Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Breads
An excellent little book with lots of tips and assistance for the novice and semi-skilled baker. If you want to master genuine, hand-made bread at home i.e. not bread maker or quick proving loaves. Topics include; wild yeasts, making your own levain, kneading & shaping dough etc. This is an exceptional place to brush up on your knowledge & skills. Beautiful imagery (if...
Published on 14 July 2008 by T. Keates

versus
58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This if You Have Already Bought 'Baking With Passion'
I snapped this book up as soon as I saw it, as I think that Dan Lepard's recipes are wonderful. I do though feel a bit cheated as it is basically the bread section (same photos even) from Baking With Passion. I have not gone through it one by one but can only see a very few new recipes.

If you don't have 'Baking with Passion' already and have no interest in...
Published on 17 April 2007 by Jon M. Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This if You Have Already Bought 'Baking With Passion', 17 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
I snapped this book up as soon as I saw it, as I think that Dan Lepard's recipes are wonderful. I do though feel a bit cheated as it is basically the bread section (same photos even) from Baking With Passion. I have not gone through it one by one but can only see a very few new recipes.

If you don't have 'Baking with Passion' already and have no interest in the cakes/pattiserie recipes then this is a good book (hence 3 stars rather than a cheated and annoyed 1).

Dan Lepards recipes (and photos) are fantastic, and I recommend him to anyone, but I only need one copy of each recipe thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Breads, 14 July 2008
By 
T. Keates (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
An excellent little book with lots of tips and assistance for the novice and semi-skilled baker. If you want to master genuine, hand-made bread at home i.e. not bread maker or quick proving loaves. Topics include; wild yeasts, making your own levain, kneading & shaping dough etc. This is an exceptional place to brush up on your knowledge & skills. Beautiful imagery (if you're into pictures of bread!) A great practical gift helping you perfect at least 20 styles of bread, not a 'look how clever I am' coffee table book.
Superb at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Purchased a year ago but still waiting to be used...., 18 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
I read some positive reviews about this book but was extremely disappointed when it arrived. I already own Peter Reinhart's Crust and Crumb and Daniel Leader's Local Breads, both of which are fantastic guides to baking traditional artisan bread with a wealth of recipes in each one; I was expecting Dan Lepard to do the same in Exceptional Breads, but sadly I have had the book for over a year and have not used it once. The thing that puts me off most are the complicated and expensive ingredients required for the sourdough formulas (and if you do not have one of the sourdoughs prepared you cannot use 60% of the recipes in this book). And secondly, there are very few recipes in this book - the recipe section only begins on page 64, leaving you with very few actual recipes.

I have created successful sourdough cultures using just flour and water (there's a wonderful formula in Local Breads). For his sourdough culture Dan Lepard uses not just these 2 basic ingredients, but apple juice, orange juice, grapes and raisin, yoghurt, freshly squuezed orange juice - and plenty of it too. For example one of his sourdoughs requires 300g strong white flour, 300g plain yoghurt, 200 ml apple juice, 100g raisins. Most sourdough cultures in other books work perfectly well when refreshed once a week - Dan Leppard, however, requires that you refresh your culture EVERY DAY!! So every day he expects you discard 600g of your mixture and to add a new mixture of yoghurt, milk , flour. It is going to be quite an expensive bread if you have to use so many ingredients and have to refresh your culture every day. I have made a successful rye sourdough as well as a levain using Dan Leader's Local Breads, which require only water and flour and a refreshment once a week and they work perfectly, so to have to refresh every day seems very extravagant. If you use 300g flour everyday for a month you'll be using 9 kilograms of flour in a month just for the starter!

Dan Leppard provides 4 different starters or sourdoughs, and then moves on to the recipes. Unfortunately I found this section very disappointing too. After having cultivated your sourdough and all those expensive daily refreshments, the only recipes which the book includes for breads with sourdough are the following five: San Francisco Sourdough, Pain au levain, Bramley Apple sourdough, potato and rosemary bread , granary and sunflower bread. The next section is baking with commercial yeast and contains: wholemeal bread, baguettes, french wheaten rye, semolina bread, gralic bread. The next section is Flat Breads and includes 5 recipes for focaccias, pretzels , fougasse, etc, followed by Sweet Breads, again with a handful of recipes.

All this seems very time-consuming and expensive and hardly worth the effort; the recipe section is meagre and offers the basic breads that every other bread book contains so you won't get anything very original if you buy Exceptional Breads. In fact, the only thing this book has done is put me off making sourdough for ever (it very nearly did, but luckily Peter Reinhart and Dan Leader came along!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same Book as Baking with Passion but without Cake, 27 April 2011
By 
Meghan A. Hermann "hermam42" (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
Don't waste your money if you have Baking with Passion, its the same book but without the cakes. I should have read the reviews for I see I was not the only one to fall for this trap. Shame on you Mr. Publishing House for confusing people and taking advantage of your loyal audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the effort, 16 Mar 2013
By 
A Gobbiner (People's Republic of Oswaldtwistle) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
A little book with very little in it. Anyone interested in baking would be better off looking at Liz Herbert's book or the one by Anne Sheasby. This is just a bit of self-indulgence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
Needs fewer exotic and more usable recipes. Not all ingredients readily available. There are better books on the market. My favourite is the W.I. book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much waffling, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
Too few recipes. There are some very good tips in this book and a nice tutorial for shaping and kneading bread but the 27 recipes, 15 of which I have used for years and I therefore know by heart, bring it down. A great book for a first time bread maker but not for someone who is experienced and needs a challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a lot of bread for sound advice, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
I am surprised that this book is at such an accesible price. It is not a large book, but it is so well written, by an obvious enthusiast, with a desire to share his considerable knowledge.
As a recent dough moulder this was just the book I was looking for. The author's description of general bread making, with careful explanations of what is important, and why, has certainly transformed my capabilities and understanding. I may even dare to try one of the many other types of bread for which instruction is given.
Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Breads, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
A well laid out baking book which is easy to read and understand
Good photographs of a variety of breads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Oct 2010
This review is from: Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice (Paperback)
At last a bread recipe book that does exactly what it says on the cover. well laid out. easy to follow.Step by step photos a great help. Daughter "borrowed" first copy. Son "borrowed" second, had to buy third. Garlic bread a favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice
Exceptional Breads: Baker & Spice by Richard Whittington (Paperback - 6 April 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews