooks.

However, exciting first impressions weren't really followed through in the contents. This is a reprint of a 1937 cook book which has had some updating - but its hard to see where. Certainly, the book describes all the variations of flavour and cooking available in a celebrated fish restaurant of the 1930s. The introduction claims that even the lady of house, on the cook's day off, would be able to make the simpler dishes. This lady though, having read through the book, felt a bit faint at the thought and had to go for a lie down.

Madame Prunier describes how to make these dishes, but does it in such brief outlines and with an assumption of familiarity with equipment and methods (not all of which are explained)that I couldn't see myself being able to turn out anything edible. We get detail on how to fillet certain fish, but not trout - which I would have been interested in. I'd definitely say that this is a book for the experienced - it describes the possibilities and a good instinctive cook would probably be able to make much more of it than I can as a basic, needs clear explanations and measurements, cook.

The instructions on how to buy fish were very disappointing and nothing new - look for firm flesh and bright eyes - that's it. Illustrations are confined to woodcuts of fish and don't really enhance anything - the picture on the cover gives you an idea of what to expect.

I will make one or two (very simple) things from this book, but its only real value to me is to make me aware of the flavour combinations and send me off in search of a real recipe that I can follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A super looking and delight for fish lovers, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Alessi Lover "C.A.D." (Knightley UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Alright, so I don't think I will be serving 'Turtle Soup' at my next dinner party, but what a book!

The book itself looks such a delight (silver coloured edge pages, hardbacked and complete with blue ribbon bookmark, what is not to love about this book? A serious good looking cook book for fish that would look good on anyone's coffee table.

I was a bit surprised that there were no photographs of any of the menus inside, then again back in 1938 there probably wouldn't have been like in the modern cook books of today. As my husband pointed out maybe some of the items 'best not to be photographed' turtle soup just one example.

There are a few black and white drawings of various fish type on each section, so you get the idea of what each fish looks like. Quite an interesting bit on buying fish and how to cook it in various ways. Now I myself am not the world's best cook, but my husband does like to cook fish and wanted the book too see what other ways he could cook certain fish and how best to, so this book is just what he wanted as it certainly ticks all his boxes. For myself it does too, as it is easy to understand and really quite interesting read. (Especially the section of Scallops and how they came about, well the legend).

A great looking book that is for all fish lovers out there and endorsed by Rick Stein which is another bonus. Will certainly by looking at the other books in the series especially so for gifts for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully presented, and yes, the recipes will make a cook of me!, 19 Mar 2011
By 
Roroblu's Mum "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love fish, but am not one to spend ages in the kitchen or faithfully follow recipes, in fact I don't even own one lone recipe book, but come from a family of really good Mauritian cooks. However, this book is the one that will change things and may make a decent cook of me.

I like the way in which it's laid out - simple, everyday French basics that for me are things of wonder (Aioli, Beurre Blanc, Beurre Noisette amongst others) appeared at the very beginning, then the book progressed onto a wide range of fishy treats. A deluge of recipes ranging from soups, main meals, light meals and many more; I was particularly after a bouillabaisse recipe and found three separate ones, as apparently there are regional varieties that differ quite a bit.

It was helpful to find listed both French varieties of fish and British alternatives to those that we can't get in the UK - full stop, and those that we can't get as they're pretty much fished out, and this in itself dates the book back to circa 1934 when the author opened her restaurant in London.

I also liked the bio bit at the back and the explanation as to how the book came to life. Top that with simple but beautiful elegant presentation, with the book laid out as befitting the time of its author, and this is a book to be kept not on the Keeper shelf, but on the Keep-and-use shelf. I can see it doing the rounds in my family, and being passed on to my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fish, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
if you love cooking fish then this is the book to have , forget Rick Stein, Madam Pruniers fish cookery book is the one , A MUST FOR ANY CHEFS LIBRARY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madame Prunier's Fish Book, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
This is a really nice book. It looks good; silver trimming to all pages and hardback. Some very nice recipe ideas, but some are quite simple and so really it's more a beginners book than for someone who has good knowledge of cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fish cooking - pruner, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
Although dated it is still a very useful cookery book to have. UN fact a classic and should be in mall kitchens for those interested in fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and easy to follow, 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found the recipes in this book to be clear to follow and well laid out. There's a good selection and I like the size of the book. It's smaller than a lot of hardback cook books so it's easier to have open while using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Nadim Bakhshov "Nadim Bakhshov" (Bloomsbury, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A delightful book with classic recipes.

Now, having been subject to a few of these recipes I have observed that these recipes are easy to put together and do not require hugely complicated procedures in the kitchen. I asked my wife about her preparation and she said the recipes were very thoughtful.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food)
Madame Prunier's Fish Cookery Book (Classic Voices in Food) by Madame Prunier (Hardcover - 4 April 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews