Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


198 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is very hard to fault this latest GR book!
Taking its inspiration from Channel 4's popular F Word series, Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from 'The F Word' has over 100 delicious recipes that are quick and easy to prepare using top quality ingredients.

Gordon launched his Sunday Lunch campaign last year as a 'lack of time', was the excuse most people gave for not cooking opting for seemingly quick...
Published on 7 May 2007 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but disappointed
This is a great book and fantastic ideas.....

However my disappointment really relates to the fact that it is the same as the earlier "Fast Food - F Word" book, even though the ISBN number, Publication date & publishers are different. I thought I was buying a newer version of the previous one instead I get an identical one just with a different cover...
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by Mrs. P. Stothard


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

198 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is very hard to fault this latest GR book!, 7 May 2007
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
Taking its inspiration from Channel 4's popular F Word series, Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from 'The F Word' has over 100 delicious recipes that are quick and easy to prepare using top quality ingredients.

Gordon launched his Sunday Lunch campaign last year as a 'lack of time', was the excuse most people gave for not cooking opting for seemingly quick alternatives such as ready meals and take-aways.
He argues that it is time to re-define the concept of fast food and prove that anyone can prepare speedy meals in less time than it takes to get a pizza delivered.
Many of the dishes can be prepared and cooked in 15 minutes (none take longer than half an hour) and 'the menus' take 30-45 minutes from start to end.

255 high quality matt pages split over chapters:

1. Light & healthy
2. A taste of Morocco
3. Country cooking
4. Viva Italia!
5. Fast fish and chips
6. Outdoor eating
7. Mexican flavours
8. Easy for a crowd
9. Tapas spread
10. Cheap & cheerful
11. Summer special
12. Indian spice
13. Thai feast
14. Speedy Sunday lunch
15. Fast drinks party

plus an introduction, 'Store-cupboard Essentials', a 'Basics' section and a concise index.
At the front of the book is the added bonus of a quick reference 'Recipe List'.

Each recipe is clearly laid out with a title and number of servings, a list of ingredients and the method.
The majority have a photograph(s) and often a helpful note, e.g.:

A small taste of the recipes within:

* Leek, Potato and Smoked Haddock Soup
* Grilled Aubergine with Tahini Dressing
* Spiced Pan-Roasted Apples and Pears
* Easy Tiramisu
* Roasted Vegetable Panini
* Baked Egg Florentine
* Peppered Lamb Steaks
* Fresh Lemonade
* Beef Fajitas with Soured Cream and Guacamole
* Penne, Runner Beans & Goat's Cheese
* Mussels in an Aromatic & Coconut Broth
* Easy Lobster Thermidor
* Easy Vegetable Curry
* Sticky Lemon Chicken
* Caramelised Banana Split
* Venison with Sweet & Sour Peppers
* Prawn Pilau
* Yam Pak Salad
* Pain Perdu with Raspberries & Ricotta
* Mango Fool
* Chocolate Fondant
* Blueberry & Pomegranate Fizz

Double-page spreads provide 'tips', such as 'Fast Ways to Cook Meat, 'Quick Flavour Hits' or 'My Favourite Time-saving Tools', and throughout the book are handy observations or notes such as mixing 1 tsp curry powder to 2 tsp sea salt to add an extra kick to fish, shellfish, chicken & pork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! A great new book from Gordon Ramsay..., 17 May 2007
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
I bought this book after being impressed with the new series on channel 4 at the moment - and was pleasantly surprised at the variety of recipes in this book. Nice colour pictures, detailed recipes but not too detailed enabling your own enterpretation of the recipe. The 3 Recipes I have tried so far have been well recieved by my family, and they are a perfect, healthy and natural alternative for what passes for "fast" food - and don't take long to cook. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone that is even considering it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
I bought this book and received the Silverspoon as a gift.
I ended up making more from this one and sold the Silverspoon.
It's a great book. I tried many recipes and they are really tasty, easy to make (no exotic ingredients difficult to find as in others book) and overall quick. Believe me, I am italian and food must be tasty for me.

I went from starters to pudding and all was up to expectations. I recommend this book to anyone and will buy more from Gordon. He's is the n.1 in UK.

Buon appettito!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Food, 2 Feb 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
This is a great book with loads of recipes as featured in 'The F Word'. They are all easy to make and can be prepared and cooked in under 30 minutes, and the selected menu ideas can be put together in about 45 minutes. The recipes are easy to follow and are very clear, i've tried other book and got lost at times, but you get none of that with this book. The photography is great and really shows the food well. You occasionally get pictures of the food in it's pre and post cooked state so that you can see how it should look before and after and acts as a great guide. I've used this book (as well as Jamie Oliver's latest) to help me try some new recipes and to add some new ideas to my usual selection of meals I make on a routine basis. This is perfect for that goal, as each recipe is perfectly timed to get it prepared and cooked when i've got in from a busy day at work. The food tastes great as well, what more can you ask for? Well worth a try to expand your cooking skills and recipe knowledge.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but disappointed, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. P. Stothard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great book and fantastic ideas.....

However my disappointment really relates to the fact that it is the same as the earlier "Fast Food - F Word" book, even though the ISBN number, Publication date & publishers are different. I thought I was buying a newer version of the previous one instead I get an identical one just with a different cover.

Beware if you already have previous "Fast Food - F Word" this isnt a newer version just the same with different cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


197 of 228 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST from Gordon Ramsay, yet!, 7 May 2007
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
I can't believe that a BRAND NEW book, published only last week, is on such a GOOD price here and in the bookshops in town.

There is nothing I can add to Amazon Reviewer's superb review - just buy the book - NOW - you will not regret it.

My only criticisnm is that the introduction is a bit hard to read being white on a mid-shade of blue but maybe that is just my age, or my eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
Some difficult ingredients to get hold of and also alot of seafood dishes. Anyone not a fan of fish I would not advise to buy this book. Other than that some top steak and pasta dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Gordons' best, 1 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. B. Ambrose (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
Fast Food Ramsay's style! This book is full of so many great ideas one can try out in the kitchen using fresh quality ingredients, to make quick, exciting meals, and snacks which are also healthy, all with little effort. It is very good to see books like this published as it encourages people to use good quality ingredients, to make fast food while avoiding the takeaway style food altogether.

Gordon has always produced supreme food, and this is a supreme book, at an excellent price. It's a worth while contender for anyone's book shelf, and is a valuable tool when looking to make something quick, but also knowing that what you are eating is good for you at same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 Jun 2007
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
This is a great book to have in your kitchen - excllent variety of recipes, stylish presentation and one very polished cookbook. Love The F-word - love this book. Well done Gordon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP BOOK, 16 Jun 2007
By 
FOODWRITER/CRITIC (Stockbridge, Hants.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" (Hardcover)
This is a great book from Ramsay but I have to criticise some of these other reviews on here - there is NO swearing in the book!

Whether one likes this side of Ramsay, or not, the book is the book and the TV series is just that - I don't thik the contents of latter should be aired in a book review!

A lavishly produced book which is easy to read, persuse and cook from......FAST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word"
Gordon Ramsay's Fast Food: Recipes from "The F Word" by Gordon Ramsay (Hardcover - 4 May 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews