Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and pretty.
This is a beautifully presented collection of patterns for babies & toddlers which I would recommend if you don't already own any of Debbie Bliss' other baby/toddler knitting books. I don't think there's a great deal new in this volume.

As is often the case with books by designers with their own ranges of yarn, all the patterns are "supposed" to be knit with...
Published on 29 Jan 2012 by H. Playford

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely presentation and a good selection of patterns.
The presentation of this lovely collection of toddler and baby knitting patterns is just gorgeous and exactly what I'm used to from Debbie Bliss. If you have any of the other Debbie Bliss toddler and baby books it might be worth checking out the contents before you buy this one as, as far as I can see, the patterns have been given a makeover but they're repeated from...
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by JK


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and pretty., 29 Jan 2012
By 
H. Playford "mambohels" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautifully presented collection of patterns for babies & toddlers which I would recommend if you don't already own any of Debbie Bliss' other baby/toddler knitting books. I don't think there's a great deal new in this volume.

As is often the case with books by designers with their own ranges of yarn, all the patterns are "supposed" to be knit with Debbie Bliss yarns, which would render a lot of them incredibly expensive. This is not a criticism of this book in particular, but it is worth pointing out, to newer knitters in particular, that there is a lot more flexibility in yarn choice than the book would have you believe.

So, although it contains nothing very unique, many (most) of the patterns are very pretty, and if you are a knitter who likes the photographic inspiration, or simply must work from a printed pattern, this is a good value book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely presentation and a good selection of patterns., 19 Mar 2011
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The presentation of this lovely collection of toddler and baby knitting patterns is just gorgeous and exactly what I'm used to from Debbie Bliss. If you have any of the other Debbie Bliss toddler and baby books it might be worth checking out the contents before you buy this one as, as far as I can see, the patterns have been given a makeover but they're repeated from other books in the range.

A word of caution; you're led to believe only Debbie Bliss yarn is suitable for these patterns. While the Debbie Bliss range is top quality yarn it's also incredibly expensive and other cheaper yearns will do the job. Work out how much you're spending on the book, knitting needles, accessories and then add the cost of the Debbie Bliss recommended yarn - it can be scarily expensive to hand knit. I'm not criticising the book, merely offering a word of advice to new knitters.

Not all of the patterns are easy and straightforward, some require working from more than one set of needles, but there's enough inspiration to challenge experienced knitters while offering smaller projects for those newer to the craft.

Beautiful ideas and pretty designs but not necessarily practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful patterns - not for beginners, 16 Aug 2012
By 
William Fross (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A beautiful book with 50 patterns from Debbie Bliss. There are clothes - including a very cute beret - and cuddly toys too. They are special, suitable as gifts or as items to pass down through the family. Accordingly, some of them are quite difficult, but there are easier projects too for the less-advanced knitter.

Some of the patterns call for specific colours and Debbie Bliss-branded wool, but I ignored these instructions and used wool of a similar weight and ply: the results were very good. I would recommend this for someone with some experience knitting, but overall I think most people will find the book has a good range of patterns with clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knit quite for beginners, 21 July 2011
By 
Withnail67 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautiful book that probably succeeds more as a gift for a new parent, and a practical guide to baby knitting for beginners! These knits really are works of art and the book is drenched in lavish photographs really do the craftsmanship behind these pieces great deal of justice. The images are absolutely delightful and refreshingly free of saccharine! You'd have to have a heart of stone not to be warmed by such delightful images. By it as a gift but warn your loved one not to expect to knock these out straightaway! Great item and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing number of errors so far!, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
There are some lovely designs in this book, but of the 3 patterns I have used so far there have been errors in each one. The most significant error to date is the quantities given for the buggy blanket, when, instead of 7 balls, 11 are needed. (I have confirmed this with Debbie Bliss.) This makes the cost nearly £60, and I would not have made it if the quantities had been correct.
It is very disappointing that the proof reading/ testing is not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nana Knits, 23 Jun 2011
By 
Daddy-O (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this for my Mum, who has been using it to knit for our three kids. My Mum's always been an excellent knitter for as long as I can remember (am 48) - and this is one of the best books she's ever used for knitting for young children. It's easy for us to browse and pick the items, colours and options we want, and then hand over to the expert to turn the pictures and patterns into jumpers and quilts. Mum, I love you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great knits, instructions a little patchy, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
Love this book and continue to make a lot of the items, however, I seem to have to re-do each new patten at least once! The instructions tend to be very detailed in some places but lacking in others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blissful knits, 9 April 2012
By 
South Londoner (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Bought this for the wife who would describe herself as an "average" knitter. The book itself is lovely-glossy with the requisite pictures of gorgeous babies of all colours and sizes. The yarn suggested is, of course, all Debbie Bliss. Not sure how practical a lot of it is (cashmerino for a baby in its upchucking phase? really?). There is good variety in terms of bigger projects and smaller ones, easy and hard, toys and clothes and blankets. I'm still trying to work out why a 3 month old needs a knitted bathrobe! I can't comment on the sizes-I guess time will tell with knitting various pieces and sizes.

There is a handy section at the beginning which runs through the basics of knitting, including cast on, knit, purl, increases, cast off, decreases, reading patterns, stitch type, cables, intarsia, reading charts, stranding, weaving in, seaming, picking up stitches, knitting in the round, embroidery and pompoms.

The book is beautiful enough to give as a gift (the wife suggests not giving it to a beginner as the patterns may seem to daunting!) but also useful enough to buy for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
there are no newborn knits, and that is what I focus on, so it was disappointing for me when it arrived. I haven't used it once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value for money, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits (Paperback)
I first had this book from the library and liked it so much I decided to buy my own copy. It includes a good selection of patterns, from large items such as blankets down to small items such as bootees, which is good value if you had to buy the patterns separately. Even though all the wool recommended is by Debbie Bliss, it is not too difficult to substitute a different brand. However her wool is of such good quality and if you are spending hours making a large item I think it is worth paying that little bit extra for the final result. If I had any criticism of the book it would be that some of the items are not shown completely in the photographs. There are lots of photos of lovely babies to illustrate the items but it would be helpful if the bigger items could be shown in their entirety to assist with the pattern. (e.g. The sampler blanket.) Even so I am happy to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits
The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits by Debbie Bliss (Paperback - 4 April 2011)
£13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews