Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Gem hidden behind a boring cover
Don't let the really boring cover put you off this little gem, there are some surprisingly good recipes in it.

The recipes range from fairly simple dishes such as mushrooms on toast; the worlds laziest curry and Roast butternut squash with taleggio cheese, walnuts and honey. to entertaining with Pork Wellington and Spice roasted leg of lamb with cumin...
Published on 5 July 2011 by Mrs. Gail Brewster

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boring cover and boring book
The real test of a cook book is twofold. First have the recipes been tested or just seem to have been dreamed up by some copywriter who eats out a lot but does not cook, and secondly are there any recipes that I actually want to try for myself.

The author is apparently a cook but for me this book fails on both counts and the cover is boring too.
Published 15 months ago by D&D


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adventurous Gastronomy, 10 July 2011
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not a fan of cooking with hundreds of ingredients, if I'm hungry - I want to eat now! I was hoping that this would be the sort of book that contained the sort of 30 minute meals that are my standard fodder, and for the most part it is. However, if you're a student type hoping that this could be your one and only cookbook, it might start to break your food budget quite soon. The ingredients aren't always the sort of ones you'll have laying around in the pantry/kitchen cupboards. There is a good selection of main meals, desserts and appetisers plus there are sections on more adventurous culinary pursuits like preserves. Whilst the content is good, my only real complaint is the horrible choice of text in the book. The font is one of those terrible ones that try to look like handwriting and it just makes things difficult to read. If you don't mind that too much, then this is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little cook book!, 2 July 2011
By 
lapal25 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nicely presented, small & compact. 'Old fashioned' feel, yet contemporary. Great pictures, practical, easy to follow recipes to enjoy & impress. Good gift for inexperienced cook wanting to do basic things & develop skills. Would make an ideal cook book for the average teenager off to uni.- wanting to go a step further than beans on toast but not wanting to spend too much time in the kitchen!
Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a friend that makes you smile, 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
That's what James Ramsden's book reminded me of - someone I know and trust who will always help me out, someone I can have a good time with and be surprised by too. And it's a relief to find a cookbook that makes me feel welcome, a part of what's happening on the page (and what I feel confident could happen in my own kitchen) rather than sitting dumbstruck and overwhelmed as I read about the culinary equivalent of an Everest ascent.

Even if you're a really, really inexperienced cook ('I boil water and burn it' type) and don't fancy too much of an adventure, you'll find plenty to have fun with in the Corner Shop Capers section. And shouldn't cooking should be about enjoying ourselves?

And on top of its imaginative and accessible contents there's the fabulous design: a book I want to hold and touch. The matte card covers are a kind of cross between French 19th century 'cahier' and 21st century journal and the internal layout manages to be stimulating and quirky but essentially informative too.

So, if you want a new kitchen friend this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Workable recipes with a difference, 30 Jun 2011
By 
P. A. Pendrey - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the first book by James Ramsden, a 'new voice in food'.

The reviewer has tried recipes vegetable, biscuit, sponge pudding and a preserve, all of which produced tasty results. Most of the ingredients can be found in a well stocked, large supermarket. However, a few items may need a visit to an ethnic store, but the author, in many cases, suggests suitable alternatives.

There are plenty of tips and the text is written in an informal manner. The book is pleasingly illustrated.

Other items included are recipes for cocktails, ice cream toppings, unusual preserves and pickles.

All types of food are covered from snacks to formal entertaining. The author does not forget the basics of sauces, pastry and egg cookery.

Measurements for ingredients are metric, cooking times and temperatures given do work to produce the desired result.

This author is keen to promote adventurous cooking, without high cost, and a move away from the stick-to-the-rules regime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, useful cook book - with a twist, 30 Jun 2011
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is a combination of journal and recipe book. James Ramsden provides a series of simple, well explained (and well photographed) dishes based on themes, with lots of advice about ingredients and methods of cooking. For example, there is a good section on getting the best from cheaper cuts of meat, how to buy them and how to cook them. Also, there is advice on how to keep a clean kitchen (!) and the necessity of 'washing up as you go along' and the philosophical considerations when going to do your shopping! Do you go for top shelf or bottom shelf?
It's entertaining and has some great recipes to try out - traditional dishes and new ideas too. It's a real eclectic mix - from from straightforward things like lamb kebabs to pickled cucumber, souffles and spicy beef salad. It is a fusion of all the modern influences on British food. The book is well bound and produced - it's strong enough to withstand the rough and tumble of use in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small adventures in cooking., 29 Jun 2011
By 
M. E. Wood "robbiejay" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
James Ramsden is a man who believes in hassle free cooking and in this book he sets out to show you how you can achieve this.James shows you how to create mouth watering, speedy after-supper suppers and impressive intertaining with no fuss.In the book he gentle guides you through shopping trips and how to buy the best cut of meat for your requirements.James's dishes use basic ingredients but he shows how to make them special and often adds a twist to make them more exciting.There are loads of tips throughout the book which are really interesting. the book is written in a way that is more than a cook book ,its a simple to use everyday reference book and i loved it. I've made several of the meals which have turned out fantastic and the "Persian aubergine stew with jewelled rice is awesome. I will continue to use it as its so fuss-free, if its a no nonsence book for cooking you want then this is a best seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventurous and inspirational, but not always practical, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Wiltshire Bookworm (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
James Ramsden brings a fresh take on cooking in his debut book. There's a lot in common with his blogging: bright, fresh design; very different chapters to standard cookbook fayre; all stirred together and sprinkled with hints and tips and served with plenty of little snippets on the side.

I read the book straight through and loved it. On the whole it's big on flavours, different combinations of ingredients and cooking on a budget - the latter especially where meat is concerned. James isn't stuffy about cooking - he wants us to have a go and experiment, so he sees each recipe as a starting point for our own kitchen adventures rather than being a definitive guide. This is a book to go to for plenty of inspiration. I also liked the Tart, Tweak and Tomorrow snippets after each recipe, giving ideas for variations, substitute ingredients (plus guidance on what can be safely omitted without losing on flavour where appropriate) and what to do with any leftovers.

The book assumes very little cookery knowledge as all the techniques and basic recipes are explained where needed. All the recipes are simple and have the minimum of ingredients to ensure hearty dishes full of flavour. However, the resultant food isn't standard beginner fayre. Go here to find a good recipe for rabbit rather than one for lasagne. Creative cooks on a budget will also find plenty of interest. There's plenty here for an every day kind of meal, right through to a full-blown pop-up supper club (which James also runs).

So far so good, but later I went back and tried to use the book in a more practical way and found it wasn't quite up to the mark. The different chapter headings to usual means it's harder to find that recipe you vaguely remember and want to try. Rather than chapters like starters and mains, or meat and fish which help you to home in on what you want, they're called things like "Corner Shop Capers" or "Feeding the Flocks".

There's also a bit of mixing going on: for instance the chapter on basic techniques ("Surfing the Stumbling Blocks") has an example recipe after each one. I initially thought this was a really good idea, but it adds to a recipe being harder to find. The indexing doesn't always help either as an individual ingredient in a recipe's title doesn't always guarantee it gets listed under that ingredient in the index. A couple of times I had page through quite a bit of the book rather than using the index or chapter headings to help me quickly find what I wanted.

Some of the hints and tips are hard to find too e.g. how to deseed a chilli isn't listed anywhere, so you need to remember it's in the "Va va voyages" chapter and/or alongside the spicy beef salad with mushrooms (on page 22). Vegetarians may also like to look elsewhere, especially if wanting inspiration for a main course as most of these are meat or fish based.

There's a nod to social media as each recipe has its own hashtag so readers can see what's been said already on Twitter, ask questions, or add their own experience of cooking a particular dish. It all adds to the book's spontaneous, trendy feel.

This is a fun book, which also looks like it was a breeze to put together. It's a pity that its practicality from a reader's viewpoint wasn't thought through quite so well, hence my four stars rather than five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good present for beginners, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A lovely looking book with some appetising colour photos every other page this certainly ticks all the 'perfect birthday present' boxes if the recipitent doesn't have much experience cooking. For a more seasoned cook 'small adventures in cooking' comes across a bit obvious with pretty basic tips that an avid TV chef fan would probably have heard before. There are some nice touches such as two alternative versions for each recipe and we particularly liked the ones for basic well known things such as soda bread, Kedgeree and a sardine sandwich with tartar sauce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) (Paperback)
Complete masterpiece. Delicious food, in easy to follow recipes that are fun to read, not to mention the beautiful photography, illustrations, and overall composition of the book. With endless tips, twists on recipes and education about ingredients, it shows us that great things are possible when you know how. Highly recommended book that suits all occasions and will keep performing again and again for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0835dec)

This product

Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food)
Small Adventures in Cooking (New Voices in Food) by James Ramsden (Paperback - 6 Jun 2011)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews