Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is ever black & white in love...
Liz and Nirpal seem like opposites. They are, in many ways, but the glue that keeps them together is that they need each other.

Liz is a former anorexic fashionista who adores her cats. She's a vegetarian. Her anal-retentive tendencies (to which she fully admits) grate after a while, as do the obsessive details about beauty products used/ bedlinen bought etc...
Published on 20 Jun 2006 by a reader

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Depressing...
I'm all for a good chicklit book, but this one doesn't qualify. Oh don't get me wrong, its a quick read and there are a few laugh out loud moments, but overall the main characters are whiny and the story as it develops gets more and more depressing. As such, I can't recommend this book to anyone.
Published on 28 Sep 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absurd, 29 Feb 2008
By 
LaVey (Bognor Regis) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
The characters featured are portrayed as ludicrous and theatrical, rather than sincere, autobiographical individuals. I suspect that, rather than being based on reality, this book is largely embellished. I found Liz's monotonous , tired, critical dialogue of her husband extremely off putting. All in all not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like watching a car accident, 2 Dec 2006
This book might well be worth reading if only to remind yourself that no matter how badly things are going, you are not as sad and pathetic as these characters. There is no doubt that the author has quite bravely laid herself bare here and it certainly is truthful. But I was left wondering what the moral of the story was. Some suggestions are: "If you're getting close to 40, you may as well settle for anything" or "Its important to have rich/fabulous friends even if they do leave you with the minibar bill at your own wedding". Very depressing. Overall, not really worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book!, 7 Aug 2006
I spotted this book by chance and picked it up thinking it may be a good read. Well I was right,this book made me laugh out loud in places, which isnt so good when your on a packed train on your way to work! I read the whole thing in 2 days and now am waiting for next book. Well worth a read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Liz, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Why doesnt Liz have a lovely man to look after her? When you read her diary you feel as if you know her and you can feel her pain when she has her doubts about being loved enough. At least she has the comfort of her beloved cats to keep her going as she goes about her interesting and very full life. I would recomend getting this book and others by Liz Jones too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depressing, 4 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
This is a really sad book.I can't quite believe that the central characters are real.
He is (or is portrayed as) a dull user and she comes across as verging on the certifiable.The level of self disclosure is truly terrifying.
It's written quite well but the urge to throw it across the room is strong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating but good, 11 April 2006
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
I was captivated with the story line and Liz writes extremely well. However it's so frustrating and depressing as the story develops. She comes across as extremely insecure and incapable of facing her reality whilst he is such a user it's almost unbearable to read. It does make you think about your own relationship and empathize with the situations but mostly I just wanted to throw the book across the room and yell at how blind the main characters were to each other's flaws. Very frustrating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liz Jones diaries, 10 Jun 2010
By 
This is quite simply one of the funniest books I have ever read. Cant wait to start her latest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a sad little book, 3 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
While I enjoyed Liz Jones's column, reading her sad saga in a concentrated dose in book form is very depressing. The details of the gloomy and unpleasant life led by her two central characters cancels out all attempts at humour. The wife comes over as picky and unreasonable; while the husband comes over as a user. The book is a quick read but it's not an enjoyable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
Great for those who can't get enough of Liz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read.Makes you think hard about your own relationship, 14 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married (Hardcover)
I had no idea what to expect from this book. Ive read Liz Jones columns before and can always relate to her. I was hooked from the first page.. even more so as the events in this book are based on their real lives. The book is a great read which honestly makes you think about your own relationship.
I did feel sorry for Liz as her 'husband' is somewhat spoilt, selfish and very lazy. Liz is a high maintenance woman though herself, (she deserves the best and seeks it). When these two personalities clash, the story develops. Highly recommended. Those that have scored this book 'low' are in denial as there is no truer book about relationships! You will love the cats in the book, and Liz's approach to them. Wish everyone was like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married
Liz Jones's Diary: How One Single Girl Got Married by Liz Jones (Hardcover - 2 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews