Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2009
It's a bit of a lavatory book to be honest! By that I mean it's the sort of book you dip into for a bit of a giggle or the occasional tear (there are pussy deaths in here) rather than read through in one gripping sitting. But if you like cats it is an entertaining and, at times, informative read. And it benefits Celia Hammond's work with feral cats. Liz Jones fans beware - if you are an avid reader of her columns you will have seen most of her contributions in one past form or another, but that's a minor gripe - with her menagerie to care for she can't be expected not to recycle old copy from time to time!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2008
I got this because of the contributors' stories about their cats and because of Celia Hammond. Catherine Tate's story is a bit squirm-inducing at the start but becomes funny - maybe a little like the lady herself, whose comedy I've come to enjoy. The cartoonist behind Garfield is another contributor so it isn't all about Liz Jones. The cats really are the stars in this book - the humans just retell their stories.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
WHATEVER YOU THINK OF LIZ JONES,AND I FOR ONE AM A BIG FAN OF HER COLUMN IN SUNDAY'S MAIL,SHE LOVES,AND I MEAN,LOVES....ANIMALS.AND ANYONE WHO WRITES LIKE SHE DOES ABOUT HER OWN PETS,BRINGS ACROSS REALITY IN OUR LOVE OF OUR PETS ANF FURRY FRIENDS.LAUGHTER AND TEARS ALL THE WAY.
ITS A GREAT "DIP INTO" BOOK,AND HIGHLITES THE FABULOUS WORK DONE BY CELIA HAMMOND.I GAVE ALL MY "FUR BABY" PARENTS A COPY FOR CHRISTMAS LAST YEAR....SO NOW WE NEED A FOLLOW UP,LIZ,...MORE STORIES,MORE GUEST WRITERS,LIKE LIZ SMITH,LESLEY PHILLIPS,RUSSEL BRAND, AND UPDATES ABOUT YOUR OWN LOVELY CATS.I "lost" MY OWN DARLING RUSSIAN BLUE LAST MONTH AND IT HELPED A GREAT DEAL TO READ THIS,AND TO KNOW OTHERS FEEL LIKE I DO ABOUT CATS.....GREAT PRESENT GIVER.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Liz Jones is a journalist, probably best know for her column about being single that was in the Sunday Times. She has also been a columnist for The Guardian and The Mail's You Magazine.
Liz Jones can be incredibly cutting and sarcastic, especially when talking about her ex-husband, but she is also very honest and very very funny. It is clear that Liz adores her fur babies and this book would be the perfect gift for any cat lover, especially as proceeds from the sale of the book go to the Celia Hammond Animal Trust.
The books starts with Liz introducing each of her cats, how they came to live with her, their individual characteristics and quirks and how they got their names. Throughout the book their are contributions from other famous cat lovers including Catherine Tate (whose story is a little stomach churning) and Audrey Niffenegger (whose story is very very odd!).
A perfect 'dipping into' book, with gorgeous illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
Loved the book. Liz Jones is mad about cats so if you are too this would be an excellent read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
This is a very good read for any cat lover,with several celebrity stories regarding their own cats,making it a humerous ,at times sad,but very uplifting book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
I am more of a dog person than a cat one, but I love all creatures and always enjoy reading about other's pets. This was an interesting collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I enjoy reading what Liz Jones writes. Her style is as if she is in the room and chatting.I am a cat person anyway, so absolutely loved the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
This book is For cat lovers obviously, love Liz Jones she reminds me so much of my daughter!
great holiday read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
It's good for cat lovers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.