Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2008
Recipes turn out just like the illustrations! Wonderfully thought out, easy too follow and using everday ingredients. This is one of those cookery books you dont put away on the shelf.
The recipes dont have an excessive amount of ingredients, so they're not too expensive to make.
Really enjoyed this inexpensive book.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2008
I have been lucky enough to eat at Anthony Demetre's restaurant, Arubutus (although not Wild Honey yet!) and this books really is as good as that. He is a fantastic chef, not pretentious or over priced and this book really shows you how to cook superb dishes, while not going overboard, or taking ages AND helps you save money by telling you cheaper cuts of meat to use and using seasonal produce. I am a huge fan and this stunning book really is fantastic.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 July 2013
Anthony Demetre’s “Today’s Special: A New Take on Bistro Food” shows home cooks how to be creative with cheaper cuts of meat, lesser-known fish and seasonal produce. With chapters on soups, fish, poultry and game, beef and veal, lamb, pork and a small number of desserts, the recipes are clearly explained and easy to follow and Mr Demetre gives some helpful tips at the start of each recipe. The quality of pictures accompanying the recipes means that you can almost taste the food! Dishes such as the fricassee of chicken with spring onion risotto and the navarin of lamb with spring vegetables have become new favourites in my home.
A very well presented book with affordable, achievable and delicious recipes makes this a 5* buy in my opinion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2008
It's great to see a chef of our time! Choosing non-trendy but seasonal ingredients means its easy to keep the costs down, and when we're all watching what we spend why not have a dinner party where there's just one (sensational) dish. Buy this book, you'll save money cooking - and impress guests at the same time.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
Have used a few recipes from this book already, all work! If you are a fan of simple yet tasty food by an amazing chef I Highly remommend this book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
Amazon are advertising this with another Anthony Demetre book; they are in fact the same recipes (one is the paperback version of the other). Book is great but you don't need both!!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
The recipes in this book reflect the food at Arbutus and its sister restaurants.
The recipes work and the results are tasty and interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
Having dined at Arbutus - I can assure you that Anthony Demetre's cookbook is as good as the food in his restaurant. Not the usual pap you often see in "celeb" cookbooks - but the real deal - authentic dishes many using cheaper cuts of meat. The recipes in here are going to get used over and over!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
I bought this book after having dinner in arbutus one evening. The book is good but the dishes are dulled down versions of what is served in the restaurant for instance the warm chocolate soup is usually served with an ice cream the time I had it it was cardamon ice cream, it was delicious. The book cops out by serving it with dollop of creme fraiche. If your a chef it might not be for you. but if your looking to cook from the book at home it will do the trick nicely. The food is good in there. And having sampled Anthonys food I can tell you its bloody delicious
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Challenging stuff! For advanced chefs/cooks only
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)