Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is ever black & white in love...
Liz and Nirpal seem like opposites. They are, in many ways, but the glue that keeps them together is that they need each other.

Liz is a former anorexic fashionista who adores her cats. She's a vegetarian. Her anal-retentive tendencies (to which she fully admits) grate after a while, as do the obsessive details about beauty products used/ bedlinen bought etc...
Published on 20 Jun. 2006 by a reader

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Depressing...
I'm all for a good chicklit book, but this one doesn't qualify. Oh don't get me wrong, its a quick read and there are a few laugh out loud moments, but overall the main characters are whiny and the story as it develops gets more and more depressing. As such, I can't recommend this book to anyone.
Published on 28 Sept. 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars real life, 22 Sept. 2011
By 
Ms. Z. Cumberpatch "zenac" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Funny, poignant, realistic, truthful, all words and more to describe this book. I read the book after the second one, The Exmoor Files, but it didnt matter. Women will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Liz, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
Why doesnt Liz have a lovely man to look after her? When you read her diary you feel as if you know her and you can feel her pain when she has her doubts about being loved enough. At least she has the comfort of her beloved cats to keep her going as she goes about her interesting and very full life. I would recomend getting this book and others by Liz Jones too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liz-you never fail to make me smile!, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever-Liz is honest to a fault and wears her heart on her sleeve. Bless her! PS- I've read all your books now- please write more... +fast! (-;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depressing, 4 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
This is a really sad book.I can't quite believe that the central characters are real.
He is (or is portrayed as) a dull user and she comes across as verging on the certifiable.The level of self disclosure is truly terrifying.
It's written quite well but the urge to throw it across the room is strong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liz Jones's Diary How One Single Girl Got Married, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw this book mentioned in a magazine review which prompted me to buy it and wasn't disappointed with the read. Fully recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating but good, 11 April 2006
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
I was captivated with the story line and Liz writes extremely well. However it's so frustrating and depressing as the story develops. She comes across as extremely insecure and incapable of facing her reality whilst he is such a user it's almost unbearable to read. It does make you think about your own relationship and empathize with the situations but mostly I just wanted to throw the book across the room and yell at how blind the main characters were to each other's flaws. Very frustrating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liz is Fabulous, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Liz Jones.. great to read more of her zany life, she reminds me so much of my own daughter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not all that, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bore off Liz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a sad little book, 3 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
While I enjoyed Liz Jones's column, reading her sad saga in a concentrated dose in book form is very depressing. The details of the gloomy and unpleasant life led by her two central characters cancels out all attempts at humour. The wife comes over as picky and unreasonable; while the husband comes over as a user. The book is a quick read but it's not an enjoyable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
Great for those who can't get enough of Liz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married
Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married by Liz Jones (Hardcover - 2 Sept. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews